We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 days of pong” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 days of pong”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

Hotel´s location is great smack in the middle of KK, we had a sea view room on the 10th floor, the view was very nice but one could here people in the next room, tv´s etc...noise level in this room was ok considering the main road is outside the hotel. Check in made zero recognition based on my gold Starwood card which did not bother me that much but the stench from the bathroom did. After the first night we asked for some help which came in the form of an "engineering chap" and his sidekick who flushed away the drains and then sprayed a load of cheap perfume to which my wife was allergic to. Worked a treat for 4 hours upon when the stench came back with a vengence.....Was supposed to stay a week, could only do 5 days (was prepaid) then went to the amazing Shangri La Tajung Aru....Chalk and Cheese....Concierge was a bit dodgy as well as the door opening staff doubled as concierge and we received a few recommendations that differed from person to person, location great and the pool/gym was fine (sun arrives at the front of pool from 1pm). Please LM cut down the tops of the tree´s in front of the pool so we can see the awesome views!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grubbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    810
    213
    71
    30
See reviews for
383
750
114
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

We stayed at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu in Feb 2010 for 6 nights and had an awsome time. It is very centrally located, in fact it is right across the central nigh market where you get all your fresh seafood barbeque dinners. We got a free upgrade to a delux room so it was nice as we have 2 pre-teens. The best thing about this hotel is the location, as it's only 5 mintues walk to the ferry pier which goes to the nearby islands which are absolutely beautiful. We spent a day on the Sapi island and had a walk along the trail with amazing tracks and enjoyed the tranquilness. There is a nice beach with lots of shaddy trees which was great considering the sun can get really hot there.

As another guest pointed out, this is not the Le Meridien you would normally experience, as it is a bit old after all. However it's got everything you would need. If you want to just lie by the pool and do nothing for a week, you'd better check into one of the Shangri La's in KK but they are not close to anything. If you want the convenience, LM would definitely be your top choice.

Food at LM is very reasonably priced because of the competition in the immediate neighbourhoos I guess. We ordered a few times the RM23 pizza (12 inch) which was amazing, when we needed a break between the seafood barbeque at the central market.

The free in room internet is also greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CommercialG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

The wife and I had just gotten married and with the money spent on a new house, the wedding, etc. We couldn't take a long holiday and decided to go somewhere nearby for 3-4 days. We decided on Kota Kinabalu and to indulge ourselves, we decided to stay at Le Meridien.
And it was perfect. Le Meridien had anticipated that we were there on our honeymoon and made arrangements to include some nice little surprise touches when we checked-in. We entered the room (#1033) which was very spacious, clean and very comfortable. A bouquet of flowers was waiting by the bedside, ready to greet my wife.
Already jumping with joy with the pleasant surprise, my wife started exploring the room and she let out a huge yelp when she entered the bathroom. They had covered the bathtub with rose petals. We felt really special and even though this was our "mini" honeymoon, it made this "mini" honeymoon really memorable.
The rest of our stay there was perfect. The hotel staff were all very polite and courteous, the room was made up perfectly. We also had a good time at the pool side enjoying the Pizza and Beer promotion.
We are planning to spend every anniversary with Le Meridien at Kota Kinabalu as we had a very good time there and will want to relive these memories in the years ahead.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank danmono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

Had a great 4 nights at Le Meridien. Our family room was upgraded to a Deluxe harbourview, as no standards were left. A spacious room with great views of the pool, harbour and night market activity on the weekends.

Food at the breakfast buffet was great value and extensive choice; staff very friendly and helpful. Convenient to all shopping centres and amenities. (Even found a laundromat that washed, ironed and folded our laundry for RM6/kg, same day service!)

Will definitely be coming back to Le Meridien next trip

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank googsSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

Hotel was fabulously clean & centrally located. All of the staff spoke English well & housekeeping delivered my adaptor within 10 minutes & room service within 30 minutes. Breakfast buffet also was large & stocked with western & Asian foods. Bonus, they upgraded me to a suite because my travelling partnet cancelled at the last minute & I changed from a twin to one bed.

Only bad thing, opposite markets which smelled like sewerage crossed with fish. Worst smell in years. Also so much rubbish on the streets in the area.

Otherwise, located to so much shopping options & food, just don't walk to the water across the road, go down the street a little.

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank devildude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu (LMKK) may not be the most beautiful/luxurious hotel you stay in, but it definitly serves to renew, refresh and pamper you in the crazy town of Kota Kinabalu. Do I rate it as one of the finest hotels I stayed in? No. Are there bugging problems at this hotel? Quite a few. But Will I stay there again on my next trip to KK? Definitly.

For a start, rooms are the best part of LMKK. They are very spacious. Bathroom comes with a separate shower and ample amenities. Get the seaside room if you can, not only do you get a wonderful view of the sea and the islands in the distance (on a clear day), you also get to see the night market open at night bustling with tourists with smokes of bbq fish from all corners - too entertaining!

Which brings me to another strong point of LMKK - its location. You cannot get more central than this hotel. Within 1 km radius of the hotel are at least 100 eateries of all levels (Italian Wine & Dine to MYR 3 mee gorengs). Going to the nearby Islands? Walk 15 mins to the Jetty (saves you the hassling u hv to do with cab drivers who never use meters). Hungry for supper? The night market is at your doorstep. Need a new swimsuit? There are little flea markets all around the hotel. There is even a starbucks and McDonalds just around the corner. The only thing far off is Mt. Kinabalu but then you wouldn't want to stay near there anyway. Also, there is a new mega shopping mall about 30 mins away by car from the hotel (called 1Borneo Mall) the free shuttle bus for which leaves nearby the hotel every hour. If location is impt to you, stay here. There are simply no substitutes (Hyatt comes close).

The staff are generally quite friendly, but at mixed rates. Although most of them seem genuine, some do not seem adequately trained and leaves a little to be desired. Little things like doormen not holding doors open for you or pool bar staff forgetting your orders do get on your nerves but in all, nobody is arrogant or careless. They all wish to help and mistakes, if any, are genuine ones. I found them forgivable.

For those that like to splurge a little, the club lounge is one of the more spacious kind. There are magazines, a big tv and all day coffee with cocktail hours and breakfast. I had a major issue with one of the lounge staff who treated me worse than a nearby McDonalds clerk did, but upon raising it with management at the hotel was quickly resolved. Aside from this minor incident, the lounge was a great value with the view and the spread it provided. Sitting by the window during sunset to soak in the view with a warm cup of coffee is what KK was all about for me.

The pool is nice albeit a little small. There was a pizza promotion at the pool bar while I stayed there where I could choose any toppings for a large pizza for MYR 22 nett. So I swam on that lazy afternoon, ate hot fresh pizza and sat under the sun reading my fav magazines with a pina colada. Once again, holiday perfected.

Ambiance wise (for those that consider this an impt element), do not expect the polished sense of aesthetics from your LM Bangkok or LM Shanghai. The hotel is old. It is still somewhat trying to keep up with the brand-wide LM100 by putting sounds in elevators and putting scented candles in the lobby in the evening, but it just isn't the same.

So in all, in my opinion, this hotel has no competition with regards to location, service, amenities although it still leaves tad to be desired. Stay here for a great relaxing holiday, on top of all that KK has to offer.

NB. make sure you shop around for your BBQ dinner at the night market. All you need to do is to point at what you want to eat on the grill and ask "how much". After they quote you a price, go off to the next shop and ask again. The fish I had was 3 MYR + rice and drink turned out to be about MYR 7 in total… unless you want more exotic seafood like tiger prawns where it can go up to MYR 25 per prawn!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaejaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

We enjoyed our time here, its directly across the street from the unmissable night market! Room was good, my husband appreciated the flat screed tv. Pool was beautiful and great to spend a day by relaxing. Gym is great with the cardio equipment overlooking the water and the night market - we liked running around 5pm and watching the night market being set up :)
Highly recommeded, you can walk everywhere from here and its a lovely place to come back to after a day out.
NB: use the internet at the shopping centre across the road not the expensive inhouse internet.
Breakfast was great too...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PUMPKIN78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#8 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu embraces the aesthetic and eclectic beauty of Sabah while showcasing superb views of the city, Mount Kinabalu, and the South China Sea. Located in downtown Kota Kinabalu, and within easy walking distance of local attractions, the commercial district, and retail and entertainment facilities, the hotel provides easy access to some of Malaysia’s finest beaches and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing