We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not consider this HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kinabalu Daya Hotel
Ranked #68 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Do not consider this HOTEL”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Four of us arrived at this hotel with a confirmed reservation paid for by credit card and booked by AAA. When we arrived they had overbooked and did not have the two rooms that we had reserved. We asked to speak with the manager and of course he was not available...There was another gentleman also in the lobby yelling about his poor accommodations. There are many choices in KK and I would not consider this one for a minute..

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
musyadi m, Front Office Manager at Kinabalu Daya Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 6 088 240000.


Sincerely,

Musyadi
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Kinabalu Daya Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    151
    160
    60
    33
See reviews for
55
113
47
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good location close to the sea front and Jesselton Point where the boats for the islands departed.

The first room we got (on floor 11, room 1104) was so small that it was almost no room for the extra bed and luggage. This room was located very close to powerful air condition fans so it was impossible to sleep - it felt like being inside an airplane engine. (We guess that this was the case for most rooms on this floor, so be aware) We changed room a got a spacy room, but unfortunately without a window. it was OK, but a bit dark.

Breakfast was included, not fantastic but OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PGOhlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel has the fntastic advantage of being right in the ventre of town, close to some of the best restaurants markets and the waterfont, Gaya st market is just behind. however the rooms are really only suitable to sleep in. no wndows and the rooms really needed a referbish.

Room Tip: there are afew with windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here twice - once in December where the staff had messed up our booking and we had to stay in a room with no window. Do NOT book this - horrible room and the air con would only stay on with the lights on.
We stayed again when returning for a few nights in KK in January - this time we had a window. First room had an incredibly noisy AC unit, so we had to move rooms again - this room was smaller, clean and plain.
Breakfast fine, staff OK.
Free Wifi but it was rather temperamental.
Watch out for the rat seen running along the 9th floor corridor!!
Overall, it's a great price and location is good - definitely not what I'd have expected from a Best Western hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you book a room that states it has a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I would expect better of best western. This is simply not up to their standards and should be removed as one of their hotels. The windows do not look out onto the street but a metal shell put on to make it look more modern, 25 years ago. Very small room. Banged up furniture. Bizarre bathroom set up. Not well dusted. Tiny elevators, with steps to get up into them. Not disabled access at all. Breakfast was actually good with a large array of cultural offerings for wide variety of guests. Loud noise from hallway. Towels not replaced. Asked THREE times for replacement. Promises to call maid. Manager just huffed at bothering her.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denverbydakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel is still OK, but you See that its old. The location in the City center is nice. The breakfast is nothing special, you get a better one in the Cafés around you. Internet connection is free but dos not Work every time, big trouble to use...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enzocalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Rented 3 rooms (2 queen and 1 twin room) for 2 nights. Musty smell in the 1st queen room, stuffy and hot even with the a/c turned on in the 2nd queen room and only the twin room is in good working order. TV reception is very poor, wifi is a hit and miss affair for all the 3 rooms and 3G reception for my phone is almost non-existent. Breakfast is simple but acceptable. Location is perfect! Gaya street is just 5 mins away with good food and sunday market.

Room Tip: Standard room with queen sized bed is pathetically small, go for room with twin beds which are much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#17 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gaya Centre Hotel
Gaya Centre Hotel
#20 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#27 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lucky 11 Hotel
Lucky 11 Hotel
#52 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#29 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Daya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Daya Hotel

Property: Kinabalu Daya Hotel
Address: Kinabalu Daya Hotel Jalan Pantai | Lot 3 & 4 Block 9, Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kinabalu Daya Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinabalu Daya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kinabalu Daya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Best Western
Kinabalu Daya Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing