We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a big disappointment compare to my last visit.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Century Kuching Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Century Kuching Hotel
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a big disappointment compare to my last visit.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

i stay in this hotel a few time before, but this time was a very big disappointment.
The some of the light in the room doesn't work, the wallpaper need to be re-do, as there is a lot of water marks and wallpaper opening. the phone it self is missing a few button and not working well.
For something we paid for like the internet its really not meeting its requirement.
the bathtub can not be fill as the water tab can not maintain at the open position by it self (keeps on sliding down and turning off itself). hot water gone cold half way showering. and the water taps are all quite dirty at the corner.
There is also a few water marks on the table which looks very UN-neat.

Overall this stay of mine was very disappointed, the price is cheap but the quality of the hotel is very bad. I feel like i just stay in a 2 star hotel instate of a Sheraton hotel.

The Hotel really need to take note and up a class if you want to maintain the name of Sheraton.
Will give this hotel 1 more try the next trip going there, but if there is still no improvement will totally book another hotel as its totally not worth the effed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeakemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Yeakemi,

Welcome back and it is disappointing to know that we did not meet your expectations this time round, I sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. I would really appreciate if you can share with me your room number and date of stay so I can personally look into the matters as guest comfort is very important to us and I will share your comments with the related departments for their immediate attention and improvement.

Again, thanks for the gift of feedback and should you travel back to Kuching we hope we can welcome you back to the Four Points and please reach to me (Ivan.chai@fourpoints.com) directly so I may assist with your accommodation arrangement.

Yours Sincerely,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    139
    106
    56
    40
See reviews for
97
86
57
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Draper, Utah, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have been VERY unimpressed with the hotel. the rugs, carpeting are so old and dirty. You are not provided with internet. The bathroom toliet was dirty, hair on the floor and in the sink, no extra things in the bathroom like tissue, etc. Only Asian hotel I have been to that has no extra toiletries except shampoo and conditioner. Was given only two towels, no washcloth or hand towel and one soap. The shower was grimy with grout somewhat moldy and gross. We had to change room because the one room smelled. I think there had been water damage.
The staff was nice. The breakfast was not very good and we got there at 10:10 and they hurried us out by 10:30 including turning out the lights. The draperies old and dirty and the carpet around the bed was dirty. Even the wood floor needs redoing. THIS HOTEL NEEDS UPDATING!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suki Hendricks W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Suki Hendricks W,

Thanks for your “hotel that needs updating” review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching!

About your concerns please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfall and inconvenience caused. I will share your concerns with our Front Office Manager, F&B Manager and Executive Housekeeper for their immediate attention as your feedback is important and certainly will assist us in continue to make improvements on our product, facilities and services to meet our guest expectations and enhance their experience.

Should you travel back to Kuching we hope we can welcome you back to Four Points, please contact me (Ivan.Chai@fourpoints.com) so I may assist with your requirements and ensure your next stay with us is a pleasant.

Yours Sincerely,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuching hotels

sibu
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

5 minutes from airport.
Quiet so sleep is great.
Rooms are larger than most business hotels. Same as with its bathroom.
Breakfast adequate worth many choices from continental to local.
Across from hotel are many Chinese restaurants for lunch and dinner. Also some convenient stores.
But no nightlife as outskirt of city. However taxis are cheap and metered or fixed rates. Ask first.
All in I recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stanley o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Stanley o,

Thanks for your “Good if you are a one day visitor” review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching!

We truly delighted that you enjoyed and always pleasing and such an honor to hear such positive feedback especially from valuable guest like you. We are located strategically and easy access whether you are here for business or leisure and for sure I will share your kind compliments on our breakfast buffet lineup with the culinary teams.

Again thanks for your kind feedback and looking forward to welcome you back.

Cheers,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Big rooms and comfy bed. Near to food eatries if you dont want to order room service. Locationwise, far from town centre and abit inconvenient if you rely on taxi. Adequate parking and located near to airport. Breakfast was nice with lots good selection of asian/western food. Recommended for business purpose, but for sightseeing better choice to stay in town.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eva865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi eva865,

Thanks for your “Near to airport” review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching!

We are so delighted have your wonderful feedback and really appreciate taking the time to share it here. Glad that you had a great stay with us and our hotel facilities met your expectations.

Indeed we are well-located which is close to the transport hubs (Kuching International Airport & Kuching Sentral the Regional Bus Terminal), industrial area and shopping (The Spring Shopping Malls, Boulevard Hyper Malls, City One Mega Malls). Plus just right opposite our hotel there’s plenty of local food stalls available for grab.

We hope that your good impression of our hotel will bring you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Kuching, when you are next in Kuching.

Cheers,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is, first and foremost, a hygienical catastrophe. The panels (in the room!) were dusty, as were literally every single area of the room. Even the electrical sockets were covered with dust. This is not only disgusting and unhealthy, it's also potentially dangerous. In the shower there was a distinct smell of mold. There were ants and other small creatures all over the room, and yet we stayed on the 9th floor. The location is not convinient for leisure travellers.

The service level was OK, but with one significant exception. Upon check-in, we were told that our room was 'not inclusive of breakfast'. Since we believed the kind receptionist, we bought our own breakfast from outside the hotel for the first two days. On the third day, after having breakfast in the hotel's restaurant, the staff looked surprised when we asked for the bill. We were then told by the cashier that 'breakfast is included in your room'. So apparently an employee of a quite highly regarded international hotel chain gave us misleading information that cost us at least 40$.

Well, we survived our stay. However, we don't want to imagine how the hotel will look in a couple of years. It already looks old after being poorly maintained and will be steadily declining, that's for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi Sofie_and_Fredrik,

It‘s disappointing to know that we were unable to meet your expectations on your recent visits, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused which marred your stay experience with us. Your concerns especially on the room cleanliness and the room inclusions, I will highlight it with the related department heads for their immediate action and improvement.

Should you travel back to Kuching, we hope we can welcome you back to Four Points by Sheraton and please feel free contact me (Ivan.Chai@fourpoints.com) so I may assist with your requirements and ensure your next stay with us is a pleasant and enjoyable one.

Yours Sincerely,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

One of the worst maintain hotel I ever stayed. Service was poor. Problem start when we check in. Check in time was 2pm, arrive at hotel at 2.30pm thought could check in straight away. But they say they were busy the room is not ready will take 45mins to get ready. Ask us to wait at the lobby and will call us when the room is ready. After an hour and 15 min wait when back to the reception to check the room is ready! The receptionist say it is ready 1/2 hour before. I told him what happen to let us know when the room is ready. And what piss me off is, the receptionist qoute when handling me the key card " because your wife is very particular I will give up 2 key card instead of one". So is that indicating my wife is annoying and giving something to shut her up? Is that what you call customer service?

And have to change 3 rooms. 1st room brown water was splashing out of the hole next to the toilet bowl. 2nd room shower room sink was stuck and water was overflowing to the room. Up grade up to a suite room. Even this have a problem. Aircon not working, luckily they manage to fix it after half a day. If not I would have ask for refund. All the room that I am in is dirty with dust on corner, marks on the floor and wall paper peeling off. Is this a 4 yrs hotel?

Had breakfast in the restaurant one morning, order poach egg at the counter and the chef say no more eggs when there is a notice saying order your eggs here. How can a hotel have no eggs? There is more that I have no time to mention.


Conclusion, will not stay in this hotel again or any four point. Problem with management, maintenance and staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yik Choy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Yil Choy L,

Thanks for taking time and share with us your experience on your recent visit.

I am concerned to know that your stay with us was disappointing. Please accept my sincere apologies for the service lapses and inconvenience caused which marred your stay.

Please allow me to ditch out and investigate further on your concerns especially on the service delivery that you have encountered with our associate’s. Kindly share with me your confirmation number, room number and date of stay, please reach to me at Ivan.Chai@fourpoints.com. Hope to hear from you soon and I will share your concerns with the related departments head for their immediate attention as well.

Should you travel back to Kuching and allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to Four Points by Sheraton, please feel free reach to me so I may assist with your accommodation arrangement.

Yours Sincerely,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I spent 2 nights there. The price was 185RM for single room including an excellent breakfast. Gym and swimming pool are nice. Staff is very friendly. Room big, clean and very pleasant.
Across the street from the hotel you will find lot of small restaurant and street food. Very good, clean, cheap and tasty ! So no need to eat at the hotel...
The hotel is a bit far from the city center, but close to the airport.
Overall, excellent value for money and very pleasant place where to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Chris C,

Thanks for your “Excellent value for money” review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching!

We aim to provide Great Rates and Comfortable stay for our guests. It is motivated and pleased when we receive such favorable feedback from you, we are committed and continue work hard to deliver a great service to all our valuable guest.

Hope your nice impressions will bring you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Kuching in future and we look forward to welcome you back.

Cheers,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.3 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
3.7 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pine Garden Hotel
Pine Garden Hotel
#32 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.9 mi away
56 Hotel
56 Hotel
#22 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Kuching Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Kuching Hotel

Property: Century Kuching Hotel
Address: Lot 3186-3187 Block 16 KCLD, Jalan Lapangan Terbang Baru, Kuching 93350, Malaysia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Kuching)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Century Kuching Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Where You Need to Go. Welcome to the Century Kuching Hotel in Sarawak, East Malaysia, on the amazing island of Borneo. We're located in the middle of the BDC commercial hub, near The Spring mall. We're also near Kuching International Airport (KCH). Free to Choose. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we've got you covered with outstanding event spaces and contemporary restaurants and a bar. We also offer plenty of ways to stay active - such as our 24-hour fitness centre and a great outdoor pool - and to stay connected - like our 24-hour business centre and free Wi-Fi in all public areas. You'll even get complimentary daily newspapers and bottled water. Don't worry; there are no hidden fees. Casual Comfort. Our 435 rooms and suites are designed to make you feel right at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Century Kuching Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Kuching Hotel Kuching
4 Points By Sheraton Kuching
Four Points Kuching
Century Kuching Hotel Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing