We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cat Pee”
Review of Borneo Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borneo Backpackers
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cat Pee”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

PROS:
- Decent WiFi, though it goes off occasionally
- A/C works great.

CONS:

- Stayed 2 nights in two different bunks in the A/C mixed dorm. Both times the mattress/pillow/sheets smelled like old cat pee, unpleasant, to say the least.
- The "free breakfast" is somewhat of a joke: 2 slices of bread, jam, butter, tea or coffee.
- They promised me an airport pickup and left me there because my flight was delayed. Had to call them about it and they just told me I had to take a taxi there. Not very accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gibbogirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    80
    24
    17
    11
See reviews for
2
30
61
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed here for two days in the co-ed shared room and it was decent enough. I had a good time with my roommates. They have a good wi-fi connection. I like the "house" feel to it. I can read a book in the common area the entire day. Accessible to most places. The cafe downstairs is also nice.

The bedbug problems comes in any trip so it's OK. The free breakfast was OK: one bread, one cup of coffee. The staff was accommodating and friendly. The common bathroom is clean. The water from the showers were sufficient. The airconditioner was blasting cold we had to ask the reception lady to turn it down a bit.

This is a GOOD place if you're really into sharing a good time with new people.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manila-Citizen_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davao
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A cheap hotel with a good value for money. I like how fast they responded to email inquiries. The location is perfect. Accessible to most of the to-visit-places in Kota Kinabalu. It's like coming to home. They provide airport pick up. They don't provide excellent service but you know the feeling of being home - you are relax, you have a family, you have your own room with airconditioned but nothing too fancy. The toilet and bath is outside but it's clean and not crowded. There is free wi-fi though it was not working during our stay. And they offer free breakfast. But be ready. You have to prepare it yourself and you have to wash your own utensils after and that's something different. When I visit again the country, I might stay there still.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princess_aubrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hostel is full with bedbugs. I've stayed here 1 night but I've checked out as soon as possible in the morning. The staff is aware of the bug problem but keeps on checking people in. After complaining I've got my money back and they have washed some clothes.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marleen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed at Borneo backpackers after reading reviews on tripadvisor, following my instinct that when it's a 50-50 review, it could be good and i was right.
I had a lovely stay here I even bought their T-Shirt to wear it proudly later.
Well I could be bias coz I love the Borneo in general, but this place is relatively clean with friendly service, and value for money. What more can u ask for from a budget place?
I stayed in a female dorm for RM25 per night, it's wooden bed and comes with nice aircondition, and a locker inside the room with just RM5 refundable deposit.
I love all the details put inside the place, following borneo theme, even the mirror at the shared bath.
There's a rooftop mini garden where you can view somewhat blocked sunset but still, a nice place to chill and relax with your own drinks and away from the crowd.
They also provide a washing machine and a decent drying area for your laundry. Yeay!
the lounge area is nice and i always saw people hanging in there using their internet / wifi.
Toilet is dry and clean all the time, with hot water in the shower cubicle, and they also provide soap with a dispenser inside!
The location is very near to Gaya Street Market, literally can be seen from your window if you're facing the main street, and also walking distance to Jesselton Point where you take the boat to the islands. The hostel provides good security and there's a nice coffeshop down stairs that you might mistaken to be their reception area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I had a nice experience here and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They even let me keep my bags for the day when I hadn't been staying there on the way back from Sandakan and sent my postcards for me which was really nice! They have free wi-fi and basic breakfast available- plenty of showers and a nice hangout area. However, I did meet a girl who had stayed in the dorm that I was in a couple of days after me who had contracted bed bugs- I for some reason was really lucky as they had just sprayed apparently (although am still paranoid and put on a boil wash as soon as I got home!!!). They seemed to be under the impression that she had brought them in herself but one of the staff admitted that they were infected with bed bugs at some point in July already so this seems to be a case of a severe infestation. It seems to be difficult to get rid of them which is a real shame and not ideal for backpackers as they get in every crevice imaginable. I hope they sort this out soon as it's a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerdcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I really can`t understand the positive reviews. I booked for two nights and ended up leaving a Day earlier because there were plenty of BEDBUGS in my Room. There were also cockroaches in the common room and the kitchen. When I left, they were Kind enough To give me my money back for the night that I didn't spend there. However it seemed To me that they didn't care much about this. In fact I had the Impression that they already knew about the plague but they refuse to do anything about it since the travellers continue to come. I am a frequent traveller and have stayed in a Lot of low budget hostels but I have never Seen anything like that before.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#3 of 101 in Kota Kinabalu
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masada Backpacker
Masada Backpacker
#1 of 101 in Kota Kinabalu
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B@21
B&B@21
#4 of 101 in Kota Kinabalu
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Backpackers

Property: Borneo Backpackers
Address: No.24 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city; Borneo Backpackers has already attracted the attention of discerning travellers from around the world. Some guests have already made return visits, and many more have vowed to return. While guests originally come for the facilities on offer, such as clean bathroom, toilets, pantry area, internet facility, cozy lounge area, roof garden deck, 24 hours security, and a tour information counter. They return for the service from our friendly, helpful and knowledgeable local staff. Rooms are all air con, from Dorms to Private rooms. Rates begin at $7 USD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borneo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Borneo Backpackers Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing