We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cheap and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Kuching
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very good location, near the Waterfront and the shopping mall around it. No windows tho. Just the area near there have cheap stalls especially for breakfast. Need to pay for TV and wifi access but doesn't matter if you come there to stay after taking a long walk on day

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nur I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    210
    108
    29
    23
See reviews for
91
124
89
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

For this stay, I booked the hotel using coupon I got after writing a review for staying at Tune Hotel at 1Borneo. I got 20% less. Can you imagine the price after discount. It really worths every cents I paid. Hotel is near to many shopping malls and restaurants. Sushi King and Old Town White Coffee are also nearby. If you need to find travel agency to plan your trip, there is one in the hotel. They are not partner, just that the travel agency rents a place opposite to the receptionist counter. You do need to worry about transport, although I heard that the bus company there has bankrupt. The nearby attraction is, of course, the Waterfront. If you need to go to other attractions further away, just use the service from that travel agency. And make sure you find the taxi service number from the hotel before you arrived. You can get less than RM 10 per person for a taxi to bring you to the hotel from airport. You will pay higher if you use the taxi service from airport. The same goes for taxi to the airport. The only problem is the taxi service from the hotel starts at 8am. You need to ask the receptionist to call another taxi if you need to go earlier than that, and you need to pay higher than RM 20 for the taxi. There were two of us, so each of us paid RM 12.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SyaHas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hello dear guest! Thanks for the review.

Clean, comfortable and value for money. That's our pride. We are glad in making your stay a pleasant experience. Rgds - Sharon De Silva (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Tune is right across the road from the Hilton and is in the BEST LOCATION in town.
15m up the hill is The Tribal Stove restaurant, and 50m down the hill is the heart of the Waterfront tourist area. There are also 3 massage places within 30m.
The rooms are very small and basic. No tea/coffee making facilities.No minifridge. Cheap TV with few channels.Wifi for one user per room only which is not good for 2 people with smart phones.Showers are great. Breakfast is the lobby is mediocre.
The front tour desk offers very competitive priced tours and also staying at the Tune gave us a 50% discount on a 1.5hr Sarawak River cruise.
So it really saves a lot of money for dining out and shopping.
Dont miss Top Spot seafood hawker restauarant about 300m away..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarke m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Normal Tune Hotel, some rooms have good view of the river, the ones at the front, but if you are stuck in the back you just have a block of flats, we found the back a bit noisy as there were street food stalls, with the TV turned up full blast, still it was good enough for the price, and well located

Room Tip: front of hotel is a must for good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank f1mike2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed the stay albeit the food stalls were causing noise and disrupted your stay. If your back next time, you may request a room change to something quieter. The front desk will endeavor their very best in ensuring your needs are met. Thanks for the review. Rgds - Sharon De Silva (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Short and simple stay overall. Been here for quite a number of visit. Room was well clean. Location was superb! Just right infront of the Hilton Hotel. Very near to eating places, Shopping complexes, souvenir shop and even the river of Sarawak. Please go for local food and try their delicacies. Its amazing!

Room Tip: No good view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Are-Narz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review

Our location is normally a strong positive for our guests. Coupled with top of the market customer care, our quality speaks for itself.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly and that you had a good slumber experience.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

highly recommend for budget family - very cheap, convience , easy access and strategic place to stay. just a walking distance away to waterfront. just imagine i booked 2 rooms for only RM300 for 3 nights inclusive of 24 TV+ 24 wifi + 24 aircond + toiletries..very very cheap at reasonable price which you will never get at any budget hotel

Room Tip: if you travel with a family - just book 2 room which is really within your budget cost.imagine 2 roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khuzaimah_Md_Noor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're in budget.You can add on air-conditioning, TV, Wi-Fi and towels & soap if required. No wardrobes, just and extendable hanger. Parking is also a huge problem in that area if you're driving. It's located in a strategic area, within walking distance to Kuching Waterfront and the famous Top Spot seafood. There's also a 7 Eleven and a reasonably priced souvenir shop along the same road. Other than that, I'm very satisfied with the service for the price I paid.

Go for this hotel.

Overal:
> Nice room
> Bed is very comfortable.!
> Bathroom is superb.

Overall,nice budget hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to pick the room facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qiss2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hello dear guest!

Clean and central. That's our pride

We are always glad to know our guests are happy and satisfied with their stay. Reviews like yours, helps us to measure our level of service; thus driving improvement where necessary.

Thank you very much for choosing us and we greatly value your continuous support.

See you soon.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 53 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.1 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#10 of 53 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#13 of 53 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 53 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 stars 1,292 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#6 of 53 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching

Property: Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching
Address: Off Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman Jalan Borneo, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kuching
#4 Family Hotel in Kuching
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a 5-star sleeping experience at a 1-star price with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels.The Waterfront Kuching hotel features 135 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms. We believe in letting our guests know exactly what you pay for, and offer the capability to design your stay via reasonably priced pay-as-you-use add-ons. The prices quoted are inclusive of the room price, applicable fees and prevailing taxes only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com Waterfront Kuching Hotel Kuching
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing