We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a night/two's stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celyn Hotel City Mall
Ranked #77 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK for a night/two's stay”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is attached to City Mall and is just an average hotel. The rooms are neat and tidy upon entering but after closer inspection there is a feel of it being old. There isnt much good channels on the TV plus they arent that clear too. They could have provided more wall socket for electrical appliances. Take note though to bring your own powerbank for your gadgets as electricity blackout happens quite often in KK.

Location wise, though it is attached to City Mall but there isnt much to go about in it. However a number of franchise food shops are nearby (Secret Recipe, Starbucks, Papa Rich, KFC, Pizza Hut, Old Town, Hana Japanese Restaurant).

Overall, I wouldnt exactly recommend this hotel unless it's for a really short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    28
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
8
9
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Selangor Darul Ehsan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Have been to City Mall KK few times, however never realised that there is a hotel here. That pretty much sums everything about Celyn Hotel, City Mall, Kota Kinabalu.

Since one does not notice of its existence, one could missed it easily.

There is no surprise to the room, for RM138++/night, with breakfast, at a location that fills with all the F&B outlets, really almost all of them are here, probably except Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf, and perhaps others.

Only here for a night.

So before you asked for recommendation, adios. This is it.

Try again.

Room Tip: There are better hotels else where :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamuelTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alor Setar, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights in this hotel during my working trip to Kota Kinabalu recently. Hotel looks small from the entrance, and the reception counter continues the smallish feeling when you check in.

Rooms are ok for a single traveller. Two persons and it becomes a crowd. Cleanliness and amenities are decent. No bath tubs in my room, just a shower cubicle. Most importantly no stale smoke smells, and the bed was comfy enough for a good nights sleep.

Later into the night, the front office counter is usually not manned. You need to ring a bell to get their attention. But ask them to give you a wake up call at 4 in the morning, and they were punctual about it. Same for taxi reservations. They had the taxi waiting 15 minutes earlier than scheduled. Definite plus points.

The buffet breakfast is a forgettable experience. Two main dishes to choose from and an egg station, that's all. You get better choices from either the Old Town Kopitiam, Pappa Rich or Starbuck's a few doors away.

The hotel is a bit far from the city centre which is 20 minutes drive away. Kota Kinabalu airport is also 20 minutes away, 30 minutes during heavy traffic.

However the location of the hotel in a shopping complex is convenient for buying any necessities, and the shopping complex has the biggest boutique population I've ever seen in a complex. A haven for the ladies. Quite a few eateries surrounding the complex, caters to the hungry traveller till the wee hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeKeanhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The water in the shower takes forever to go down the drain (hence you eventually shower in a pool of water up to your ankles). Service is never offered with a smile. The food served in the morning is cold not not being kept warm (including curry and congee) and the fruits served were so not fresh they were obviously kept overnight after being sliced the previous day. There were ants in my room and all the remote controls in the room were not working (batteries were so old, they were rusty). Only upside to this place is that it is located next to a mall. Some hotel staff had bad attitudes as well. Definitely not coming back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I stayed here just recently for 3 nights to relax after an exhausting (although incredibly fun) scuba diving trip in Mabul Island and Sipadan Island. I arrived very early (around 5:30 AM) and had already made arrangements with the hotel staff to have my room ready which they accomodated. They also provide a complimentary shuttle service to Kota Kinabalu City Centre which I took for two days while I was there. The shuttle service was on time and I was not worried about having to take transportation back to the hotel, because they also provided return transfer for free.

The rooms are clean and there's daily cleaning service. They also provide a safebox in every room. The bathroom toilet and shower were really nice. The breakfast is somewhat more geared towards the Asian clientele, although they still provided cereal, fresh fruit, and eggs, so I did not have anything to complain. Additionally, the staff is friendly and they were able to answer my questions easily. The location is OK, since being next to the mall provides great amenities, but it's still a little far from the airport and the KK city centre.

Overall, I would come back here again. I would love to come back to Sabah to do more scuba diving and hopefully climb Mount Kinabalu, so this is a good place to relax after an exhausting adventure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Good points
1. Room is clean and toiletries comes with bath gel, shampoo and toothbrush/ paste. Nice rain shower. Water pressure is good as well.
2. Breakfast was good as they have optional free for american breakfast and all kinds of egg.
3. The hotel looks pretty new as the hair blower, air cond and water heater are working very well. Comes with a 32 inch LCD and a DVD player.
4. Located in the City Mall where you can shop for groceries, pharmacies and even nice restaurant.
5. Shuttle van to Wisma Merdeka - in city which offer go and return for 3 times a day. Quite limited but better than taxi.

Poor Points
1. Receptionist are missing most of the time and you need to ring the bell to get their attention.
2. Wifi only available on lobby and what kind of century hotel provide cable for broadband in rooms. Maybe this hotel was meant for business and not leisure.
3. Receptionist are not friendly as they way they greet you is like " SO what do you want" and there are no welcome drinks upon check in.
4. Housekeeping does a bad job as they do not refill the toiletries, change the bed sheet, refill new tissues as how they should do it for a room service.
5. Far away from city and preferable to take a car rental from air port as the current car rental service from hotel are very expensive,
6. RM 40 for taxi from airport to hotel of 10km is not acceptable.
7. No pool, no fitness centre, Purely room to stay only.
8. No much power points. Hard to charge your phones.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelKL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Small hotel which is located within KK City Mall. Nothing much within the mall, plenty of eating establishments nearby. The hotel is clean but the food needs a lot of improvement. Wifi is available only on Levels 1 and 2.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidkwchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#43 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.2 mi away
Celyn City Hotel
Celyn City Hotel
#51 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#29 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#37 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#62 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celyn Hotel City Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celyn Hotel City Mall

Property: Celyn Hotel City Mall
Address: No. Unit S-0-30, Block F, Ground Floor City Mall | Lorong City Mall, Jalan Lintas, Kota Kinabalu 88300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celyn Hotel City Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Celyn Hotel City Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celyn Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Celyn Hotel City Mall Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing