We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but keep expectations low” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good but keep expectations low”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We booked a superior double but ended up paying more for an executive suite (the 2 room categories in between were fully booked). The standard room was too small and basic. The executive room was lovely but by taking that, we ended up paying more than we had really wanted to.

The plus points: friendly staff, breakfast is surprisingly good for a small hotel - I loved the lime marmalade. The transfer service is excellent and good value. The food in general is good - we had dinner and were happy with it. As others have said, the location is good, only a short walk to the waterfront.

The wifi was experiencing problems when we were there. At peak times, it was impossible to use as web pages timed out before the server could connect. This may have been a temporary blip though as there was some work being carried out on the cables by the service provider. They have a couple of computers in reception if you need to use them.

Although all the staff were friendly, I felt they were limited by a bit of a 'budget hotel' mentality - you can have anything you want as long as it's allowed by the rules. For example, you need a key card to access the floors via the lift and obviously to power the room but there was only one key card allowed per room. This meant that if I wanted to stay in the room whilst my husband popped out for something, I either had to sit in a warm, dark room or he couldn't get back in because he needed the key card for the lift. We tried asking for a second one but it was not allowed as they only had one card allocated to each room. The staff did suggest that in an instance like that, he could just ask reception to use theirs to enable him to access the lift floors but you don't want to have to wait and ask before getting back to your room - especially when reception are busy checking in / out & dealing with other guests. This was not the only example but I don't need to go on - it's just to illustrate that simple little things like this can disappoint.

I think my expectations were higher than they should have been based on the high Trip Advisor score and pictures from their website. But the stay was fine. The exec room was lovely and I would recommend booking that - based on the price of that room though, I'm not sure how competitive that makes this hotel compared to others.

I'd recommend if you're looking for a well-located budget hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear cvinsider,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Kuching and for taking the time to review your stay. I am pleased to learn that your stay was fine and that you had a good dining experience with us - a big thank you from our F&B team for your kind comments.

It really was unfortunate that the internet service was unstable during your stay. The provider confirmed they were upgrading their lines and servers which would cause short down time and intermittent connection issues without prior notice while they carry out their works. As much as we would like to provide this complimentary internet access at good bandwidth, the service level by the provider cannot be guaranteed; but on our part, we shall always work with the provider to expedite their fixes.

We also read your comments with concern and wish to take this opportunity to clarify them. Your initial booking was for a Deluxe King room, and we were glad you approached us with your preference for a bigger room, where the Executive Suite was then recommended due to its availability. After considering some special circumstances, management was able to grant a minimal upgrade fee; the fee was an amount such that in total, the final room rate was the same rate as you would have paid for the Executive Deluxe room you had wanted. I believe this was not made clear to you upon the offer and our staff must ensure this in future; nevertheless we are glad you liked the room and we thank you for your commendation of it to others.

Regarding our room keys, whilst it is correct that each room is issued with one key by default upon check-in, it is not a rule. As we identify with the need for extra keys, our guests can always and at any time request for a second key. If the request for a second key is for lift access, our staff would usually do a brief mention that hotel staff can assist. You may wish to know that most of our guests prefer not to carry more than one key for fear of misplacing them and facing security risks, so we naturally offer assistance instead of offering another key in order to use the lift. In your case, our staff had offered assistance as expected, and when it was understood that you wanted to possess the key, a second key was promptly issued. We apologise if this had resulted in your disappointment and we shall better our communication with our guests for such requests in future.

We remain committed to providing excellent customer service within our best capacity, and it is with your feedback that we are able to improve in all areas. We thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back. Wishing you safe travels and many best wishes from all at The LimeTree.

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    437
    93
    11
    2
See reviews for
140
446
95
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed here in Jan2011 as a group of 7 in the deluxe rooms. Like to commend on the service provided to guests, they make you feel like you can ask them for help on anything! So its 5 star service at a 3 star hotel catergory.
Welcome drink of fresh lime water really perk us up!
We loved their location, right behind lies chinatown street with many food choices at affordable prices. It is within walking distance/ 15mins to the waterfront and riverboat cruise jetty.
Room was a tad small but clean. Air-condition was very weak in the deluxe rooms. Check in was prompt.
Breakfast is reasonable.
We took the lime plantation tour with the hotel, picked a bag full of limes each, returned to hotel, only to be chided by the hotel boss wife. If only the lady took the effort to clarify with the guests if prior notice given to them before harassing them.
Apart from that not so positive experience, everything else were pointing to 5 star service.

Overall, a good base for kuching tour and

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiachiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear chiachiang,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to review your stay. Our team had the pleasure of serving your group and we are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed the elements of our hotel, including our lime juice and our hotel location in Chinatown Padungan, which I find is a great area for food enthuasiasts to explore! We are grateful for your kind comments with regard to the quality of service rendered by our team. Your satisfaciton is indeed our most valuable reward and we shall always strive to provide 5-star service for all our guests.

With your feedback on the air-conditioning in the rooms occupied, our maintenance team has conducted a thorough performance check and found the units to be in good working order; nevertheless, we appreciate your feedback and shall continue to observe this matter.

Regarding your trip to the lime plantation, we are regretful to learn of your experience and I wish to take this oppporunity to clarify the details of the tour. A visit to our lime plantation located 40 minutes away from the city includes a basic lime plantation tour and a short lime-picking session, where the first kilogramme (kg) of limes (8-10 pieces) is complimentary and subsequent quantities can be purchased. The duration of this visit is 2 hours. However, our junior staff who had been assigned as the guide for the visit did not ensure these itinerary details had been made clear to your group, which we believe led to the lime-picking of a considerable amount. We apologise for the service shortfall during the tour and please be assured that we have since taken appropriate action to advise and train the said staff.

I read with concern regarding the experience upon your return from the plantation; I believe it was a matter of miscommunication and I am confident that the reaction from our owner upon seeing the amount of limes picked was by no means intended to cause distress to your group. In any case, we shall ensure that time and care be taken when clarifying matters to our guests.

I hope the said incident has not marred your impression of our hotel. We remain committed to providing excellent customer service at all times and will strive to continously improve in all areas. Our staff are glad to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you and your group again. Wishing you safe travels and many best wishes from all at The LimeTree!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

It is a still relatively new hotel having operated for only about 3 years. The price of rooms per night was very affordable as compared to other hotels in Kuching. Unfortunately, the size is really small. We stayed the in the deluxe room. There was no proper wardrobe for clothes. I think it is the smallest my family has ever stayed in. However, it is very clean and tidy with modern amenities and its wifi was excellent. It is in the city centre and about 15 minutes walk to the waterfront. A ten minute walk would take you to Hot Spot, a famous seafood destination with great prices. Some staff are friendly and approachable while others do not put that much effort to make guests feel welcome. Not much variety during breakfast but adequate. If you are coming from the airport, do get their hotel transfer as it is priced at RM23 which is very reasonable. Well, you get what you pay for so do not have high expectations and enjoy the affordability of it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Suliani,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us recently. While we are glad that you managed to enjoy one of our exclusive festive room promotions for your stay, we are disappointed to learn that the room you had occupied did not meet your expectations. The Deluxe room was designed with a minimalist feel and equipped with the necessities essential for two adults on a short stay. Our Front Desk personnel would have advised that the Executive or Family rooms as room choices for your stay with a small upgrade fee, if made known of your preference for a bigger room and wardrobe size. In addition, we apologise for the service shortfall and the negative impression some of our staff may have given. Your comments are taken seriously and they are duly noted where time and care will be taken to train all staff to ensure our level of service is consistent at all times.

It is with your feedback as our valued guest that we are able to improve and achieve excellence in all areas. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family again. Wishing you safe travels and a great year ahead!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lion city
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

I went to Kuching with my elderly mother, not knowing what the city has in store for us.

Like all other reviews, the hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful. Peter, for example helped us to craft an activity for the day since my mom isn't very mobile and we can't go to the nature parks. The Tribal Remedy treatment was superb!

I would suggest guests to use the hotel shuttle to get around because it's cheaper and safer than cabbies.

The room is clean. Since the hotel is a smoke-free premise, the rooms and lobby smells very nice. However, the water in the shower was trickling. We didn't bother to complain to hotel staff.

There is not much variety for the breakfast spread but the food are tasty. I am not a laksa fan but I loooooooooove the laksa. I had it for all my 3 breakfast.

Overall, apart from the shower issues, the hotel is excellent!

Room Tip: Some rooms have no windows. Get the bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear dinque,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Kuching with your mother, and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to learn that you had overall enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet your expectations. Peter is grateful for your kind comments and he sends his best wishes! We thank you for your feedback regarding the shower head of the room you had occupied, which we have since rectified.

Our Chef Hendry Lai and his team are thrilled to read about how much you enjoyed our Sarawak Laksa! Chef and his team will continue to ensure our food quality and standards are kept high. We are also glad that you found the massage treatment by Tribal Remedy superb; we will pass on your compliments to them.

You may also wish to know that our Superior rooms although without a view, are nonetheless comfortable, well-lit, with decorative windows and spacious at 22 sq metre. There are only eight units of Superior rooms and our reservations personnel are always ready to assist in recommending the ideal room to fit our guests' requirements.

We are glad to have been of service to you and your mother, and we look forward to welcoming you again should your travel plans bring you back to Kuching! Many best wishes, from all at The LimeTree.

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

When we stepped in we were greeted with the scent of lime (just like the name of the hotel-i wonder if they use lime scented vapor spray)and it made us feel warm and calm.

Check-in was a breeze and real quick. They even gave us a map of the city and showed us the heritage trail we could follow.

Even when we requested certain items from the room,it was delivered to us promptly.

Serinah,the head of concierge,is the most HELPFUL staff who made sure our stay was enjoyable and fruitful. She even called us after she clocked out from work and was already home to ensure our next day itinerary would proceed as scheduled.

A hotel that would certainly be in my book of best hotel I have ever visited in Malaysia. Deserving of 5-Star for their effort,service and ambience!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilahRoseHyunJae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear SilahRoseHyunJae,

Thank you for taking the time to share your LimeTree experience on TripAdvisor! My team and I are truly delighted to read your positive feedback on your fruitful stay and your kind comments on our team's efforts in creating a memorable and seamless experience during your stay. Serinah is grateful for your compliments and she sends her regards!

In addition, we are happy to learn that the lime scent creates a calming ambience for our guests; you may wish to know that the scent used at the entrance is gently emitted by a diffuser fan using natural lime-scented fiber wick.

A big thank you again for your kind review. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you again to The LimeTree Hotel Kuching in the not too distant future! Wishing you a great year ahead.

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Lime tree hotel Kuching is a real find. We stayed from 27 dec to 30 dec. the staff were v friendly and helpful. They brought us extra pillows when we asked for them and rearranged tours for us when the places we wanted to go were flooded. The rates are reasonable. The Sarawak laksa they have for breakfast was tasty and a great idea because Sarawak laksa is only sold at breakfast time. Special thanks to serinah and Danish.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank israphale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear israphale,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The LimeTree Hotel during your recent trip to Kuching. I am thrilled to read your positive comments which have been shared with our team; Serinah and Danish send their warmest regards! I am also glad to know that you enjoyed our Sarawak Laksa, which indeed is available at our Cafe Sublime throughout the day.

We appreciate the time you had taken to review us and we look forward to serving you again. Wishing you a great year ahead!

Kind regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

I would like to thank Julie, Gary and all the staff at Lime Tree such a pleasant experience. Nothing is too much for these people and they always smile and say hello - even if they see you on the street and they are not working.

My room was excellent - clean with a very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom - lime soap, lime shampoo - very refreshing.

I am already looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: go for a larger room - well worth the extra cost and you get views of the river. Do not miss the Lim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esorlegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear esorlegin,

Warmest greetings from The LimeTree Hotel, Kuching! Our team had the pleasure of welcoming you back at The LimeTree, and we thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor again! I am extremely delighted to know that our team was able to make your stay a memorable one and that you enjoyed our room elements, amenities and our LimeLight Rooftop Lounge (even on a rainy day!). Your comments have validated our team's efforts to always provide excellent service and to ensure our guests are our top priority.

We are grateful for your support and kind comments, which I have conveyed to all our team members and will undoubtedly motivate us to strive to maintain our standards and to continuously improve in areas required. We too look forward to having you with us again in your next visit!

Many best wishes to you for 2012, from all at The LimeTree.

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Property: The LimeTree Hotel
Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique, eco-conscious and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. Our highly motivated team are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience in Kuching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching
The LimeTree Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing