We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is excellent when taking the price into consideration! The rooms are small - but very clean! The location could not be better since it is the centre of town and close to the waterfront! Helpfull and english speaking staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 524 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Location is great, you are right in downtown and next to the waterfront. Hotel is clean. Rooms are small. For a budget hotel I would definetely go back again. We took all the options that we we're offered (Wifi for 1 device only, AC, towels, TV) and it came up to approximately CDN$25 a day which I think is a pretty good price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

as I recall the wifi didn't work. but they gave me a refund on the wifi card cost. it is a basic hotel no frills. that said, it was clean. my room was slightly cramped, but again it was good value. you pay for air con in time increments, so this is good for watching your carbon footprint... I can't really say much else, bc it has been a few months and I am just getting around to reviewing a bunch of hotels where I stayed. this hotel is decent. I didn't have any major troubles.

Room Tip: I think trip advisor needs an "na" option for like a couple categories. this hotel didn...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Comfortable bed and power shower makes Tune is a charm for the ones looking for good value for money.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

A few minutes away from the waterfront, main bazaar and other attractions. Near the jetty to cross over the river to the halal food court, Barok cafe (great eats), kek lapis Sarawak and ikan terubuk masin, too. My third stay in Tune. No complaints.

Room Tip: ask a room near the lift if you have lots of bags!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haida H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Tune Hotels Waterfront Kuching is for those who are practical and don't mind a moderate type of accommodation. Practical means it is nearby to anywhere, cheap, rooms are small but comfortable.

If you are not the type of the persons who 'holiday' in your hotel room, do site visits, go outsides and shopping most of the time, Tune Hotels is one of the best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmmAmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

i find the location of the hotel is very good,, near to the stall n easy to find variety of food , n next to shoping mall ,n seaside waterfront especially good for traveller hve fresh air in the evening n seeing the sunset in the evening time.

Room Tip: room on the south side are quiter n hve window n good side view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

We have adopted a minimalistic approach throughout our hotels worldwide. Providing the basics; bed and shower.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Tune Hotels requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay. Our concept and pricing typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.

Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had high expectations of the hotel, because of the reviews on TA. When we arrived we found a different image...the rooms are tiny and noisy! You can hear your neighbours and people in the hallway clearly. When we arrived in the room, we checked out the sheets of the bed and they were terribly dirty. We then had to inspect 4 other rooms in order to find clean sheets on the bed (there was no more HSK around to put new, clean sheets). Even after the 4th room, we had no clean sheets, so the front office staff went to the shop to buy some. We are not that high maintenance, but we prefer not to sleep on bloody sheets. This was very inconvenient, as we came from a long flight...Another negative aspect was that our bathroom was not cleaned once during our 4 day stay...
The front office lady called Nani was great!! She helped us throughout our whole stay and even went to the shop to arrange new sheets :)
Overall, it was an ok hotel...the location is good.

Room Tip: choose a room away from the elevator
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerTGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know how we have missed your mark on hospitality

Cleanliness has always been a substantial part of our service culture and we regret that it did not meet the standards you have come to expect from us. This feedback has been channeled to the relevant team for improvements.

Reviews like yours help us determine our standards and continuously deliver superior service at great value.

In any case we apologize sincerely for this unpleasantness marring your stay.

We hope to be perfectly equipped in making your stay a pleasant experience the next time you come by.

See you soon.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
146 reviews
2.2 mi away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#14 of 55 in Kuching
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
360 Xpress Citycenter Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak

Address: Off Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman Jalan Borneo, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
#4 Business Hotel in Kuching
#4 Family Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $14 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a 5-star sleeping experience at a 1-star price with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels. Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching located 50 meters radius from the Kuching Waterfront, local eateries and places of interest within the town. The hotel features 135 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms. The prices quoted are all inclusive facilities and amenities of the room price, applicable fees & prevailing taxes. NO MORE ADD-ONs as you use. All are taken care. Pre-packed breakfast is included however guest may opt for room price without breakfast. Decent cafes are just a minute walking distance, carving for foods & beverages will not be a problem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com Waterfront Kuching Hotel Kuching
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing