We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and affordable”

Life Cafe - Padungan
Ranked #18 of 737 Restaurants in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $4
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A few shops away from Tom’s, this is typically a very Chinese no pork no lard restaurant. Décor is mostly decorated with Chinese historical artefacts.

We were hungry and tired and it was about 2pm. We decided to try the nearest eatery near to where we stayed along Jalan Padungun. We were lucky. We enjoyed the food here. It was also very affordable. Menu was comprehensive.

Spicy noodle (RM10.80) was firm and a little sour from the added vinegar. The mushroom and minced chicken were tasty though a little salty. You can select the type of noodle as well as the level of spiciness.

Onion egg pancake (RM7.90) was starchy. A little oily too. Claypot rice (RM11.50) came in a small claypot. A little salty due to salted fish and anchovies. Some long beans and chicken. Half tea egg was nice. Rice was hot and flavourful.

Chicken lotus roots soup (RM13.90) was tasty but not too salty. The chicken was tender but not overcooked. It went well with the claypot rice.

Of all dishes, we liked the Fried Chicken Emerald Dumplings (RM10.90) the most. Well fried on the outside and juicy inside. The meat was well marinated. Correct combination of sweetness and saltiness.

With Pu’er tea, this was a delightful lunch for us.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank k0hk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 74 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2019

It's chinese new year and some of their food were finished. The waiter informed us and told us what is available politely, even we went there quite late. The food were nice, inexpensive. The environment full of chinese traditional style.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Attlwse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

The street view is enticing enough, but once I saw the dumpling menu, I was sold. Reading the history of this Kuching institution, it was clear that quality was paramount, and Life Cafe did not disappoint.
The service is quick and efficient, and flavours fabulous. Each plate of dumplings have 6-8 pieces and they are silky smooth but packed with flavour. There are a variety of teas to choose from and overall prices are very good. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank catherinemac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019 via mobile

We visited the cafe during Chinese New Year. Food quality is maintain compare to my visit a year ago.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019

Great when traveling with a meat eating friend. Good spicy food and helpful staff. But a bit pricey and they did get the orders wrong rather often

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank ChThSj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Life Cafe - Padungan also viewed

Kuching, Sarawak
Kuching, Sarawak
 

Been to Life Cafe - Padungan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing