We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and clean place to stay in KK”
Review of Lavender Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lavender Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2009

It was my first time in a backpacker's lodge and I had no idea what to expect. We were looking for more affordable accommodation and we decided on Lavender Lodge after reading the reviews here.

We were greeted at the airport by Daniel, the owner of the lodge. A friendly man who helped us out with the pick-up despite our midnight arrival into KK. The rooms were clean and no worries about feeling warm because the air-conditioner and the fan takes care of that pretty well.

Prior to the trip, I was slightly concerned about the toilets and shared bathrooms. There are two shower rooms on each floor and a toilet each for girls and guys and it turned out to be nice and clean, with hot water for the showers and soap provided.

There's a single PC in the living area which you can use at any time of the day and breakfast is a modest affair with a choice of strawberry jam or kaya to go with the bread provided. There is a TV in the lodge, which has some cable channels - including our favourite, Discovery travel & living!

Some activities (such as white-water rafting) can be arranged by the reception so do feel free to ask them for help at any time. They were helpful and accommodating and even when we had already checked-out, they did allow us to leave our larger backpacks there while we made a trip to the nearby islands.

The jetty is located about a 10-minute drive from the lodge and a long-distance taxi terminal (for those heading to Mount Kinabalu) is a short 5 - 10 minute walk away. A cinema is also about a 5 minute walk from the lodge. There are a few places for seafood across the road and the lodge is about a 15-minute drive to the airport. There is a 24-hour convenience store near the entrance of the lodge too.

They do encourage you to leave your room key at the reception before you leave the lodge. However, do remember to take a small card from the front desk which has the name and the address of the lodge so you won't lose your way back!

All in all, it was a pleasant experience and this being my first hostel stay, has made me much more open to trying similar accommodations in other countries in the future - I just hope it's as safe, clean and welcoming as Lavender Lodge is!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d3stinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 405 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2009

Excellent base, well located close to eateries, shops, markets, taxis, etc. Does get a bit noisy at night due to its proximity to various parlours, but the upper storey rooms are slightly quieter. Everything including the shared hot water showers is kept nice and clean. Rooms are small and basic, with bed, small closet and one side-stand or desk. Good air con. and fan combo to stay comfortably cool. Take advantage of the complmentary tea, coffee, toast, Internet, TV, and friendly travel advice.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katsuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Stayed for two nights in January at the Lavender Lodge and we had a great time. The rooms are clean, well-ventilated, and decently sized. Breakfast of tea/coffee and toast is included and the staff kept plying us with fruit. The staff and owners are incredibly friendly and helpful (from booking tours to showing the cheap places to buy beer). Also, free internet (but only one computer). It also happens to be located across the street from a large open-air seafood food court, for a delicious dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Arhur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Francois_fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Duperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank D-Funkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,151 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
704 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Lodge

Address: No. 6 Jalan Laiman Diki | Kg. Air, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $18 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lavender Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the central business district of Kota Kinabalu, within walking distance to shopping complexes, restaurants and entertainment outlets. Our clean and comfortable rooms, exceptionally friendly staffs and affordable prices make our lodge the favorite among international travelers. Our aim is to ensure all our guests have a memorable stay with us and a great holiday in Sabah, Malaysia. From free airport pick up to travel advices and tours, just talk to us and we are always on hand to assist you. We are your holiday home in Borneo!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Lavender Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Lavender Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing