We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Belarus
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Hotel is situated in front of Hilton near river. Room is small but very clean. Good price

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iriska9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    218
    114
    35
    26
See reviews for
97
133
91
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The rooms we booked were neither big nor small-more like spartan unless you add in the extras like a comfort kit.Near to food court,avoid the Waterfront areas (dead quite at night we there for two days.Go along Padungan Road-more night life there-cafes, drinking joints, 24 hr coffee shops.Seafood at Top Spot is a must-reasonable price.Avoid the lamb lady-we were slaughtered RM20.00 for a small plate.Take the shuttle to Cultural Village-not to be missed.Try the kolok mee, laksa Sarawak, white lady drink.Enjoy the streets of Little India and China Town.
Above all walk slowly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lawmanKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Tune hotel in Kuching is located near the Sarawak river and just in front of Hilton hotel. It is very strategic and the room is quite small but it is enough for people to sleep and get a refreshing shower

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Tune Hotel Kuching was our first experience with Tune Hotel. This was back in 2009. Surprisingly, it more than met our expectation. Location is superb (couldn't asked for a better location unless you stay at Hilton ;))
The room is comfortable and clean. (not small or stuffy at all). That time, we got a room with wooden floor. Noted no tv available.

Last 2 weeks (10-12 February 2012) on our 2nd visit here, our room was somewhat different than what was expected. We got 2 rooms side by side. There's unpleasant smell upon entry. Possibly due to bad smell from outside (we were facing the foodcourts). The room is still bigger-than-other Tune we've stayed at (eg: Kota Damansara, Kuta and Legian). It was not as clean as we remembered from 2 years ago. But at least now they've got a 40" flat screen tv in the room (of course you have to pay if you want to use :)).

Overall, the hotel serve it purpose for our short stay. And location is still superb.

Ps: if you have rental car, no parking provided by the hotel (very limited few in front of building but always full).. There's a parking bay at the back of the hotel operated by another private company. Personally, it's annoying to have to pay upon entry (per each entry) as well as exit if it's on the next day! I think it's a weird system, but we're on holiday and it's just RM2.5 per entry.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InaMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Tune Hotel Guest,

I am delighted to hear of your return stay at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching. Thank you very much for the review.

We take pride in providing the 3c's ; comfort, cleanliness, and convenience. We want our guests to enjoy our 5 star beds, the soothingly powerful shower for a relaxing treat and our dedicated housekeeping team works their magic in ensuring rooms are clean and comfortable at all time.

We take great care to ensure that important matters such as this are properly managed, so on this occasion an acceptable standard has clearly not been met and we have clearly not succeeded in meeting your expectations. I'll inform the housekeeping supervisor of your concern and hope this will not happen again in future.

Our front desk is always willing to assist guest and ensures that each of their stay needs are met in the best possible way.

I hope you'll continue being a fan of Tune Hotel as we are much eager to welcome you back to our abode.

Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxas City, Philippines
Level Contributor
134 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have tried several Tune Hotels in the past (KL, Penang, Bali) and have gotten used to the extremely small rooms. That was why we were surprised with the double room in Kuching - it was big compared to the rooms in KL Downtown and the LCCT (KL airport), and it's location was perfect - right next to the Hilton Hotel, a few steps away from the Kuching Waterfront. The Heritage sites were also within walking distance from the hotel. Top Spot Food Court was also a short walk at the back of the hotel. And the price we paid? MYR1 per night! Unbeatable.

Room Tip: Wait for the Room Sale of Tune Hotels to get a really good bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickydmd888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hi There,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and indeed one of the lucky ones to secure the RM 1 deal.

Kuching has a lot to offer; there are much more local attractions to discover such the Square Tower,and just across the river is the Astana (the official residence of Yang Dipertuan Negeri ie: the head of state of Sarawak) as well as Fort Margherita, a well-preserved colonial citadel.

We hope to continuously provide great value and comfort in your upcoming visits. See you soon.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
386 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Value for money. if u like tune concept, you cant go wrong. basic facilities, no frills. save cash for other stuff. cant stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: far away from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Actually we have bad experience stay at Tune, LCCT and Downtown KL.

But we feel happy stay at Tunes kuching. The room is definitely bigger and comfort for us. It’s look like a hotel compared to Tunes, LCCT and KL more likely like hostel.

Recommended for those who look for budget hotel in Kuching. You won’t regret stay in because it’s located strategically for you walking around Kuching

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJnEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
984 reviews
2.2 mi away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#12 of 54 in Kuching
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#11 of 54 in Kuching
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching

Property: Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching
Address: Off Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman Jalan Borneo, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
#4 Family Hotel in Kuching
#4 Business Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a 5-star sleeping experience at a 1-star price with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels.The Waterfront Kuching hotel features 135 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms. We believe in letting our guests know exactly what you pay for, and offer the capability to design your stay via reasonably priced pay-as-you-use add-ons. The prices quoted are inclusive of the room price, applicable fees and prevailing taxes only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com Waterfront Kuching Hotel Kuching
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing