We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tune Hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Actually we have bad experience stay at Tune, LCCT and Downtown KL.

But we feel happy stay at Tunes kuching. The room is definitely bigger and comfort for us. It’s look like a hotel compared to Tunes, LCCT and KL more likely like hostel.

Recommended for those who look for budget hotel in Kuching. You won’t regret stay in because it’s located strategically for you walking around Kuching

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJnEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 524 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

New and clean for the room in Kuching branch. Good value for its location even with purchasing of the internet and TV packages. The compact sized room with basic facilities, shower and bathroom, LCD TV and wallmounted foldable table top.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstelleFoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

stayed in this property for 3 nites recently and i must say that this place requires urgent attention by the management based in the hq. the rooms condition are below decent standard with cob webs hovering above our heads, stained bed linens, dusty window ledge and worse still, the foul smelling of the bathroom which believes to be originated from the sewerage system. certain staffs are also found to be lacking in providing accurate localised information like the bus schedules which almost cause us missing the attraction which happens to be quite far from the city... semenggoh orang utan centre. the only positive point is its very central location where you could just move conveniently around the city even by walking....

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malaichai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This is my 3rd Visit to a Tune Hotel and it just seems to keep getting worse. I haven't even spent one night here and it's so bad I have to warn other people.

I learned from my first Tune hotel Penang that cleanliness is not part of the tune motto. I ended up buying cleaning supplies to make it more suitable. I rationalized that because it was so cheap (booking 5 months in advance) That I could justify cleaning myself.

My room in Kuching was so bad that I found it amusing. That was until I took the pillowcase off my pillow. So disgusting. I felt insulted that they wanted me to put my face on that. I even tried to wash it and that didn't help. Tune Hotels might have been great when first opened, but they are going downhill fast. I had to take the issue up with the front desk, Everyone laughed like it was some big joke. The housekeeper obviously saw this pillow when changing the cover but they don't care. There is a lot of mould in the bathroom too. The manager did change the pillow for me and said it was the housekeepers fault. The girl at the front desk laughed and said it was fine??? Really??

I got a base rate of $23 ringget a night for a single room and I feel ripped off. Thankfully I am only here 5 nights. First and last time I take a single room or ever stay at Tune Hotel Kuching.

The design of this room is so bad too. The room is like 7x7 feet. The desk is underneath the air conditioner with a sign saying don't leave electronics here cause when the air conditioner leaks on it it's not our fault. The clothes hanger is wedged between the tv and fan??? The room has a huge window facing some kind of outdoor patio and building, which makes me feel like a prostitute in the red light district if I open the blinds. The carpets in the hallway are disgusting with huge water stains... I can go on and on... I see other people feel the same way. Too bad I didn't see those reviews when I booked this dump hole. I think i'm even insulting a dump hole by comparing it to tune hotel Kuching.

If I checkout and leave they keep my money and rent it to some other sucker for more, So I have to stay and make the best of it.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerpetualTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My mum and I stayed here for 3 days 2 nights. When we arrived, we were greeted by a friendly receptionist. You just have to pay a RM5 deposit for the card key. entering the room, I was shocked by the size of the room. It is a cubicle that fits in a small toilet, a twin bed, 2 small side tables with 2 mineral bottles. As a conclusion, I do feel like this place is suitable for dwarfs. Of course I was expecting worse as I heard stories about Tune Hotels where everything is not provided. As a matter of fact, they do deliver what they promised - good bed and shower. However, I felt so much frustrated with no aircond and TV as you need to pay extras to have these add-ons. The room is quite stuffy that the corridor is much cooler than the room. When it is a hot day, the room became unbearably hot even tjough the fan was switched on. If you can book the room during their promotion, go and grab it and get the add-ons. If you are on a tight budget, you can stay here, but please check the price first as you may get better hotels with almost the same price.

Room Tip: Book the rooms very early during their cheapest promotion, and get all the add-ons needed like airco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hasreena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I stayed here twice and decide will not return to this hotel location again. The room is dirty & smelly, the sleeping pillow has saliva smell. Lousy house-keeping service didn't replace the empty toilet paper for 2 days and I had to go to reception to ask for the toilet paper.

Room Tip: Use google and find more reviews before you book the hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LKM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed in July/August 2011 for over 2 weeks. We walked in and got a great deal <£20 per night - inc Air Con! Nice clean double room. Air con was a must - Wifi is chargeable but plenty of local eateries do it free! The hotel is a 200yd walk to the Kuching River front and minutes from many plush or budget eating houses. Great for local buses and the town too... At this price compared to others we tried in Kuching - recommended.

Room Tip: Check Online for great deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
360 Xpress Citycenter Kuching
0.2 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#15 of 55 in Kuching
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Supreme Hotel
Grand Supreme Hotel
#29 of 55 in Kuching
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#6 of 55 in Kuching
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak

Address: Off Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman Jalan Borneo, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
#4 Family Hotel in Kuching
#4 Business Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $16 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a 5-star sleeping experience at a 1-star price with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels. Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching located 50 meters radius from the Kuching Waterfront, local eateries and places of interest within the town. The hotel features 135 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms. The prices quoted are all inclusive facilities and amenities of the room price, applicable fees & prevailing taxes. NO MORE ADD-ONs as you use. All are taken care. Pre-packed breakfast is included however guest may opt for room price without breakfast. Decent cafes are just a minute walking distance, carving for foods & beverages will not be a problem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com Waterfront Kuching Hotel Kuching
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing