We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Club lounge with great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Club lounge with great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent 4D3N at Le Meridien during our recent visit to KK. Stayed at club floor and was given a sea facing corner room. (we are SPG Gold member) Room was spacious and clean, with all the necessary amenities provided.

The best thing is the Club Lounge. It's located at 12th floor, facing beautiful South China Sea. Each day I look forward having breakfast and drinks here. The view is just magnificent. And of course, their cheese cake too!

Staffs here were attentive and greet us with smile whenever they see us.

The location is good, walking distance to major attractions and shopping centres in KK.

The only improvement required is maintenance. The toilet in our room wasn't properly maintained (see pic) and this certainly will affect the 5-star rating of the hotel.

Overall we were satisfied and could recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a corner sea facing room in club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chang24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello Chang24,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and to call out the Club Lounge view and facilities from the 12th floor (and the cheesecake). I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, specially as an SPG gold member.

Thank you for your comment on the toilet that needs maintenance, this is easily fixed and should of been done during your stay. Please when you are here the next time contact the solutions center (by pressing the Service button) or let anyone of our team know, this was we are able to follow-up whilst you are in the hotel.

Please visit us again soon in KK.

Warm regards,

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    815
    216
    71
    30
See reviews for
386
757
114
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good location although the pool is not usable due to a strong seafood (not fresh) smell from the market on the street.
Bathroom fittings are aged with a leaking shower that dangerously flooded the floor
Service really poor : the extra bed booked online was not delivered in the room - Reception staff has no initiative or commercial sense.
Breakfast not included in the room neither the internet access (additionnal charges)
This hotel is not good value for money but given the look of other hotels in KK, it is still probably the savest choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaudLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello MaudLN,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Thank you for highlighting your feedback on our reception staff, this is certainly something that we can improve on in addition to the bathroom fittings in your room.

We do have a variety of packages available that include breakfast, tour options, interest etc, apologies that you were not aware of this prior to your stay and making a reservation.

We do have some incidents of the seafood smells from the fresh food market opposite the hotel, though this is normally for a short period only and depending on the direction of the wind. Apologies that this inconvenienced you during your stay.

I can only offer my sincerest apologies that you did not find the hotel good value for money or enjoyed your stay. I do hope that this did not impact on your overall impression of Sabah as a destination.

Warm regards,

Fiona Hagan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a great hotel. Just the best staff we have ever had on any holiday, excellent restaurants.
Accommodation first class.
Sam was just the best .Cannot remember his real name, but he said call him Sam.
If visiting kota Kinabalu totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms over looking the South China Seas are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello Des,

Thank you so much, I am thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and your stay

Please come back again and visit us soon.

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Le Meridian. The staff were outstanding and within a day were greeting us by name, the service was always good. We upgraded to a suite and as we were staying a few nights, found the extra space very nice. We also stayed here for one night before going on a tour of Sabah, we were able to store our excess luggage here until our return, also on check out had full use of the pool area until we needed to leave for the airport (4 hours). I would highly recommend an upgrade to a club room or a suite, as the club lounge is great value, the food and drinks available are of a high quality and the view from the club lounge is lovely, especially at sunset. Great location, just across the road to the night makets and within walking distance to all city attractions.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a club room, or ask for a ocean view room, the view is great and I loved watching the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hello Anne,

Thank you so much for your tip for others to consider when reserving a room at the Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu. You are right, we do have fabulous views of the sea and a favourtie of many of our guests it the club lounge to watch the Sunsets

I do hope that you choose to come back to Sabah again in the near future.

Many thanks,
Fiona Hagan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed there to get our Open Water scuba diving certification. It's highly recommended to get an ocean-facing room, which takes in a good view of KK's water front and the pasar. The location is good, as it is a walking distance from well-known eateries and a short ride to the jetty. The service was also satisfactory.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dionysus38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

As others have said, the lobby has the wow factor and looks very grand, however the rooms do not match this.

I was annoyed at check in. I arrived at 14.30 and was told a room wouldn't be available for another 1 hour 45 minutes and would I go to the lounge. I wasn't impressed by this. Check in starts from 15.00 and rooms should be available from then. I went to the lounge and luckily the lady at reception there was able to ensure my room was cleaned next and so was ready and 15.15. The room itself is ok, but the furniture just needs upgrading. Everything is old and chipped. There were also a lot of ants in the bedroom. I did like that they provide a decent hairdryer, however I wish they had a mirror over the desk so that you could sit comfortably while styling it.

The lounge on the 12th floor is nice and the snacks provided are yummy. I would definitely recommend paying for the upgrade. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and all tasted nice.

We ordered room service one night and the food was very good and the service prompt.

Wifi signal was good throughout our stay and free with the club room.

The location is definitely the best thing about this hotel. There are great places to eat and shop all within very easy walking distance.

The pool area is also really nice and although quite small, both days I was able to get a lounger (with some still spare) and the service was great.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a club room on the 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hello Hannah,

Thank you for your very constructive feedback in regards to your hotel stay. Thank you you for mentioning the services and food in the Club lounge, this is a wonderful place in the hotel to enjoy Kota Kinabalu.

I do hope that you will stay with us if you choose to visit Sabah again in the future.

Many thanks,

Fiona Hagan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
158 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great hotel with a very good location .The staff are efficient and courteous and very helpful
I was given an ocean view room at the executive lounge floor,it was very spacious and full of light
The furniture are of wood and the bed and linen are of high thread count,very comfy bed
The breakfast at the lounge and snacks which are served are of good quality and with good varieties .The spa was great,I did facial and I was very happy with the results and the price is good
The value of the hotel is very good.The location is a bonus just cross the road on the ocean side
And there is a big market selling all kinds of fruits and fish and spices,the market is very busy at night pass midnight and just a stroll there are plenty of nice seafood restaurants and clubs and pubs.Besides the hotel on one side there is a big shopping centre and on other side there are a
Lot of local shops selling from dried seafood ,clothes,trinkets and fruits too.
I fully recommend this hotel and I am planning to go back and stay at the same place

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view room and go for executive floor Ask for ocean view room and go for executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilmiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you Hilmiya for the very warm and enthusiastic review from your recent stay!

I can see that you are someone that likes to discover destinations, you have captured the essence of the market opposite the hotel and local area around the hotel and I am sure many others will read your review and want to discover the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to KK when you are ready to explore again.

Warm regards,
Fiona Hagan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu embraces the aesthetic and eclectic beauty of Sabah while showcasing superb views of the city, Mount Kinabalu, and the South China Sea. Located in downtown Kota Kinabalu, and within easy walking distance of local attractions, the commercial district, and retail and entertainment facilities, the hotel provides easy access to some of Malaysia’s finest beaches and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing