We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
6
9
14
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
9
14
12
8
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 49 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Not the same management apparently as when we stayed there last year during our climb up mount kinabalu.

1) Lady behind the counter needs a crash course in customer relations and to stop changing prices on travellers. On the phone, we were quoted one date. When we arrived, we were quoted RM35 more per person. We ended up having a 45 minute argument that didn't go anywhere because she refused to back down, knowing it was a long weekend holiday (labour day weekend holiday) and she could sell the rooms if we didn't want them.

2) Wanted to charge RM10 per person to store our bags whilst we climbed mount kinabalu which was I think silly. We ended up moving all our bags to kinabalu park headquarters and storing it there instead.

3) Rooms are run down and haven't been maintained. Needs some paint work and the beds need to be replaced. Everytime you turn, the entire bed creaks and you can hear it from one end of the hall to the other. Toilets need better cleaning techniques and more care.

4) Food: Noticed food prices have also shot up compared to last year. Tasty food fare but the prices by local motel standards is very pricey.

Wouldn't stay here again given there are many other options available now in the area. New management needs to attend some tourism courses and to stop trying to rip travellers off. Motels like these give Sabah a bad reputation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diving-Addiction00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We wanted to stay outside the park for cost reasons in the night before starting the Mount Kinabalu climb and we liked it there.
The views of the mountain was fabulous from the balcony and the bed was nice and comfy. However, you cant be fussy if you sleep there as we had a cockroach in the bathroom and the bathroom as such was quite dated.
We were happy to have stayed there and breakfast and dinner next door was fine too!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandS2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

As the title says, I think this accommodation is a good choice when heading for, or coming from the National Park. The location is a 20 minutes walk from the park entrance (dangerous road and driving behaviours, so watch out). The place itself is like a asian style motel including restaurant and meeting rooms. It felt a bit rundown, but in a charming way.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vloepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We've been there twice, before and after climbing the mountain. First, we had a clean but basic room ( RM 150 incl.American breakf.) OK for 1 night. When we came back, the owner gave us a cozy room, in the right part of the building for the same price. Of course,the hotel was empty, and that's the reason. Those cozy rooms have a nice balcony from where you can admire the mountain ... if the weather allowed it.... A nice deal to avoid the kind of rip-off inside the park.... but but but ...maybe if you've your own transport ( we rent a car in KK for the length of staying RM 140/day) ).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claudineBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

The room I stayed in was old and dated; the bed, sheets and all. In general, I had a very uncomfortable stay. The lady behind the counter when I checked in late in the afternoon seriously needs to take a course in customer service or something in hospitality (lol). However, a different lady the next morning was more professional in the job (also more easier on the eyes ahem). The only plus side to this place was the spectacular view of the mountain.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bondeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews