We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy bed and strategic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfy bed and strategic location”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I was with my trip with my family and wife to see football game, Sarawak vs JDT. We booked two rooms here because of the location and the price is really cheap when we booked two nights compare to other hotels.
The bed really comfortable, free tote bag provided and their staffs so kind and helpful.
They answered all our questions regarding places of interest in Sarawak plus they gave us extra tote bags when i told them mine was ripped.
Don't expect luxury hotel if u booked budget and basic hotel.
After this, i will make Tune Hotel my priority.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pakyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    218
    114
    35
    26
See reviews for
97
133
91
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Having stayed in Tune Danga Bay previously, I had no hesitation in booking this hotel for my trip to Kuching. In terms of cleanliness,the one in Danga Bay is miles ahead.

The only plus point is the location. The Waterfront, Chinatown is within walking distance. When it comes to the room, it is a major letdown. The toilet is dirty, bedsheet and towel has stains. One of Tune Hotels' concept is "Clean Environment" - this is where Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching has failed to deliver.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBMRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

The location is the only saving grace of this place. It's close to the waterfront, sarawak plaza, plaza merdeka and to the bars. I stayed for 12 nights and on a number of occassions I had to personally ask for my room to be cleaned to an acceptable standard. There was also quite a lot of noise from the building work next door so I would avoid this place for a while. Although the price may seem cheap you have to pay for add ons such as AC and TV. Be warned that when buying the add ons online the '24hr AC and TV' is for a period of 24 hours only

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csf2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Just checked into hotel today with my better half currently on a multi centre trip around Malaysia, booked hotels through agency and have complained to them about this one which we have never done having travelled quite a lot, we do not complain.

This hotel is a real budget hotel complete with having to pay for everything extra including air con, television and towels.

The bedroom is manageable however large number of stains on the curtains and bedding, dust on the walls and noisy outside building and also on the hall way due to 2cm gap at bottom of the door.

Bathroom has been cleaned however is badly stained and grubby not a nice experience and does not make me feel clean when using it at all.

The staff are the saving grace here, they are on the reception desk very smiley and helpful.

Room Tip: Hilton across the Road or Pullmans around the corner are good value!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy_eire_1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hey There,

Sorry we failed to meet the cleanliness standards you have come to expect from us. Please connect directly to me with your booking details at sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com and I will check what went wrong with the housekeeping activities.

We hope to welcome you back again and restore your experience.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Bergisch Gladbach
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The earlier you book, the cheaper the room rate (similar to a lot of airlines) in fact I'm sure they are a sister company of AirAsia, as the whole concept and marketing is the same. You have to book extras (so called 'add ons' like a towel + TV, aircon. + wifi in addition to your room if required. We paid around 12 € per night for a double room which is really good value for money. The 'add-ons' were around 9 € per day.
The staff were very friendly and helpful ; the room was spacious enough and the bed was very comfortable (not always par for the course in Malaysia!!)
What a shame that the bathroom was so poorly cleaned!! We looked at about 5 rooms before we chose one - all of the mirrors and shower units looked as if they hadn't been cleaned for months! I certainly don't expect european standards - but is it really too much to expect the glass to be cleaned maybe once a week or once per new guest?!?
The Waterfront and the centre of Kuching are within walking distance.
MUST DO: You just HAVE TO go to 'Top Spot' - a fish restaurant in Kuching which is located on the top of a multi-story car park!! It's a bit like a huge market consisting of about 10 different restaurants, which display their wide variety fresh fish every evening. Every restaurant has a number - we would strongly recommend Nr. 6 - we tried them all and Nr. 6 was the best! Please ask for the waitress called Wendy, as she speaks good english and can explain how to order your food. (The fish price is per weight and you can order different vegis and rice in addition).We were here every night and tried a wide range of seafood and never paid more than 25 € for 2 people!! Everything was DELICIOUS and so fresh!! TIP: Try one of your dishes with the special black pepper sauce (speciality of Sarawak)!! :-))

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms are certainly cleaner than the 2nd and 1st floor, but unfortunately a lot hotter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is my second experience with tune hotel chain in Malaysia, this time i manage to make online booking a day before i check inn and luckly there is a promotional price, so i took 2 double room for 3 night, as i expected, tune hotel having the best bed and bedlinen and feel like a baby while sleep, the shower pressure is enourmous with a plenty of water amount every time, the bathroom small but sufficient enough and still can let 3 adult to taking bath at the same time too..

Previously, i just having room without airconditioner and other add ons, this time i take all which comfort package as mention by them. the ac are credit base in which by package of 24 hour, it will deducted by your usage, the more your use the credit will deducted. But in the end as for me, around 1 am, the chill is killing me and i end up using a fan instead. For tv it will running only 24 hour regardless you are watching or not. I do hope that tv also should be on credit basis since as for me, i only need hotel just for me to have a sleep and take a bath, so most of the time i'll be outside, why wasting money in expensive hotel just to have all the accomodation? if you want to be pamper just stay at your home dont go outside of your cocoon

Suitable for those who is bagpacker, need to have sightseeing around Kuching Waterfront since is located next to riverside majestic, a few minute walking to sampan jetty for you to cross the river and could reach kek lapis (layered cake) shop, local delicacies stall in baruk, close to topspot, infront of hilton, and have the best ayam penyet (smash chicken with rice) nearby such as kuching station and rj ayam penyet. But the wifi is hard to find and the speed is damned slow.Overall still good

Last but not least, congratulation to the hotel staff, my check in was fast and they serve me with a great smile and friendliness, they are so nice and feel like in my own home, you are such a great team staff. My stay here was great and definitely i'll come again...good luck tune hotel waterfront kuching

Room Tip: front room are the best since the back one only have other building scenery,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FaizalFederations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great location as all the Kuching attraction+eateries are within 30min walking distance. The hotel staff may not well verse in English but friendly services provided. Great values to stay. I will return to stay if I have change back to Kuching again! cheers....

Room Tip: Try to choose the double room, RM20/US$6 more, but better view (River view) and spacious room... cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WongLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review,

We hope to welcome you again for another amazing experience.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
984 reviews
2.2 mi away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#12 of 54 in Kuching
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#11 of 54 in Kuching
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching

Property: Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching
Address: Off Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman Jalan Borneo, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
#4 Family Hotel in Kuching
#4 Business Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a 5-star sleeping experience at a 1-star price with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels.The Waterfront Kuching hotel features 135 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms. We believe in letting our guests know exactly what you pay for, and offer the capability to design your stay via reasonably priced pay-as-you-use add-ons. The prices quoted are inclusive of the room price, applicable fees and prevailing taxes only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com Waterfront Kuching Hotel Kuching
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing