We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Area. Good Price. You must have a car.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celyn Hotel City Mall
Ranked #78 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quiet Area. Good Price. You must have a car.”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

- I like it because it's a bit of away from city. Quiet area, surrounded by trees
- right next door to supermarkets. Super convenient.
- Must have a car. No public commute
- Generally clean. Room is spacious. (some stains on carpets, but it's ok to me)
- Parking no problem.

Worth a stay. WIll visit again.~

Room Tip: Choose one facing parking lot is better~
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EltonMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    29
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
8
9
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Located center of kota kinabalu city. Few minuted walk to malls and Phillipines market. Staff are friendly. Rooms are all good except the water heater are not working. Price for the stay are affordable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank tigerrr87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tawau, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We booked this hotel online. Arrived late at night. Their "ample" parking space is to park in the shopping mall which is next door. Since it was late and the shopping mall was closed I parked in front of the hotel. The reception is on the ground floor, but the rooms are outside the reception. To access the room you take a side stairs that is a public area to the elevator. This means the rooms can be access by anyone without passing the reception. When you get out the elevator, you have to enter a corridor and then to your room. To enter the corridor and the room is by card key. The room is basic and definitely needs some refurbishing. I noticed the locks both at the corridor and the room has been tempered with. So that gave me some concerns. With that in mind, I made sure I did not leave anything of worth in the room when we walked around the city. When we checked out, it took a long time. I did not know what was the issue. The great part of this hotel is that it is right in the centre of Kota Kinabalu city with the major attractions, restaurants and shopping malls around this place. There are other hotels around this area but a little bit more expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven_Teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I stay here for 2 nights for my business trip. The hotel is located at City Mall. It is very far from airport and city area. It's also very hard to find a taxi in this area.

The hotel itself is surrounded by food and drinks outlet like Starbucks and one simple mall with Giant Supermarket as the anchor tenant. It's kinda quiet at night.

You need to double check your name when you check-in because my name was key in wrongly. Registration was slow. The room is small and basic and my air-cond was not cool enough and I ask the hotel staff to service it. The service was fast and after a while it's give a cool room.

There were no Wi-Fi in the room except the reception area. The staff don't speak good English but can understand.

Breakfast was simple.

Room Tip: The hotel location is very far from town and difficult to get a taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jking223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

As with any other city-centre hotels, this hotel has just about every type of restaurants all around it and the philipino and gaya street markets are short walks away. Its more a sleep over place, and the rooms are compact and tidy.

Tip to remember - Your room access card opens two doors. One is the respective floor access door and the other is your room door. So just flip the card over for the two doors.. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veepy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We arrived by the last flight from Kuala Lumpur so you can imagine our apprehension when the cab driver took us on a route towards Luyang rather than towards Kota Kinabalu town. I also imagined a tower attached to a mall, much like hotels in Kuala Lumpur and we were like "Is this the right place?" All that changed when we stepped in: the front office staff was friendly and helpful. We had booked a room online but they could not find our booking. The staff agreed to accept us with only our printed copy. The room was ample and adequately furnished for the three of us. What is interesting is that since it is located off Kota Kinabalu, it was easier for us to get to places like Tanjung Aru to get to the islands, or to go towards Kundasang and Kota Belud as we bypass most of the traffic. With a mall attached to it, we were quite self-sufficient in terms of supplies of titbits, drinks plus there is a number of F&B outlets located inside the mall if you need your coffee fix etc.

Breakfast is included although the choice is limited, but it was good to have if you have to make a trip to somewhere far early in the morning.

All in all, Celyn Hotel is a comfortable hotel to stay in but it is advisable that you have your own rented vehicle or make arrangements before going to KK. The hotel does arrange for transportation should you need to do the tourist stuff.

Would I return? Seriously, I don't mind. I think you do get value for money here as long as you are not expecting to stay in a Shangri-La equivalent.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depok, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I like the nice staff. Even though the rooms are in 70ies design, I wouldn't mind. I didn't stay at the hotel all the time anyway. Just to take a shower and sleep. It's near Phillipine Market, you should try seafood there, so yummy, and also the souvenir market.
It's not the 1st choice for sure, but not too bad.

Room Tip: Corner room will be the best, with street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.4 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#26 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
40 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#36 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
239 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#22 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#68 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
146 reviews
2.2 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#29 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
2.2 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#27 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celyn Hotel City Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celyn Hotel City Mall

Property: Celyn Hotel City Mall
Address: No. Unit S-0-30, Block F, Ground Floor City Mall | Lorong City Mall, Jalan Lintas, Kota Kinabalu 88300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celyn Hotel City Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celyn Hotel City Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celyn Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Celyn Hotel City Mall Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing