We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart, Very lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Right in the heart, Very lovely Hotel”
Reviewed October 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our way home from a diving trip on Sipidan-Kapalai. We choose this hotel on location and were thrilled. It's 1st class in every way and the location was exactly what we wanted. Right in the heart of KK, directly across from the food market, right beside the night market and the main shopping centre was directly behind the hotel. We were busy shopping and had just come from an island resort so didn't even take a look at the pool or around facilities, but our room was wonderful and the breakfast was fabulous. Highly recommend this place to those who like to be in town center - yet it was very quiet, beds were large and cosy, we slept like babes. Make sure you check out the Pearl market, directly across the road beside food market - the pearls in KK are gorgeous and plentiful - every colour, size, length, shape you can image - a perfect place to shop for all the ladies in your life - however find out what they like in pearls before you go - the variety is so huge you won't know where to start unless you know about pearls - we didn't (also check prices in your country so you know what you want to pay ). We will certainly go back to this hotel if in KK again.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location - Very stylish
  • Disliked — Couldn't fault it.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    842
    218
    71
    30
See reviews for
409
781
121
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

The Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu is in a fantastic location in the heart of KK, opposite the central and fish markets and surrounded by the night market. The hotel itself is of very high quality, with the rooms being very plush and good sized and the swimming pool complex having an amazing view of the sea and sunset. There were a few small teething issues whilst we stayed (no hot water for a couple of hours one evening, the reservation/billing system going down on the final morning) but these were solved quickly and well dealt with by the front desk staff.

I would definiely recommend staying at Le Meridien, mainly for the location.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Anon_Brit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

One of the latest addition of hotels in KK. Great place which is closed to the Philipines Market, Fish Market, Seafood Restaurant and Malls. Stayed there three times. Looking forward to stay there again.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgtenn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Just back from KK and Le Meridien was fantastic, booked deluxe room and upgraded to Club Room on 22nd floor. The view was incredible and the room was huge. Great Service, central to everything. Nothing was too much trouble for staff who were alway pleasant with a smile.

  • Liked — the views of harbour and markets and size of room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozsuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

We stayed here on recommendation of a friend (thanks Velvet_Escape!) and we are happy that we did. It has the best location as you are smack dab in the center of town---within walking distance to fantastic seafood restaurants (try Ocean and Portview restaurant), shopping malls, the open air Filipino market, crafts market and night market. We did go out to the beautiful Shangri-La hotel to visit the orangutan sanctuary and we were happy that we did not stay there as it's quite a drive away. If you prefer a city holiday over a beach holiday, this is a good choice.

Our room was spacious and comfortable and we had a fantstic view overlooking the harbor and the Filipino market. The breakfast buffet was also very good with lots of choice. Service was attentive throughout the hotel.

We had a lovely weekend in KK exploring the city, visiting one of the beautiful beaches and eating delicious seafood.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mambostyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Hi,

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in an Ocean View Club room.

The room was extremely spacious, clean, quiet and the view of the South China sea and islands was just amazing!

The club lounge was very good value and much quieter for breakfast than the main restaurant, we were pleasantly surprised to find that we could (if we wanted) have breakfast in either restaurant with no additional charge.

Staff were in general helpful and friendly and the hotel is in a great location. We did some great trips around KK using the local taxis.

If we ever return to Kk we would use this hotel again and would not hesitate to recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SLBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

The service at the Le Meridien was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. My party of 6 arrived at about 8:30am and we left our 10 bags in the care of Le Meridien and our valuables in their safe while we went to the Sunday market in Gaya Street. On our return in the early afternoon our three rooms were ready for us.

The next morning we left for a seven day tour in Sabbah and Le Meridien happily kept four bags for us {including one of fragile items} as well as valuables in a safe deposit box.

on our return to le Meridien all bags were delivered to our new rooms with little fuss.

Upon check-in second time round I handed them four of our 6 key cards from our first stay. This was so not a problem that it was not even commented on.

The buffet breakfast is the best I have ever seen. There was a vast range of choices, catering to most cultures and with half a dozen chefs cooking to order.

The one very small issue I had {which amused my children} is the hotel has its lifts at one end of the hotel rather than in the middle as is common. This meant that if your room was not sea facing and was on the south side you had a little walk to your room. Not a problem, although if you have a mobility issue you should ask for the north facing rooms which are right next to the lifts. My problem was that the corridors looked exactly alike and I kept going the wrong way between my room and the lifts.

The location of this hotel is the best of all the hotels in KK. It is across the road from the handicraft market {Philipino market} and a number of restaurants on the water front, including Port View Seafoods. Centrepoint mall is next door on the souithside {1 block back} and KK mall is a few minutes walk north of the hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — musty smell on 5th floor
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kaasee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,443 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing