We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lime Tree helped us fall in love with Kuching!”
Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“The Lime Tree helped us fall in love with Kuching!”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Amazing boutique-style hotel with excellent value. We booked as part of a weekday special that included airport transfer both ways. Despite our flight being delayed by over an hour, a friendly, smiling representative from The Lime Tree was there to meet us. The trendy decor and personal feel make this feel like a boutique hotel. Our room was small (you'll likely have to store your toiletries outside the bathroom), but stylishly decorated and with a very comfy bed. At check-in we were provided 2 vouchers for a free signature limeade drink and took advantage of these at the very hip rooftop bar (it reminded me of a W Hotel). Make sure to head up there for gorgeous views of Kuching! The breakfast buffet was pretty amazing with a huge variety of hot and cold, western and traditional breakfast items. You'll be set till dinner. Speaking of which, The Lime Tree is in a great location with plenty of yummy restaurants within walking distance. I can't recommend this hotel more!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spendyourdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    450
    95
    11
    2
See reviews for
145
459
100
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This hotel is a Kuching must-stay! Not only is it very central and walking distance from the river with all its attractions and markets, but it is also affordable and offers a touch of class to your holiday. The staff are ever present, extremely helpful and pay attention to your every need without being in your face. The entire hotel, its rooms and decor throughout are filled with hints of lime flavours and colours. The restaurant food is scrumptious and affordable. The view from the Limelight cocktail lounge and deck on the 5th floor is breathtaking at sunset.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GavinRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
160 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed her for 3 nights instead of another stopover in KL which we have had enough of.

The hotel is a short walk to the promenade and has many great koptis close by.

Couldnt fault the buffet breakfast including the Sarawak laska.

We only had a snack other than breakfast as the koptis were fanstastic nearby.

The lounge on the 5 level was a nice spot as well.

The foyers have been recarpeted.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jockeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in March 2012. Location is excelent, the hotel concept is sound and brekkie was good. The staff are friendly. The place is clean, and trips to nearby attractions can be arranged too.
Everyone ought to go and see the irrawaddy dolphins in kuching - i bet none of youse know that there are dolphins in malaysia!

well in, the lime tree - and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yournameisntrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days 4 nights. I love this hotel's concept. The smell of lime is everywhere & refresh my mind after a tired walk at kuching for each day. Staffs are friendly & helpful especially front desk Mr Teoh. Clean & walking distance to town. Breakfast was great especially the sarawak laksa. Free wifi even you are in the room with good connection. Price reasonable. Given a welcome drinks at the roof top cafe with nice kuching scenery. You may view the rejang river from there. I was really had a great vacation at kuching & staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: choose the room with city view. You will manage to see the scenery of kuching, rejang river & to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jickky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinterbro, Norway
Level Contributor
205 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed here from April 11-14 with our children aged 3 and 5.

The location in the city center is excellent, and most service facilities in the city (laundry, cafes, restaurants, spas) are only a short walk away. The hotel offers a taxi service that costs the same as a city taxi, and they also arrange trips to nearby attractions. We went only to the Semenggoh Wildlife Center, a highly recommended trip to all Kuching visitors!

Our corner room #210 was very spaceous for the four of us, and on arrival we got an extra bed for our son. The was a lot of room, a writing table, and a nook with a nice sitting group. The bath had both a shower and a tub, and was also very clean.

The corridors are very dull decorated, and reminded us of hotels in Eastern Europe.

They have a bar on floor 5 with a great city view, where they serve drinks and food. We found the food here and the lobby bar quite good. Breakfast was good and varied.

Internet must be the slowest in Asia... We make a travel blog, and never during 8 months travel around around the world has downloading pictures taken more time.

The young staff in the reception do their best, but language skills are not impressing. When we asked for recommendations for good restaurants, we found they did not have a clue about dining in their own town... We ended up going to other hotel restaurants in Kuching, where the food was very good. The staff in our hotel had not done any of the tours they are recommending and selling, so they did not know what was happening when you take a tour.

The management was very nice and professional, and really looked after us during our stay.

They have a concierge desk that is operated 2 x 2 hours a day, which is sufficient.

All in all, Lime Tree Hotel is a good and safe choice in Kuching.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KEGillesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear KEGillesen,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Kuching and for taking the time to share your feedback. I am pleased to know that you found our hotel safe and its location favourable. I am delighted to know you enjoyed the Executive Suite room and its amenities, and you will be pleased to know that we have recently re-carpeted our corridors with a design motif and they will be decorated further.

We are also glad to inform you that due to the inconsistent quality of service offered by our internet provider, we have recently upgraded our internet lines with a higher bandwidth to cope with high usage within the hotel, and best of all, it is still complimentary for our guests! In addition, we are disappointed to learn that our new junior staff did not manage to provide the necessary assistance to your regarding tours and places of interest during the brief absence of our supervisors. We thank you for having brought this to our attention and they have since been guided.

Our guests will always be our top priority and we remain committed in providing excellent service, comfort and value to our guests. Your comments are most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again. Many best wishes from all at The LimeTree!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Was there to accompany my husband on a business trip plus play golf. Stayed in King deluxe. The room was very spacious and modern. Staff, especially Selina, were helpful, polite and efficient. Love the lime drops they sold in their shop. Free internet (2 PCs at the lobby) and free wifi was a plus.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,964 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Property: The LimeTree Hotel
Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique, eco-conscious and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. Our highly motivated team are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience in Kuching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching
The LimeTree Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing