We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really surprising service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Century Kuching Hotel
Ranked #48 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed July 1, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pandaboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 470 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coco_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Beware - this is an airport hotel though the management is loath to describe it as such.
To date, there is no hotel shuttle bus so one is forced into paying exorbitant taxi fees whenever choosing to step outside the hotel.
There are zero no-smoking rooms, (though they claim that not to be the case!)
The public area echoes to horrendous piped pop music, (a Four Points signature feature, I'm told); this explains why nobody chooses to sit in this area!
Although the official opening was only days ago there are already signs of wear and tear and a lack of regular cleaning. I imagine that, like many Malaysian hotels, this building will be looking five years old within six months.
On the positive side, the bathrooms are spacious and there's an excellent shower cubicle. Breakfast is well above the average standard.
However, there's little else to recommend about this hotel (unless you want to watch the planes take off), and my first visit (and probably my last) to a 'Sheraton Four Points' was a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bangkoklooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

I had a similar experience with an earlier reviewer. The hotel had apparently just celebrated its opening ceremony the week before we were there and in terms of cleanliness, space, there is really nothing to pick on. The concierge was friendly and the people were helpful. The only problem is the location but we booked this place with a purpose to stay put here. A pity that the kids find the swimming pool water too cold even at a hot afternoon sun of ? 30 degrees celsius. There was a housefly in our hotel room which my husband managed to swat after 20 mins of chasing it. On day 2 , another insect followed us in after our morning breakfast. We went to the semoggoh wild life centre from this place, not too far at all .

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrschua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

Had a great experience at the new Four Points by Sheraton Kuching. It's a new property with great decor, lobby area, and bar/restaurants. The room was great - awesome views and great contemporary decor. Great service as well - everyone was extremely welcoming and friendly. Definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Check-in was complicated because they wanted to charge us for a third bed. I'd booked the room with expedia and paid in advance. Even though I explained to the clerk that his argument was with expedia.com and not me it took a good 15 minutes of dogged insistence to have him drop the request for extra money.

A lovely room and food to die for in the restaurant, I thought this was going to be a fabulous place to stay, until the morning.

At 07h30 we were woken by an incessant knocking. After a while I phoned reception to complain and they said they'd look into it for me. After three phone calls and thirty minutes I ventured out of our room to investigate myself.

The upper floors were being renovated, we'd been woken up by builders! In fact many floors of this place were closed to the public and had tradesmen all over them. It is inconceivable that the customer relations staff didn't know about the noise, they blatently lied to me.

You put up with less noise in a RM30/night youth hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank young4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

I won't comment of the food coz eat out - but excellent location as many (really many) eateries within walking distance. even beauty/massage parlous as well..

Staffs are well trained as guest were greeted everywhere.

but... the best deal about this place is the room. Great size. excellent amenities..you shall see the toilet/shower area! The AV system was an eye-opener.. very advance.

and to top all these.. you won't want to leave the bed once u sank in.. truly live up to its reputation. Simply awesome.

and being a new hotel helps : )

So if you need a good resting place after a day hard work.. this IS the perfect choice.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mad5598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#9 of 55 in Kuching
238 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
639 reviews
3.8 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#13 of 55 in Kuching
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
3.7 mi away
Meritin Hotel
Meritin Hotel
#14 of 55 in Kuching
21 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Kuching Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Kuching Hotel

Address: Lot 3186-3187 Block 16 KCLD, Jalan Lapangan Terbang Baru, Kuching 93350, Malaysia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Kuching)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $43 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Century Kuching Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Where You Need to Go. Welcome to the Century Kuching Hotel in Sarawak, East Malaysia, on the amazing island of Borneo. We're located in the middle of the BDC commercial hub, near The Spring mall. We're also near Kuching International Airport (KCH). Free to Choose. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we've got you covered with outstanding event spaces and contemporary restaurants and a bar. We also offer plenty of ways to stay active - such as our 24-hour fitness centre and a great outdoor pool - and to stay connected - like our 24-hour business centre and free Wi-Fi in all public areas. You'll even get complimentary daily newspapers and bottled water. Don't worry; there are no hidden fees. Casual Comfort. Our 435 rooms and suites are designed to make you feel right at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Century Kuching Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Kuching
Four Points By Sheraton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Four Points Kuching
Century Kuching Hotel Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing