We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has everything you need but some small important touches missing”
Review of Borneo Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Borneo Backpackers
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I travelled on my own and it probably didnt help that I arrived late at night and had just stayed in an amazing hostel in Vietnam.. first impression was that the staff lived here/treated it as their home, and weren't really here to help the customers..they even had a cat living there with them which was harmless but a bit weird! Always sitting on the reception counter. 

One night, a girl turned up in our room at 2am with no luggage. Seemed weird as last check in is at 11am. She couldn't speak much English so her explanation didn't satisfy my roommatesn unfortunately, who woke whilst I remained fast asleep. When we queried her presence with the staff, who we had to wake to do so, they were less than impressed, and even when we explained why we thought it weird, werw very off with us! Luckily it turns out the girl was there legitimately..

Otherwise, there are not enough plugs in the rooms and lockers are small but again, I've probably been spoilt on that front in previous hostels! Quite a noisy hostel because of outside traffic.

Also worth noting, staff weren't flexible to allow another girl a bed to sleep in whilst she waited for check-in time, even though more of the beds were free than not!

Breakfast is bread (not toast) and spreads.. needless to say most go to the cafe downstairs for toast!

All in all the hostel itself is fine and I liked the give/take corner where you could leave unwanted things for someone else to benefit from. I got myself a snorkel and goggle set! Just not as good as other hostels I've stayed in and staff not what I hoped of malaysia!! Maybe I've been spoilt elsewhere!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clareykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 173 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel staff is very friendly, seems filipino family run. Its on a busy street and the whole town is on the airport flight path so no avoiding that. Its close to Signal Hill and the waterfront. Great night food markets selling seafood and other items. Its about a 25 min walk to the open air bus station at the other side of downtown where the airport buses will come to. The room was nice but quite small, nowhere to put luggage or clothes other than on the floor or the bed. They had nice terrace bathrooms but they only open them at 730 otherwise you use the ones indoors. The common area is outside the rooms so you can hear people talking but they werent being too disruptive the two nights I was there. KK city does not have much other than the waterfront and lots of shopping centres with cheap goods and to rest from the sun. There is a big chinese community and lots of food choices. Sabah State Museum, Islamic Museum, and Sabah State Mosque are all close to each other but about a 40 min walk so do it in the morning. Either way you would have to goto the bus terminal 25 mins from the hostel to get a bus. It was a public holiday so the staff were helpful with my onward travel plans so that I didnt get stuck.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Excellent Staff, really friendly, wonderful place to be. I have heard some people criticise the aesthetic of the building, but it's part of Kota Kinabalu's history. There are only two buildings that survived the war, and one of them was this one. It's gorgeous for that alone. Comfortable beds, really welcoming and friendly staff, great food on offer and everything you need is nearby, including a huge Milimewa and a nice cafe/bar below.

It's so cheap and you get such great value for money I would recommend to everyone / anyone. This place and the people who run it will always have a special place in my heart.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I've stayed there twice now in 2013 and 2009, is nice enough, though the staff treat it more as there home than there work place (though I think it's probably their home too). There is always a collection of kids watching TV. On the first trip they didn't organise our airport pick up. Defiantly room for improvement.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrddaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was a very basic hostel. Just 2 double bunks in our room - no hooks or places to hang stuff. The bathrooms were clean but everything was shabby and peeling paint. Breakfast was limited to 2 small slices of white bread, marge and jam and tea / coffee with powder milk. You have to wash up your own things. The room was very noisy, next to busy road. The bar downstairs closed at 12 and was frequented by many cockroaches.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank towella69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Feels like home. Owner trusts the guests, so do the guests trust the owner.
Very clean. Toilets and rooms.
Free books (books exchange corner).
Free wifi.
Helpful staffs.
A fat cat to play with. She doesnt bite or scratch.
A place that i will miss.
Will definitely go back if were to visit kk again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaunccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I liked this place so much I stayed twice. My room was comfortable and the bathrooms were clean. They have an absolutely adorable house cat that visited with me. My bed was comfortable and the staff lady very friendly. The location was also excellent The only problem was with bedding. All they give you is a sheet. I know it's a hot country but its hard to get comfortable under a thin sheet. They need to get thin blankets for their guests. It would have made a big difference

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
748 reviews
0.6 mi away
PODs The Backpackers Home
PODs The Backpackers Home
#7 of 124 in Kota Kinabalu
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SKYPOD Hostel
SKYPOD Hostel
#1 of 124 in Kota Kinabalu
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masada Backpacker
Masada Backpacker
#2 of 124 in Kota Kinabalu
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#9 of 124 in Kota Kinabalu
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Backpackers

Address: No.24 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $19 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city; Borneo Backpackers has already attracted the attention of discerning travellers from around the world. Some guests have already made return visits, and many more have vowed to return. While guests originally come for the facilities on offer, such as clean bathroom, toilets, pantry area, internet facility, cozy lounge area, roof garden deck, 24 hours security, and a tour information counter. They return for the service from our friendly, helpful and knowledgeable local staff. Rooms are all air con, from Dorms to Private rooms. Rates begin at $7 USD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borneo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Borneo Backpackers Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing