We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
6
9
14
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
9
14
12
8
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 49 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We got pressured to take a 7pm bus, when we only got off our plane at 5:30pm. We arrived at 9, got quickly checked in. When we entered our room, 4 cockroaches appeared, including one that skittled across our bed, which had a very stained duvet. I was tired and horrified. I went to go to the front desk to get another room, or at least some bug spray, to find that they had locked up for the night. So we put up our mosquito net, just so I didn't worry about the cockroaches that were still under the bed (we only managed to catch one and fling it outside). The shower has low water pressure. The hallway carpets are gross.

The breakfast was good and a decent price. We did get told to wait on the side of the road for a minivan by the front desk to go to the mountain. We waited over half an hour, within sight of the front desk. I then asked them to call a taxi (which apparently costs the same) which showed up in 5 minutes.

We only stayed there because of the Lonely Planet and would NOT go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadianelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

You have to view things in context. Perhaps our room would not have been worth RM 84 if it was located on the backstreet of some mid-sized Malaysian city. But right there in front of our balcony was as fine a view of Mount Kinabalu as you likely to see anywhere. On the first morning there were no clouds and you could see the jagged stone peaks right against the sky. Even when it got cloudy and misty later on, the sight of the mist blowing across the mountain forest was also worth the price of admission.

The other thing to mention is how horribly over-priced so many tourist-oriented things are in Sabah. The state has some of the most expensive tours in all South-East Asia and with churlish inhospitality it charges foreigners five times local entrance fees. In this context, the Rose Cabin also looks like decent value. Go into the park (which is where Lonely Planet recommends you stay) and you can pay RM 100 for a dorm bed! And the cafes in there- just two kilometres away- were charging RM 25 for fried rice- four times the asking price at Rose Cabins. If you can bring yourself to walk a couple of kilometres to the park entrance, this makes a decent base, with extraordinary views, affordable food and rooms with all the basic amenities. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

My partner and I were very excited for our long awaited vacation to Malaysia and we kicked it off in Kota Kinabalu Park. We stayed at the Rose Cabin for 3 nights and it was an absolute pleasure. Even before we arrived, my correspondence with the Cabin was very warm and helpful. The rustic and cozy room was comfortable and the view from our balcony was breathtaking. The kitchen staff was very friendly and served delicious meals. I would recommend the Rose to solo travellers, partners and families. It's a welcoming place to make your stay in Borneo a little sweeter. Thanks, Rose!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pometraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

It is such a shame that this hotel has such sloppy cleanliness standards as the location is brilliant and the view of Mt Kinabalu from most rooms is unbelievable - but the blood marks/hair/stains on the bed sheets, trickling showers, dirty floor etc is a real disappointment. The restaurant food is pretty good and reasonable but our veges weren't washed properly - which was at least consistent with their general cleaning standards!
We weren't alone - we were part of a tour of 12 and all of us had grimy rooms. Also very noisy if you don't have considerate neighbours - some of our tour were woken early by guests in their adjoining room.
Overall - unfortunately I cannot recommend and hope you manage to find somewhere that takes a little more pride in it's offering.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

The room we had offered an excellent view towards Mt Kinabalu, but only in the morning as this would be the one and only time when the mountain is not entirely hidden behind clouds.
The room was priced RM 135 (without breakfast) but besides the nice view it was really not worth the money.
It was not clean at all and hair/dirt/dead insects etc were lying around.
The room does not have any aircon or fan in the room, it was completely clammy and also had a strange smell (which came especially from the blankets!) The towels were so old and thin that you could read a newspaper through them.
In total, I would definetly not recommend this place for a stay that goes beyond one night.
Even for this one night, you are probably better off to stay at one of the lodges within Kinabalu Park, as you get the same level but for a lower price.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bolli1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews