We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We stayed in the Le Meridien in February 2010. It's a bit old, but fine - clean, good service and great location. We were upgraded to a deluxe, which was huge! We had 2 TVs, a huge living room, 2 bathrooms. The best part of the upgrade was the club access - free buffet breakfast, cocktails & snacks in the club, which is located on the top floor and has a beautiful view of the ocean and islands. There is also a TV, small business center and lounge in the club.

It's a bit older than other Le Meridiens we've stayed at, but still nice and the low price made it a great value. Kota Kinabalu is pretty small so most things were within walking distance. As others have mentioned, the hotel is located across from one of the outdoor markets. The smell of the stalls and sea food market didn't bother us, and we found the location really good - short walk to the pier to catch a ferry to explore the nearby islands, and it was close to local restaurants and a mall.

The free wireless was nice and made it convenient for emails and other internet activities. The service was nice, everyone was polite and helpful with questions. The pool is a bit small and only gets sun in the afternoon, but that didn't bother us as we were more interested in the beaches on the nearby islands. There is also a small gym, which was convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zutaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,731 - 1,737 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2010

Stayed here for 6 nights and overall the hotel is very good. Food and drink are very reasonably priced and the service was great.

The location is superb, you're right in the middle of town with shopping centres literally opposite the hotel. There are also loads of restaurants, bars and markets right outside the door.

The only downside is that with the hotel so close to the market is that as soon as you step out you get a whiff of a mix of fish and durian fruit straight in your face which can be quite strong.

Depending on the wind you may also experience this by the pool which is a real shame.

The pool itself is nice though could do with more sunloungers as at busy times it does get quite crowded.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cakelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

The staff on the Club floor were excellent and could not do enough for their guests

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spurscore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

Hotel´s location is great smack in the middle of KK, we had a sea view room on the 10th floor, the view was very nice but one could here people in the next room, tv´s etc...noise level in this room was ok considering the main road is outside the hotel. Check in made zero recognition based on my gold Starwood card which did not bother me that much but the stench from the bathroom did. After the first night we asked for some help which came in the form of an "engineering chap" and his sidekick who flushed away the drains and then sprayed a load of cheap perfume to which my wife was allergic to. Worked a treat for 4 hours upon when the stench came back with a vengence.....Was supposed to stay a week, could only do 5 days (was prepaid) then went to the amazing Shangri La Tajung Aru....Chalk and Cheese....Concierge was a bit dodgy as well as the door opening staff doubled as concierge and we received a few recommendations that differed from person to person, location great and the pool/gym was fine (sun arrives at the front of pool from 1pm). Please LM cut down the tops of the tree´s in front of the pool so we can see the awesome views!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grubbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We stayed at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu in Feb 2010 for 6 nights and had an awsome time. It is very centrally located, in fact it is right across the central nigh market where you get all your fresh seafood barbeque dinners. We got a free upgrade to a delux room so it was nice as we have 2 pre-teens. The best thing about this hotel is the location, as it's only 5 mintues walk to the ferry pier which goes to the nearby islands which are absolutely beautiful. We spent a day on the Sapi island and had a walk along the trail with amazing tracks and enjoyed the tranquilness. There is a nice beach with lots of shaddy trees which was great considering the sun can get really hot there.

As another guest pointed out, this is not the Le Meridien you would normally experience, as it is a bit old after all. However it's got everything you would need. If you want to just lie by the pool and do nothing for a week, you'd better check into one of the Shangri La's in KK but they are not close to anything. If you want the convenience, LM would definitely be your top choice.

Food at LM is very reasonably priced because of the competition in the immediate neighbourhoos I guess. We ordered a few times the RM23 pizza (12 inch) which was amazing, when we needed a break between the seafood barbeque at the central market.

The free in room internet is also greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CommercialG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

The wife and I had just gotten married and with the money spent on a new house, the wedding, etc. We couldn't take a long holiday and decided to go somewhere nearby for 3-4 days. We decided on Kota Kinabalu and to indulge ourselves, we decided to stay at Le Meridien.
And it was perfect. Le Meridien had anticipated that we were there on our honeymoon and made arrangements to include some nice little surprise touches when we checked-in. We entered the room (#1033) which was very spacious, clean and very comfortable. A bouquet of flowers was waiting by the bedside, ready to greet my wife.
Already jumping with joy with the pleasant surprise, my wife started exploring the room and she let out a huge yelp when she entered the bathroom. They had covered the bathtub with rose petals. We felt really special and even though this was our "mini" honeymoon, it made this "mini" honeymoon really memorable.
The rest of our stay there was perfect. The hotel staff were all very polite and courteous, the room was made up perfectly. We also had a good time at the pool side enjoying the Pizza and Beer promotion.
We are planning to spend every anniversary with Le Meridien at Kota Kinabalu as we had a very good time there and will want to relive these memories in the years ahead.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank danmono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Had a great 4 nights at Le Meridien. Our family room was upgraded to a Deluxe harbourview, as no standards were left. A spacious room with great views of the pool, harbour and night market activity on the weekends.

Food at the breakfast buffet was great value and extensive choice; staff very friendly and helpful. Convenient to all shopping centres and amenities. (Even found a laundromat that washed, ironed and folded our laundry for RM6/kg, same day service!)

Will definitely be coming back to Le Meridien next trip

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank googsSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,507 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $114 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing