We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Beautiful Mosque”
Review of Kuching Mosque

Kuching Mosque
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.66*
and up
Kuching City and Heritage Tour
Ranked #20 of 90 things to do in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Old Beautiful Mosque”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This used to be Kuching's main mosque until the new one was built. I have prayed here since I was a kid and the mosque holds many nice memories. The many gold domes makes the mosque look special.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FaddySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    45
    31
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Easily accessible”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This used to be main mosque in Kuching, until a much larger one was built across the river, which is much further to reach. Located at one end of town, this mosque is easily accessible on foot and is near other attractions.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank kapitanchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
510 reviews
337 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Modern but impressive mosque”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The architecture is quite impressive and the golden domes glitter in the afternoon sun. We did not go inside as there was a prayer time when we visited.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eaa1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“Kutching Mosque”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The Mosque was very impressionable unfortunately we did not realise how close it was to the Merdeka Palace Hotel where we were staying

Every morning very very early we were woken by the chanting coming from the Mosque

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank sassafraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

one of the oldest mosque in kuching..a walk away from the india street..

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank kazama82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuching Mosque also viewed

 

Been to Kuching Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing