We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Poor staff training and did not honor non-smoking reservation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu to your Saves list
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Bandaran Berjaya, P.O. Box 11718, Kota Kinabalu 88819, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Best Discount from Hotel
Ranked #11 of 89 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Marina, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor staff training and did not honor non-smoking reservation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our second time at this hotel, we used their online booking for a few weeks in advance and to our surprise even though we ask for a non-smoking room they put us on a smoking floor in a room that was for smokers. They did say they were sorry, but for people like us that have sensitivity to smoke it was a long night. We will not being going back to this hotel, we feel they should have comped the room for this kind of error.

The reason we also feel the training of the staff is poor is that rather than accepting the mistake and finding a solution they only said sorry and took no action, finally we asked to see the manager and they said he was not in. So we walked upstairs to the office and found the manager in , but he also only felt sorry for the problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    143
    90
    13
    7
See reviews for
51
103
43
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Nothing particularly wrong with this hotel, its just that there's not much particularly good about it. It feels like a Holiday Inn from the 1980s that hasnt been updated much. Its kept decently clean, but the bedding feels a bit old, the furniture, while not in disrepair is from a different decade, and the whole place feels a bit stale. I wouldn't call the service in the hotel unfriendly, but I wouldn't call it friendly either.

On the better side, it was quiet, and the breakfast buffet, while nothing fancy, was generous and had a decent amount of diversity. Pricing is average for East Malaysia (21 RM).

About ten minutes (and 30RM) by taxi to the airport, which is easily arranged.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Reception staff were not very warm or helpful. The room was average; looked out onto a service area at the rear of the hotel with a noisy ventilation fan. The best thing about the hotel is its central city location, which makes it an easy stroll to good seafood restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Hindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Pro's
1) Room - Stayed on the 10th floor - Clean, neat and the equipment was functioning well
2) Location - Close to Airport / Market / Bus Stands and the Sea front
3) Service - Prompt and efficient, the A.C wasn't doing enough but the service engineer fixed it quickly, we didnt have adapters to charge but they provided us with one
4) Wi-fi - Worked well enough compared to other hotels we stayed at in Malaysia
5) Front Desk - Did its required job well, we didnt eat in the hotel since there were plenty of eateries around the area

Con's
1) The A.C needed fixing the 1st time
2) The adapter they gave the 1st time didnt work
3) The channels on the TV were insufficient, needs to be increased

Room Tip: Non-Smoking Room facing the hill (10th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivekjain84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked a night in this hotel returning from mount Kinabalu climb. We were pretty tired and looking forward to a nice shower. After checking in, we went to our room, which was spacious and quite clean for Malaysian standards. It all went downhill when we realised there was no hot water. We called reception to notify them/enquire about it, they just said hot water was broken so not hot water was available! No sorry- nothing. They didn't know when it would be repaired either! Obviously normally I would have just waited but returning from Kinabalu climb it was a big deal! We ended up having a cold shower...And hating this hotel for a moment!
A little later we asked for some travel advice on ferries to Brunei- which they had no idea about. We also asked if we could borrow an adaptor- they gave us one but it was broken. A couple of lights did not work in our room as well (in the bathroom, and one side bed).
On a positive side, breakfast was great and wifi was available in rooms.

Overall, ignoring the hot water drama (which was fixed a few hours later though we weren't notified about it), it was an average hotel and I would recommend travelers willing to get a decent room to pay the extra money and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie7338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The structure looks as if it came from the 70s and the lobby and the main function room which also functions as the restaurant are from the same mold. Rooms are decent sized, mattresses could use an upgrade and the TV channels suck with only Aljazeera to keep you updated on the news. No in-room safe but there is a safe deposit box in the lobby.

Breakfast is purely for caloric consumption. Nothing to titillate the palate but nothing horribly wrong either. Protein comes from tofu or apathetic slices of chicken ham.

Demolition of a huge building across the road commenced at 8 am but this should be over within a week of writing.

The good: Within 5 minute walk from Welcome Seafood Restaurant which is a huge restaurant occupying the ground level of a shopping block. Order - mantis shrimp, geoduck and live fish. Forget about the house special noodle. I've had better from instant mojo.

Airport is ten minutes away and shopping centers are a ten minute walk away (but who goes to Kota Kinabalu to shop?).

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the main street facing the hill behind for more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnyrret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had quite a bad experience staying here. Our plans changed so we booked here last minute and in fairness it was reasonably cheap. Looked good online with promises of shuttle services to shopping centres and free WiFi. When we checked-in the clerk at the desk barely acknowledged us, seriously he didn't speak a single word. He handed us a room card and we had to ask him what room number, which he didn't actually tell us, just grabbed the card back off me and wrote on the top. I thought maybe he didn't speak English but i heard him speaking to someone later. When we got to our room the key didn't work so my boyfriend went back down to the check-in desk, still with barely a word the same clerk handed the key back. This time it worked but when we went inside the room was occupied by other people!! Awkward!! So we lugged our luggage back downstairs and told the clerk what happened, he looked a little mortified but didn't apologise or anything just looked at his computer, mumbled something to the other guy working at the desk then handed us a different key for another room.

The room was okay, fairly clean (by local standards that we're now used too) and spacious enough. We forgot to ask for a non smoking room (very difficult habit to get used too as it's not something we usually have to worry about), so the remnant smell of cigarettes once smoked remained, but after all the rigmarole and a long day we just sucked that up. After settling in I went down and asked a girl at the desk for the WiFi password and was simply told "not working".

The next day we needed to run some errands (and use the internet!) before midday checkout so we thought we would take advantage of the free shuttle bus to a shopping centre offer in our booking confirmation. We went down stairs and approached 3 hotel staff that were milling around chatting at the front entrance to ask about it, they seemed annoyed that we'd interrupted their conversation, and we were pretty abruptly told the shuttle bus only goes to the airport.

The hotel is located down some windy little back streets and the hotel overlooks the main highway, so it pretty noisy with the windows open. It is only a 10min walk to shopping centres and about 10-15min walk to the waterfront restaurants, markets etc. But everything is only a 10-15min walk no matter where you stay in KK so this doesnt really say that much.

We stayed at quite a few different places in Borneo, of various star ratings and this was by far the worst service of any. We're not fussy travellers and will usually tolerate a lot but when you pay for a nicer hotel you expect, at least, to be spoken to politely.

Room Tip: If your going to stay make sure if you are a non smoker to ask for non smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#1 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#2 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu

Property: Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Address: 75 Bandaran Berjaya, P.O. Box 11718, Kota Kinabalu 88819, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, situated in the heart of business district and entertainment spot offers comfortable yet affordable accommodation with panoramic view of Kota Kinabalu City. Located 10 minutes away from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and is walking distance to an array of restaurants serving sumptuous cuisines such as Japanese, Thai, Chinese, Indian, Malay and Seafood. It's central location makes it easily accessible to all major shopping complexes, Gaya Street Sunday Market, Night Market and Jesselton Point Jetty which provides regular 20 minute boat rides to our famous islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park. Our guest rooms are of reasonable size and comes either with double bed or twin bed and standard amenities such as working table, air-condition, minibar fridge, satellite TV, bathtub, hair dryer, free internet access, and ironing board on request. The hotel features a restaurant and bar that serves international food and beverage during breakfast, lunch and dinner with ample free parking space for it's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing