We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious prawns”
Review of Benson Seafood

Benson Seafood
Ranked #288 of 575 Restaurants in Kuching
Restaurant details
birmingham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious prawns”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our meal here. It has no menu, you just go up and choose things you like the look of, with the owner on hand to advise. We had prawns in chilli sauce, two vegetable dishes and a fried rice dish. All really tasty and fresh. Only downside was a little on the pricey side, rm70 for two people, but we were happy to pay it for the quality of the meal we had.

Helpful?
Thank sarahfbirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Don't bother !!!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Went in here with friends while on our visit to Kuching as it had been recommended. Showed us some nice meaty snapper and said it would be enough for the 4 of us with some vegetables. Was deep fried and cut into small pieces and placed on plate for us to share,quite honestly wasn't enough for one person ,sure it wasn't the fish he showed us and it was the most expensive meal we had so far, that one piece of fish worked out at £12.) coming from a fishing town in Uk that was very expensive in my eyes. Total bill 170 ringits. Well and truly ripped off,think they saw us coming.!!!

Helpful?
Thank Bjl1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
218 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fresher than fressh”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

A fine 'outdoor-seating' restaurant, Benson Seafood is located a mere stone's throw from the fishing fleet harboring in the Kuching River.
Every time we come to Kuching, Benson is a 'must'. Totally informal; you sit at large round tables with Chinese-red tableclothes; paper napkins - of the tissue-kind - are supplied. A wall is lined with open ice-stalls with of fresh seafoods including crustaceans and shell fish of many kinds. Also a range of locally-grown vegetables (including delicious midin). You select your own ingredients and the kitchen cooks them the way you want.
Delicious with very friendly and quick service and any explanation you might need. Enormous portions!
Incredible value-for-money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Must try”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This restaurant serves not only halal food to muslim patrons observing fasting month but also good seafood and veges, except for noodles which is not their speciality and i not recommend if you are like that come from w. malaysia. Overall, the seafood is guite fresh.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LohPL954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Better than top spot”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

No hassle just choose what you want from the selection.Chili crab and pepper crab are fantastic.Very frienldly and helpful service if you are not familiar with the dishes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bryan lusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benson Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Benson Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing