We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Location ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kinabalu Daya Hotel
Ranked #53 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here from 4 - 6 October..
The room is just nicely cleaned and have all the basic requirements...
We were having problem with A/C on the first day, so we were been upgraded to another room on following day ...
We found it comfortable, clean and the staff are really friendly...
As this hotel is located in the middle of town, an easy walk to markets, shops and malls nearby...
breakfast was really good...

Overall, worth paying for the location and food ...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharmila88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
musyadi m, Front Office Manager at Kinabalu Daya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 6 088 240000.


Sincerely,

Musyadi
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Kinabalu Daya Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 444 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Best Western is excellent value for money. The rooms are clean and have all the basic requirements. Breakfast is simple but good. The Best thing is the location of the Hotel. It is right in the middle of town and an easy walk to markets, shops, boats, taxi's and buses.

Room Tip: Don't take a room without a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
musyadi m, Front Office Manager at Kinabalu Daya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 6 088 240000.


Sincerely,

Musyadi
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Kinabalu Daya Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Luckily we only stayed here for 1 night in August as part of our honeymoon tour of Borneo!
The reception area is uninviting & the staff unwelcoming/uninterested which is rare as the staff in KK are usually really nice.
The corridors are narrow & carpets filthy dirty!
We had paid over £40 for a 'deluxe room'. The first room we were given on the 10th floor was the worst hotel room I've ever seen - and we've backpacked through lots of Asia in budget hostels!
We had emailed them in advance to advise it was our honeymoon yet the room was tiny with a pretend window, mould all over the wall directly above the bed & only 1 small light over the mirror - it was horrendous & the smell of damp was vile!! We immediately called reception & asked to be moved as A) it looked nothing like the rooms they advertise & we had paid for & B) it was unacceptable for anybody to stay in! They were hesitant but gave us another key for a room down the corridor.
The 2nd room was a fraction bigger in size & looked a bit more modern but was still horrendous & not worth £40 a night!
The whole room had an overpowering smell of Asian cooking & spices, the bathroom, although it looked reasonably clean, smelt really strongly of urine like one of the local public toilets & had a strange filthy dirty partly frosted window right above the shower that seemed to be shared with a staff flat?! Only 1 light worked so we showered practically in the dark & had no control over the water temperature!
One of the pillow cases was dirty & stained & there was a pubic hair on the bed sheet. The signal on the TV was poor, the wifi wouldn't connect at all & the view out of the tiny window was of a wall - no wonder the curtains didn't pull back!
The air-con was not very effective & as the room was so small it was soon hot & stuffy.
It was also the noisiest hotel room we've even stayed in! At 8am we were woken up by loud banging & drilling maintenance work from the room next door, we could hear doors slamming all night long & car/plane sounds from outside all night long too! You would not believe how horrendous our stay was!! We had previously stayed at The Palace for £20 a night which in comparison was luxury!
Breakfast was horrendous - the fresh juice was a weak non descriptive warm cordial, there was a buffet of toast, beans, egg, noodles & pancakes & that was about it - service was non existent & all the food was cold!
Yes the location is good but KK is a small city so no hotels are particularly located badly.
Please don't stay here! It truly is awful & depressing in every way & can only be described as bad hostel accommodation & should not be classified as a hotel!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldFoodSunLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our first two nights in Sabah were spent here and we found it comfortable (comfy bed), clean and the staff full of helpful advice and smiles. We didn't have a window, but that didn't phase us much. AC worked a charm - though make sure you ask for a room with this. They don't all have adjustable thermostats and some of the rooms are newer than others. Breakfast was awesome and included in the price. Pancakes, eggs, toast, noodles, fresh fruit, endless tea and coffee. A budget traveller's dream. The location could not possibly be better. A quick walk to all central sites, restaurants and the jetty to go on day excursions to the islands. If you are in search of good budget/low to mid-range accommodation, this is definitely your place.

Room Tip: Ask for one with an adjustable AC and a window, if that is your preference. The views aren't spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluesky104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Friendly staff, convenient location. Housekeeping is very attentive.

Inconsistent free wifi and some rooms are newer than others. Water pressure is a little sketchy and bathrooms are a bit cramped (the older ones are a little dingy too)

Good for a day or 2 in the city.

Room Tip: try to request newer rooms and not anywhere near the service entrance/housekeeping store. Trolleys w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is where my friend and I stayed when we went to Kota Kinabalu two months back.
hotel rate is worth the stay. they even have complimentary drinks plus hair dryer and iron board if there is a need for you to iron crumpled clothes. plus hotel is just near shopping malls and bars.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leng0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Room is without window but clean and tidy, the staffs are helpful.
Location is good and close to Sunday market, waterfront and much more.
We booked at BW homesite for 2 nights at a very attractive price. We stayed one more night after an out-island visiting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KW L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gaya Centre Hotel
Gaya Centre Hotel
#24 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
602 reviews
5 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#78 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#22 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
190 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Daya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Daya Hotel

Address: Lot 3 & 4 Block 9, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kinabalu Daya Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $32 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinabalu Daya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinabalu Daya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Best Western
Kinabalu Daya Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing