We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel, can't expect too much.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Budget hotel, can't expect too much.”
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Travelling alone I found this hotel adequate and it's true what the website says, the beds are super comfortable. I didn't spend that much time in the room anyway. I did find their maintenance unacceptable however. The first room (I stayed twice) had no hot water, and when I asked about it the girl said you have to wait 10-15 minutes for it to heat up. I found this ludicrous since one of their claims to fame is the "power shower" and since they have the gall to put one of those "we care about the environment" signs on the bed so you don't ask to have your sheets changed. (Incidentally, I took that off and the sheets weren't changed anyway, I know because they had biro pen all over them and it was still there when I came back.)

On the second stay the aircon didn't work, and since this was something I paid extra for, I asked for another room. They sent 2 men up to stare at it for a while and it got hotter and hotter, until finally I got over it and asked for a new room. She told me there were no more single rooms left, and I said that wasn't my problem, I had made the booking in advance and the room should have been ready. As if by magic, another single room became available.

Even though the bed was comfy, the noise level was enough to drive anyone mad. A nearby bar stayed open until at least 3am with a thumping bass beat, and before 5am the calls to prayer started. So sleep was really not on the agenda.

The Hilton Hotel is across the road so I treated myself to a proper breakfast. For RM30 you can swim in their pool, since this isn't much in Aus dollars I gladly took advantage. Funny though since that's almost the price of the Tune room :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itchyfins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    221
    115
    35
    26
See reviews for
99
134
91
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Value hotel for the budget travel. Just within a walking distance to major shopping complex,street market and transportation. The room is clean, and comfortable.The staff is friendly and caring. I was attact by the chest pain due to extreme activities at the middle of the night. The staff have a good care of me. Quality of sleep is so so due to the hotel location next to the pub. Lucky my room not near to block but, more or less the sleeping quality also can interrupt by the noise due to poor noise barrel. Furhermore, i am sensative with the noise while sleeping.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shya83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I stayed at tune hotel 6 nights. i wanted a cheap hotel and i needed just a bed & a shower, so tune was suitable for me. rooms are clean, but very small. on the whole it was fine, but the only thing i didn't appreciate much was the staff. they don't smile to the guests except few of them and they look at you like if you are an alien and they make you feel uncomfortable. double bed is too small for 2 and the sleep quality is low. of course it's so cheap that we can't demand too much, but at least they should make up for it with smiles and kindness, which i didn't see honestly. if you want a cheap & clean hotel anyway id still recommend you, also 'cause it's in the city center.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent stay at Tune Hotels Waterfront Kuching.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

We adopt a strong service culture and are of course, are concerned to learn of the areas which left you to feel disappointed.

This feedback was channeled to the front desk team and they have been reminded that "Service With A Smile" is an extremely important essential.

We hope that you will allow us the occasion to restore your experience on your next visit.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about our hotel we are glad that you enjoyed the other parts of your stay and we hope to have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

this tune hotel is in a perfect spot. just outside there are local restaurants offering very yummy food and very cheap, also they serve beer and other drinks. Tune rooms are very small but you are very near the waterfront.. Bata shoe shop is within walking distance lots of bargains. You must get a taxi it takes about 45mins and go to the national park where you can walk in the jungle, there are orangoutangs swinging in the trees above your head and a short walk you come to a feeding platform where you can see a mother feeding her young it was wonderful and much easier than going to Kota Kinabulu and travelling for ages to see them in the wild

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

- Room comes with a bed with attached toilet, bedside table and a foldable table
- Single room is quite small.. if can, get the double room - comes with Queen size bed and slightly bigger room
- Additional add ons which u have to pay extra - a/c, WiFi, towel, toiletries

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akramaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Hi,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Some tips to secure the best promo rates:

a) Book ahead in advance, especially for weekend stays

b) Book for stays Sundays to Thursdays when the hotels are less busy

c) Log onto our website at frequently, subscribe online for our e- newsletter 'Check Out When
To Tune In' for our

You may get lucky to steal a deal, we believe in letting our guests know exactly what you pay for, and offer the capability to design your stay via reasonably priced pay-as-you-use add-ons.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed three nights in this hotel. We payed 80RM for the night, you have enough space in the room and your own, big bathroom and toilet. It was clean and the staff was nice and friendly. The Tune hotel is 50m away from the waterfront. If you stay there book the transfer from the airport to the hotel - its 7,5 RM one way per person, a taxi is about 30 RM.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

The hotel is clean and conveiently located to all attractions, retuarants etc. Value for money and I will be back when I return to KCH.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FLS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Hi FLS8,

Thanks for your Trip Advisor Review and kind comments.

Indeed,Tune HotelsWaterfront Kuching is located in the heart of Kuching’s city centre thus, offering the advantages of good transport links and easy accessibility to tourist attractions and business venues.

Within walking distance is The Waterfront, which offers entertainment, dining options, leisure activities, and arts and culture.

Taking a walk down the waterfront, you can witness the unique sampans (wooden boats, also known as tambangs while eating places are applenty, most of them are opened only at night

A breif 10 minutes walk is the Kuching Waterfront Bazaar, selling mostly handicrafts and not to missed, the "Tikar Sarawak" a crafty woven mat.

There are much more local attractions to discover such the Square Tower,and just across the river are the Astana (the official residence of Yang Dipertuan Negeri ie: the head of state of Sarawak) as well as Fort Margherita, a well-preserved colonial citadel.

We are delighted that you are opting to stay with us in your upcoming visits and look forward to welcoming you.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
2.2 mi away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#14 of 55 in Kuching
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching

Property: Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching
Address: Off Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman Jalan Borneo, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
#4 Family Hotel in Kuching
#4 Business Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a 5-star sleeping experience at a 1-star price with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels.The Waterfront Kuching hotel features 135 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms. We believe in letting our guests know exactly what you pay for, and offer the capability to design your stay via reasonably priced pay-as-you-use add-ons. The prices quoted are inclusive of the room price, applicable fees and prevailing taxes only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com Waterfront Kuching Hotel Kuching
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing