We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and tasty”

Chinese Food Hawker Stalls
Ranked #28 of 575 Restaurants in Kuching
Restaurant details
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cheap and tasty”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Loved the food here and the variety, quality and speed of service is amazing.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Braised pork and fish soup-MSG loaded!”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

we reached Kuching on 25/12, heavy rain the whole day, we went out to search for our dinner. Streets were really quite at 7+pm. We just found this place with people and lights on. No choice we have to settle our dinner here.

Only one stall was operating, we have kwai chap-braised fatty pork and hor fun, and a bowl of Teochew fish soup. First taste of both soups, tasty and hot, fatty pork braisd to the right texture, overall was all right. We thought we found a good place to eat, shortly after eating half of our food, MSG effect came out!

Fish soup contained the most MSG! Kwai chap has it too.

We didn't return to try some other stalls in the day as we worried it has MSG too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank csy_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

what you want to know, lokal food is good, the admosphere is perfect!! just go here and EAT. we did not get any illnesses, also not the children. (sorry for my English)

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JagertheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just stick to something cook (fried) to order...”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

From my experience, Hawker food in Kuching is nothing to write home about compared to Singapore and major cities in West Malaysia. After reading all the interesting articles about Kuching food before our trip, we tried all kinds of hawker foods all over Kuching, from the roadside stands by the Sunday Market to various coffee shop hawker stands all around the city. It was a disappointment. The food is pretty rudimentary and "crude". We tried Kolo mee, porridge, Laksa, fried carrot cake, chicken rice, etc.. - they are just ok - prepared food/meat are usually cold and sometimes questionable. We ended up eating mostly fried Kway Teow and Mee Goreng since you know that they are cooked to order and at least they are guaranteed to be hot (sterilized).

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ta-wizb98y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Authentic...”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Trust me on this - do some quick research on the web or ask some locals and you will discover some of the best, most authentic hawker food you will ever experience in Malaysia. I have too many to list here (hence the tip).

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bondeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinese Food Hawker Stalls also viewed

 

Been to Chinese Food Hawker Stalls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing