We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 4th Visit to Kuching at Lodge 121”
Review of Lodge 121

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodge 121
Ranked #11 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Kudos to the staff of Lodge 121. This is my 4th time staying in Lodge 121 @Kuching. I felt like I am at home. Love the guests there too. They are like 1 big family.....not shy to chit chat while browsing the internet. Staff are knowledgeable and very family, always there for you if you need help.
No doubt, its a distance away from the city, I still prefer to stay in Lodge 121....I dont mind the distance too.
I was with my mother during the stay. She loved Lodge 121 so much. The last day, when we have to stay in Abel Hotel, she refused to move out. I told her maybe next time, if we visit Kuching again, we will stay at Lodge 121. She loved the company of the guests there a warm heart staff who always accompany her chichatting.
I would like to give THUMBS UP for Lodge 121.
Thank you for the hospitality! A Lodge with 5 start service!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KitchenGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 126 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Lodge 121 turned out to be our favourite guest house in Malaysia.

The staff were extremely helpful, generous and knowledgeable. There was no pressure to buy any tours through them and in most cases we were told the cheapest way to do something ourselves, which worked out great given that we were on a budget.

The rooms themselves were comfortable and the in-room a/c was a nice addition. The location of the hostel was a convenient 5 minute walk away from the Waterfront Promenade.

All the staff were fantastic but special mention must be made to Jair for all his efforts in making our stay the best possible, including a visit to a local football game with his young family.

All in all a highly recommended hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Absy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

'Flashpackers' was how Lodge 121 was described to us, and it was a fitting description! Stayed in a private double room which was extremely cheap, spotless and comfortable. Bathrooms were clean and water in the shower was hot and reliable. Price included basic breakfast (coffee and toast) and free wifi. The staff were extremely helpful with whatever we needed, from cabs to mail and walking directions. The hostel is in a good location, walking distance to the waterfront and some good restaurants nearby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I will be very sad to leave 121 lodge! I love the layout of the dorm room- very cosy mattresses on the floor, with proper pillows and douvets. Because of the large size of the room and the beds being at the same height, it was an excellent place to meet people. I made some great friends here and have never spent so much time actually in a room! The staff are excellent and answered all my queries about the locations of everything and are very knowledgable about the national parks and bus times. They arranged transport to the airport and even staff that I hadn't met before seemed to know my name. It's close to everything and the cost of a taxi is around 26rm and a little more late at night and early in the morning. The hostel itself is brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauriel333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

nice place to stay..clean room.
the stuff is friendly and helpful...
fridge are available, we r able to put our food or drinks....
breakfast are available, its simple.
room r clean,air cond, not smelly, not noisy
10min walk to waterfront...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stranger91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a well done, if simple guest house, with a mixture of private rooms and dorms. The place is well decorated, rooms are simple but lack furniture- wardrobes or cupboards would be good. Beds could be more comfortable. Staff very helpful. Price is excellent. It's slightly further away than other guest houses but this also means it's quieter. Very handy for the museum though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savedave31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

After travelling for 3 months so far this is one of the best hostels we have stayed in!! Its spotless, new, airy and got duvets on the bed instead of the usual sheets! There is also free tea and coffee all day and toast for the mornings. Its only a short 5 minute walk to the waterfront. The best thing abot this place are the people who own/run it. Dont know which. They couldnt have been more helpful and friendly. Coming back to this place after a days trekking was like getting home. Cant fault it and I'm quite pickie I'm afraid to say.

Room Tip: The ones at the front with floor to ceiling windows are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,734 reviews
14 mi away
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
#47 of 55 in Kuching
395 reviews
11.6 mi away
Wo Jia Lodge
Wo Jia Lodge
#26 of 86 in Kuching
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#16 of 55 in Kuching
747 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Riverside Majestic Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
554 reviews
14.1 mi away
Permai Rainforest Resort
Permai Rainforest Resort
#11 of 55 in Kuching
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge 121? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge 121

Address: Lot 121 1st Floor Lodge 121 | Section 33 KTLD, Tabuan Road,, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Price Range: $8 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge 121 offers double private en-suite, common shared bathrooms & toilets for private single, double, triple and quad sharing rooms. We also have a dormitory unit for group of 10 persons, attractively priced to fit your budget.We are strategically located in the heart of Kuching City. LODGE 121 is just a stone's throw away from the famous Kuching Waterfront, Main Bazaar, India Street, Sarawak Museum, Visitors' Information Centre, main shopping centers, Supermarkets, main bus stops, Cineplex and trendy eating & entertainment outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lodge 121 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge 121 Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing