We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, we felt welcome from the moment we walked through the door. Friendly and thoughtful staff help to create a homely environment where everyone feels comfortable. Overall an excellent stay, we couldn't ask for more. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, also great kitchen and living facilities. The staff know the area very well and are more than happy to help with anything. Highly recommend this guesthouse. Thank you for a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmThomas17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Hi guys!

Thanks a lot for your awesome review. We had a great laugh with you and everyone else that was here at the same time, and we're really pleased you enjoyed the time too.

I hope you have a good time on the rest of your adventure, and hopefully you can make it back to Kuching at some point in the future.

All the best guys! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 103 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Very hospitable and friendly. Gave all the help and information I needed and even lent me a backpack to use as I didn't have one.

Good conversations. Always someone in the communal area to talk to. They'll give plenty of ideas of things to do.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deetrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Deetrain,

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review - it is very much appreciated, and we are really glad you enjoyed your time here so much. Of course for us it was a pleasure having you here, and we thoroughly enjoyed our evenings drinking and chatting with you!

Everybody here wishes you the best on your travels back to the UK, and hopefully we will see you back here again in the future.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful hospitality! We loved staying with y'all and appreciate all you offered for such a reasonable price. Great location and accommodations. Greg and Amy will be a force to be reckoned with in all of Kuching once the word gets out about this wonderful place. Have a map(mapquest?) handy to let the taxi know where you want to go. It can be hard to find but well worth it. We hope to make it back someday and no doubt will be staying here again!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lovinglifeColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear lovinglifeColorado,

Thanks very much for that lovely review - it means a lot. It was really nice having you guys here, just a shame you couldn't stay a bit longer.

Hopefully we will see you here again, or who knows - perhaps we will come and stay in your Guesthouse in Colorado! ;)

Wishing you all the best,
Greg & Co.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I have been in the Kuching area for a bit, but this guesthouse beats all the ones that I have been to before. It feels like being home, with very friendly and helpful hosts. Thank you for having me as guest!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

We wish you had found us earlier as well!

It was sad to see you go earlier today, and we really enjoyed going out with you last night. It sounds like you have some amazing travels planned out, and we all really hope you enjoy yourself!

Hopefully we will see you again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Got picked up at the airport and Greg and Amy have facilitated a perfect week in Kuching for our travels. We had the double room which was lovely and clean with a proper bedroom feel rather than just a white box room. We all went on trips to various places around kuching with them which would have been a lot more difficult without the car! It's really like you've gone to visit them as old friends and we had a fantastic time!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank JohnnyGarethPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hey mate,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, and to leave us such stunning comments! Our week with you was an amazing time that really meant a lot to us.

It was a genuine pleasure to meet you, and we really hope to see you out here again in the future.

Have a safe trip home! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

This hostel ticks all the boxes!!! Amazing location, clean and comfortable rooms, chilled vibes and amazingly helpful, friendly and funny hosts :)! It's an all round experience for a traveller - you have a safe place to stay with lockers, wifi, hot showers, communal kitchen with fridge and comfortable beds, and then on top of that you have hosts who want nothing more than to help you make the most of your experience, organising tours, trips and giving local advice! Greg and Amy are wonderful people to get to know as friends too... It's a very intimate hostel which i love! - it really is the best set up a traveller could ask for! You would be a fool to stay anywhere else!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank RuthyCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Howdy!

Thanks so much for your lovely review.

It was so nice to meet you, and we all thoroughly enjoyed spending time with you and sharing stories, jokes and general banter. You are already sorely missed by all over here!

I hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels, and that South America treats you well.

Best wishes :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Borneo Seahare Guesthouse is one of the reasons my 2 day visit to Kuching turned into 6 days! Amy and Greg are incredibly helpful and accommodating hosts. On arrival into the airport we were greeted by Amy who instantly made us feel at ease. The hostel itself is so homely it almost feels like you are staying over at a friends place! Our room (shared dorm) was immaculately clean with great aircon - ideal after a days travelling!

The toilet facilities are well kept and the showers are warm and powerful - a real luxury in Asian hostels!

Amy and Greg gave us a huge list of recommendations for places to eat and where to get cheap beer - they even took us to their favourite bar on the first night!

Greg also took us on a fantastic jungle trek (not for the faint hearted) up Mount Santubong where we saw proboscis monkeys and hornbills!

All in all we had a wonderful stay at Borneo Seahare guest house and were very sad to leave.

A must for your stay in Kuching!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loocindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregkuching, Owner at Borneo Seahare Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hello!

Thank you so much for your stunning review. Having you here was a true delight, and an experience we will not forget in a hurry! It was such a pleasure to meet you, and to spend time with you - it's just a shame we couldn't spend more time together!

I, and all the staff here, wish you the very best in the future both in your travels and when you return to the UK.

Best wishes, and happy travels! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Seahare Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Seahare Guesthouse

Address: 187 Jalan Song Thian Choke, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Price Range: $11 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Seahare Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse is a great hostel in Kuching. Located in the center of the city just a short walk from the beautiful waterfront and popular bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Borneo Seahare Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing