We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Convenience”
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Stayed here in Jan 2009 on a business trip. As usual for Le Meridien hotels, the rooms were clean and looks new. The hotel is located near many shops. The hotel is opposite to the fruits and fish market. At nite, stalls selling BBQ seafood are available for the adventurous traveller. Its just 15 minutes from the airport and centrally located.

  • Liked — Near to many shops and market
  • Disliked — a bit pricey but expected for quality
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aimantakkisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    843
    218
    71
    30
See reviews for
411
783
121
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2009

This hotel had good Trip Advisor reviews, and until check out time no problems. When I checked the invoice I found the room service and bar fridge items all grossly overcharged. The desk clerk rang up hospitality and said the numbers were correct. I had to go up to my room, get the menu and prove to her that the charges were way over. She then accepted. The internet connection in the business centre was bad too, one terminal did not work at all after messing around for 5 minutes, the other had hiccups. They took that off the bill too. Not 5-star quality.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Overcharging room service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CobraPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

I chose this hotel over Hyatt even though it was more expensive as it's newer & the hotel location is better.
The hotel is near the shopping mall, eateries & a night market.

I stayed at the executive club floor & the service was impeccable. Mark was very outstanding. Thank you Mark, for your warm & friendly service. The staff were thoughtful & attentive. Even the staff at the lobby were pleasant & polite.

The rooms are spacious & very clean. The toilet was big & well-stocked with toiletries.The view in the room was lovely as it faced the sea.


I enjoyed my stay at the hotel & in no way did the hotel seem like a Cat 1 Starwood hotel. I really enjoyed my stay at Le Meridien very much =)

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Elephy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2008

I stayed at the Le Meridien and it is the best place to stay if you want to be in a central place. The Le Meridien is directly opposite the waterfront where all the famous restaurants are and clubs. Across the road are the Philipino night markets where you can buy local food including a wide variety of seafood for a minimal price. A decent meal at the markets should cost no more than 10 RM.

The service at the Le Meridien is superb. I have stayed in other hotels in KK and the Le Meridien has been the best so far. The staff are friendly and are always willing to assist you. The rooms are very comfortable and are very large. My advice is to try not to get rooms on the side where the club is because you will hear the music until about 2am.

Overall this is a great place to stay.

  • Liked — The staff make you feel welcome and are always willing to assist.
  • Disliked — Probably staying in a room which was above the club La Rumba
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank borneotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2008

We were in Kota Kinabalu for a trade show at 1Borneo and decided to spend extra time in Sabah. Le Meridien look a good place to stay and it was. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble, most guests were only there for a couple of nights but we stayed for 11 nights in total and so made friends with quite a number of them.
Our room was on the front of the hotel with views over the harbour and the islands, the sunsets are spectacular from here. The bathroom was a joy, spacious and well appointed with a separate walk in shower and the bedroom was also extremely comfortable.
Breakfast was of a very high standard with a good choice of food on the international buffet.
If you are looking to visit Sabah Kota Kinabalu is a good centre, you can fly over to Sepilok to see the Orang Utans or take a small boat to the islands for swimming and snorkeling, Le Meridien is close to lots of restaurants of all prices from market stalls selling freshly cooked seafood to the more upmarket ones along the boardwalk.
An excellent hotel in a fabulous location.

  • Liked — The feeling of comforable security
  • Disliked — The pool area is quite small with limited sun loungers
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Grumpylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2008

We stayed at this hotel from 28.11.08 to 01.12.08. Very helpful and friendly staff. Lovely room and great location, opposite the night market and good for the ferries to the islands.

We had breakfast on all 3 days and ate in the hotel restaurant on 2 evenings for something special. There was an excellent choice of food at this buffet and nice for a special treat.

The room was big with nice facilities. We got a decent rate and I would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dartmoorduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

We picked the hotel after reading all the good reviews from this website. We arrived at the hotel by car but nobody was there to greet us or helped us with our luggages. So we had to drag our bags to the reception and it seemed that nobody was there to monitor the arrival or departure of people from the main entrance.

The room was huge, no complaint there. Even the lift lobby area on each floor was big. The LCD tv was adequate although not so many channels to choose from. We requested for a twin beds and the bed didnt disspoint us. The bed was big enough to accomodate 2 persons. Nothing special about the furnishings, similar to any other hotels that we've been in. The room was adequately equipped with all the amenities you ever need in your day to day living. The bathroom is also larger from average.

If you are a city person and love shopping, this is the place you should be. Shopping areas are around the hotel so you dont need to worry about where to shop, and its even within walking distance which is a big bonus. If you are into handicraft then the local philippines market is just in front of the hotel. There are also small markets selling local delicacies if you care to test them. Nearby the hotel is a fish market, and on certain time, you can smell the fish ordour when you stand outside the lobby. You may not like the smell, i know i dont, but luckily the smell didnt go into the hotel.

I think the hotel has some problems with the walls, whether its too thin or other guests are just too loud. We could hear footsteps and in the morning we can hear people took their showers from the next room. And the door banged every time we closed it.

Its a good hotel overall, the location was good and the breakfast was excellent. So many and well balanced choices. But they need to work more on the staff attitute and helpfulness.

  • Liked — The locations
  • Disliked — The smell from the fish market.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemongrass08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,445 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing