We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent”

Brass Monkey Cafe & Bar
Ranked #15 of 572 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: To Make Reservations Please Visit Our Facebook Website To Attain The Contact Numbers. Thank You For Visiting.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This has got to be easily the best food in kk. We tried other higher rated restaurants and thought this should be number 1. The food is outstanding, even vegetarians are catered for. The cocktails are definitely worth trying as is the fantastic chocolate pudding. The service is excellent. Our very fussy daughter was accommodated with a plate of the most delicious mashed potatoes, nothing was too much trouble. The fact that in our 8 day stay we ate here 3 times is testament to the finest steaks you could ever eat at a price you can't believe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank princessonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    41
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
1 review
“well worth visiting”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just last week me and my family of 3 from Kuala Lumpur on a short trip and another local family of 5 join us for dinner at the Brass Monkey thru recommendation.We all had a wonderful time,the food was excellent especially the monster 4 pounds plus fresh local lobster thermidor was cooked to perfection yummy yummy ,the chef also prepared us his new creation a meditteranean style stuffed chicken breast with cheese,sundried tomato and arugula,a must try dish.
Anyway would like to thank the owner name Raja for being so passionate about the place,taking time to care us to enjoy from start to finish,we had wonderful time,thanks to his attentive service staff where everything is amazing indeed,we be back again with a bigger group sometimes end of this year,see you all and we love BRASS MONKEY.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yangoyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Steak in KK”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you are in need of a Steak, just get yourself here. I come here quite often and i will always eat steak. The owner of Indian origin generally recommends me the latest cut of beef that has arrived, and if he is not around the chef himself will come out and let me know. The steak is always served with local vegetable and sweetcorn and served to your liking. Best to opt for the set meal where you get a starter and a salad, a couple of Tiger beers on top will cost you around RM100.00. Look out for the monkeys!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1diverdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of our best meals in KK”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Our relatives took us here on our last night in KK. It is a great place with really nice food and perfect service, nice atmosphere and fun interior. Its location is a bit off but definitely worth the modest taxi expense.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanta, Krabi
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

It is a little outside of the city, 15-20 min by taxi (Friday evening rush hour), but well worth the trip. If you are lucky, as we were, the owner Raja, sent us back to our hotel in his car, driven by his staff. Staff and owner are super friendly, the food also is at the same level. When we came around 18:30 we were the first table, but 1 hour later it was full. Very good set menus, my son wanted to change the main dish to something else, no problem! Exceptional service by our Philippine guy, who later drive us home. Nice decorations in a corner location with open walls.
Very good food and wine, my highest recommendations. Father and son from Sweden

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brass Monkey Cafe & Bar also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Brass Monkey Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing