We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd pick another place”
Review of Borneo Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Borneo Backpackers
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I got bitten by bedbugs (on my face), the walls were so thin I could hear my next door neighbours whispering, and breakfast was rationed (limited to 2 slices per person, said the sign.) I'll be staying somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yo_graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BB_Administrator, Marcom at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear yo_graham, thank you for your feedback to us. We have communicate the feedback to Borneo Backpackers Team, and done thorough checking on the mattress but find no traces of bed bugs. Eventually before your arrival, the groups who stayed in the room has no comment on bed bugs when checked out.

Please be assured that all rooms are being steamed and cleaned properly after each check out to ensure cleanliness and guests' comfort during their stay. We thank you once again for writing to us, and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 169 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed here two times while traveling trough Borneo and can't say I'm a big fan of the place. Sure, it's a quality guest house, the place is fairly clean and you can quickly meet other people, but I can't say i like the atmosphere. This is mainly because of the personnel. The two times I visited it seems like there was a lot of family of one the staff, which is ok, but not when the staff is focusing on them instead of the visitors. They weren't eager to help us out and weren't interested in us in any way. The location is perfect though. Put in nice and friendly staff and you got yourself a perfect little hostel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I've been travelling for 6 months around Asia and this was probably the worst hostel I've stayed in. The first night we got there, we woke up the next morning covered head to toe in bed bug bites - I even changed beds half way through the night because I could feel my entire body being eaten! So the next morning we told the lady at reception that the beds were laden with bed bugs and her response was ' if the problem persists, just move to the top bunk, if you still find yourself being bitten, go and find another hostel' she was obviously aware that there was a bed bug problem, but she honestly didn't give a dam that all of her guests in the room had been eaten alive! We asked the same lady whether she had any recommendations for us to see/do in the city and her response was 'there is absolutely nothing to do here'. To be honest I think that the staff at this hostel hate people! They are definitely not competent enough to run a hostel.

We slept one more night in the hostel before we departed the next day, and spent the entire night itching and scratching. In fact one of the guests in our room left her bed and slept on the hostel lobby floor because it was that unbearable.

We left the next day but unfortunately, the bugs stayed with us, it took us around 5/6 days to get rid of the bugs and we had to get the entire contents of our backpack washed and steamed (which wasn't cheap) my advice to all travellers would be to never ever stay here!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Poulterlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The rooms are a bit bare and the staff are a bit distant but overall the place is good value for money. Note it is a bit noisy because it is next to a main road but you are a stones throw from the sea and the market so the location is very convenient. There is a pretty good and quirky restaurant downstairs as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NarenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Rooms are clean but outlet are limited, staffs are helpful and friendly. It locates next to the Sunday market, easy to find whatever you need, very convenient.
And the important reason I chose it was: it has free airport pickup service if you stay 2 nights(need to book from their own website). It's very good for my 1st time visit KK.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wenxiu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

I just had to find out that it is really tricky finding a good backpacker hostel in KK. All 3 hostels i stayed in were bad. But Borneo Backpackers was the worst despite being the cheapest. (How i miss the lovely hostels in the philippines now. *sigh*)

BBP looks good on first sight and the single-price is very competetive (40 MR). Thats the reason i give it 1 star. Also some of the staff are nice.

But some other staff members are the most rude people i have ever met in a hostel in many years of travelling and that is no exaggaration.

When i arrived i was surprised about the big room and i thought about extending. So I went back to the counter and asked for extension. The lady in charge was eating and watching tv. She literally said without looking at me: "I am eating now. Later!!"

Then I tried to sleep in the afternoon, although the blanket smelled like piss (some other reviewer also noticed that.) After having a nap for 2 hours i woke up watching a bed bug walking about my hand, full with (my?) Blood.

I was lucky, because staff was not eating anymore and there was obviously nothing interesting in the TV so she assisted me to change my room. Her excuse was "Someone brought the bedbug from the jungle" (again, some other reviewer experienced the same. Seems to be their usual excuse).

When i wanted to have a cigarette at 11.30 pm on the balcony, my favourite staff member came to me saying unfriendly and in shock "But i have to close the balcony now!!!". I was suprised and reacted like "oh really?" And she said to me like very annoyed with big wide open eyes "Yeeeeheeees!!!"

Next morning i looked around for alternatives and found something else. This staff made me aggressive and i am a peaceful person.

To be fair. All hostels i stayed in Kk were bad. But this was the worst!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank i_love_earplugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

One of the lowest price u can get in KK. Provides the very basic necessities..clean bathrooms with no shampoo & low water pressure and breakfast with 2 slices of toast & hot drink (not complaining, just stating).. If u stay 2 nights consecutive, u will get an arranged airport pick-up..which for me was on time..Oswell, the driver was very kind and polite too.

Receptions & staffs were rather friendly too..once u get to know them a little. They were kind enough to assist me with my last minute tour plans and night extensions.

Location wise: strategic as it's near to main attractions within walking distance.

Some of the few things which could be better:
-Mattress could be changed to thicker ones as it all got old and rather flat.
-More plug points needed in dorm! Only 2 sockets for the entire room with 4-10 beds..that's definitely not enough.

If u're on a very low budget, BB is for u. Expect the very basic.

p/s: I stayed at BB for 8 nights..20-28 Nov 2013.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank cheeyan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
10.4 mi away
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
#10 of 109 in Kota Kinabalu
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
PODs The Backpackers Home
PODs The Backpackers Home
#6 of 109 in Kota Kinabalu
118 reviews
3.2 mi away
B&B@21
B&B@21
#3 of 109 in Kota Kinabalu
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#7 of 109 in Kota Kinabalu
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Backpackers

Address: No.24 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $14 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city; Borneo Backpackers has already attracted the attention of discerning travellers from around the world. Some guests have already made return visits, and many more have vowed to return. While guests originally come for the facilities on offer, such as clean bathroom, toilets, pantry area, internet facility, cozy lounge area, roof garden deck, 24 hours security, and a tour information counter. They return for the service from our friendly, helpful and knowledgeable local staff. Rooms are all air con, from Dorms to Private rooms. Rates begin at $7 USD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borneo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Borneo Backpackers Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing