We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like the photos.... for once!”
Review of Lodge 121

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodge 121
Ranked #10 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Great place! It's actually up a flight of stairs (the description I had said ground floor). Clean, bright and airy this hostel is lovely. Lots of different rooms depending on your travel group, lounge area, limited kitchen facilities, great location and great price. Staff are very helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleCurrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 126 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

We loved our time at Lodge 121. We initially booked just one night in a private room with ensuite but extended our stay. The atmosphere in the hostel is great, the perfect place to meet people. They have a large communal area for breakfast where you can get a good wifi connection and also a seperate living room with TV. Our room was spacious, clean and the air con worked really well. The location is also perfect with restaurants right next door and the waterfront a short walk away. We would definately recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room just upstairs from the common area, it was a nice distance away from everyone socialis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

A stylish low budget place. A few blocks from the main sights in Kuching but all is in easy walking distance. Very friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Check and see if any of the dorms are free. They happily put me in one of the empty dorm rooms which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikio44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

After reading a bunch of reviews here, I checked with Lodge 121, and they said they had taken care of the bedbug problem reported a year before. I decided to go ahead and book with them because they had the best price for a single room out of the local budget options in Kuching.

Pros: The rooms were clean and there were NO BEDBUGS, as they had promised. The location is pretty good for walking and is near a large supermarket. The airport service is reasonable and efficient. Everyone on the staff is nice. There is free wifi and free breakfast.

Cons: The single en suite rooms don't have windows. Or maybe some do, but the one they tried to give me did not. I instead opted for a shared bath single room that did have a window. The toilets/showers were together in small closet-sized rooms, and they are of the style where the shower water goes all over the little room. It dries quickly though. The rubbish bin in the toilets did not get emptied too often. The wifi was easily overloaded and slowed to a crawl when more than a few people used it.

The first night I was there, the hostel was only about half-full, and this was just fine for the shared baths. But after that, some large family groups showed up and overwhelmed the toilets/showers. The free breakfast is only toast and jam, but that's a lot better than no breakfast at all. Also, the front desk was able to print my airline tickets for free since they were using recycled paper. The hostel is pretty decent value for money if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask in advance if your room will have a window if you are staying in a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjavins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I spent a few nights in Lodge 121 on Borneo in July 2011 and was surprised to find a beautiful hostel just outside of downtown Kuching. Lodge 121 was renovated 5 years ago and preserved its freshness and cleanyness until now. Very stylish and beautiful rooms, happy and helpful hostel staff, small breakfast for free, Internet access and Wifi for free, TV room, guitar nights and many happy travellers share their time in Lodge 121. I´d definitely recommend it!!

Room Tip: there are different room types to choose from. We had a double room and loved it! can´t speak for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poisonivy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The hostel had a good buzz about it and everyone is very friendly. It was very clean and well presented and the communal areas were great.

The private room with ensuite was great and felt like a hotel within the room. The best hostel we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrismartinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Pretty nice place that’s stylish and clean, if not a bargain. Euro/Asian styling, fresh paint, nice furniture with clean lines, rooms with wooden slider “window” to hallway with shared baths. AC in each room. Short walk away from the center of the action. The worst part of this B&B is the breakfast; with only white bread, a toaster, kaya paste, and butter and tea/coffee – but this is typical of many places in Malaysia that include breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelsInParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.5 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Radioman, Heritage Hostel
0.3 mi away
Singgahsana Lodge
Singgahsana Lodge
#2 of 81 in Kuching
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge 121? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge 121

Address: Lot 121 1st Floor Lodge 121 | Section 33 KTLD, Tabuan Road,, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Price Range: $8 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge 121 offers double private en-suite, common shared bathrooms & toilets for private single, double, triple and quad sharing rooms. We also have a dormitory unit for group of 10 persons, attractively priced to fit your budget.We are strategically located in the heart of Kuching City. LODGE 121 is just a stone's throw away from the famous Kuching Waterfront, Main Bazaar, India Street, Sarawak Museum, Visitors' Information Centre, main shopping centers, Supermarkets, main bus stops, Cineplex and trendy eating & entertainment outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lodge 121 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge 121 Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing