We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and efficient”
Review of Step in Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Step in Lodge
Reviewed February 17, 2012

All I expect from a hostel is cleanliness and well-maintained facilities. Step-in Lodge manage this well, and with a smile; during both of my stays, their shared and private rooms were clean and comfortable, with a/c to boot. The latter isn't critical, but makes sleeping in Malaysian humidity that much more bearable. Many thanks for the repeatedly pleasant stays!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arobinsonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 74 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2011

We had a dormstyle room for the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 teenagers). It was very hot in the room and the fan did not help too much. It was clean, the showers and toilet were ok. We liked the public room where breakfast is also served. In the evening we enjoyed chilling with a book. The location is very good, very central near the night markets and not too far from Jesselton pier to het the boats to one of the islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman National Park.After all we found the price a bit too high; for the same price (or even a bit less) we got a huge private room with airco and private bathroom on the other side of the street.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramanando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

the decoration of this place was really nice and beautiful...
but the worse is..."BEDBUGS"............

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralph p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Clean basic dorms, with good sized beds, although I did have to share my dorm with a big ol' cockroach the first night. There was no window in my dorm, and only one socket. Showers all very clean, but there wasn't always toilet roll available so be prepared! Good location very close to the night market. No sign of bed bugs at all as mentioned in other reviews. Some staff were super friendly and helpful, others not so much, but there was a good communal area quite useful for meeting people. Apparently not the cheapest hostel in KK...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benji2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

My friend and I stayed in a few places in KK, and this was the best budget option we found. There are some cheaper places around town, but the Step In has a great location and it's a lot cleaner. I stayed there in Oct. 2010 and noticed some older reviews saying they had problems with bed bugs. But we didn't have any problems at all, so maybe they fixed the problem. My friend and I had a 6 person room all to ourselves complete with AC. We certainly couldn't have found that anywhere else for the same price.

They staff are helpful, but they don't go out of their way for you. The place itself is relaxing and friendly. Their second-story location makes for some great people watching down on the street.

Overall I would certainly recommend this place to any backpacker getting to know Sabah.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salsa_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

You won't miss this hostel when you walk past it, it is painted in bright green.
It has 3 floors, reception, male and female floor. It has a large common area with open space on the reception floor. The location is convinient, close to the night market, street food and bar area. Some street kids always hang around in the area.
Rooms are ok in terms of cleaness but cramped if the dorm is fully occupied. Just book the whole room if you got two people, the price is similar if you book two beds. Simple breakfast included. and there is paid internet. It got locker in each room. Some problem with the shower pressure, and water stopped for 1 night during our 4 day stay.
The staff are helpful and patient. There are a few other hostels nearby not listed in guidebook at a cheaper price.
Tips: They have a discount voucher on the ferry if you want to make an island trip. There is a bus going to the ferry terminal behind the hostel. It can be confusing when you buy the ferry ticket, coz so many ferry companies going to the same places. Just make sure you go to the counter on the voucher.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForeverGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed there for three nights and paid 70RM. Our room had 5beds but was only for us (a couple), with shared bathroom.
Bed Bugs: We woke up first morning and thought that these were mosquito bites, as we left our window open. As it got worse during the next days and the bites were really itchy, we consulted a doctor. He said that these were bites by bed bugs.
staff: was partly very unfriendly, we recognized that the situation changed, after the owner returned.
summarized: don´t go there!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aggstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
2.8 mi away
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,204 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step in Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step in Lodge

Address: Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | 1st - 3rd Floors, Lot 1 Block L, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $12 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Step in Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step In Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Step In Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing