We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, not easy to locate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heritage

The Heritage
Ranked #65 of 556 Restaurants in Kuching
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
beijing
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, not easy to locate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The restausrant is not easy to find. Google map shows a different place. As one of the previous reviewer said, find "Liwha Hotel", across the street, there is a "HongLeong Bank"(its not OCBC bank), the restaurant is in the lane beside it.

The restaurant had a "full" sign at the door when we got there, but seats outside were still avaiable, so entering to double check is helpful. perhaps booking in advance is better

The food was great. We were two, we ordered mango duck, mapo toufu, fish with crab meat and egg white, and spinach soup. The spinach soup was new, now in the menu yet, but tasted very well.

Food price is acceptable but more expensive than all street food. And the appertizer peanuts/ cabbage were NOT free, though they gave all the tables before any orders. The charge was 6RM, and orange juice was 7RM for a small glass. The main dishes we ordered were in a reasonable price since the food was in good quality and good ingredients.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old school wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Unquestionably one of the best restaurants in Malaysia. Traditional restaurant in a shiny room. Booking ahead is essential, ask in advance for BYO or a roast suckling pig (delicious, crunchy, about US$80-90 each). It can be noisy at peak hours. The staff have been there a long time and are excellent. Try their spinach soup, seafood noodles, scallops with egg white and broccoli, "shanghai prawns", chicken and cashew nuts in a yam basket, or bean paste pancakes. Good choice for lunch too - it's air-conditioned.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SimpleSimX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lunch at Heritage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had lunch at Heritage on 20 July 2013. We enjoyed the food and the price was reasonable. What we liked best were the fish lip soup, Mango crispy duck, Stir-fry broad beans with minced meat and Korean pancake. They were worth a try. What we found mediocre was the acclaimed claypot tofu and the fried rice. We won't order again. For dinner, a booking is a must as it is always full. For lunch, you could try your luck if you do not reserve a table in advance. We would still be back to eat what we enjoyed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank birthdaygiftsurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favourite Chinese Restaurant among the Local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The restaurant was started by the Chef of an old Chinese restaurant, Chui Hua Lau which had been closed down some years back. The food are mainly Cantonese and Sichuan style and is considered the most authentic in Kuching. That is why it is very popular among the local. It is recommended to book a table days before to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hua lee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Heritage, Kuching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent cuisine from a small restaurant that leaves its mark on you to return. Reasonably clean and good service. Price is manageable depending on the kind of food ordered.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaineKuching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Heritage also viewed

 

Been to The Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing