We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chains that bind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
hong kong
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“chains that bind”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The 5-star property's few serious failings are attributable to its Starwood chain association, whose US marketing HQ seems to insist on too many faulty policies.
1. "Classical Seaview" as a bedroom description is close to fraudulent.
2. The hotel's reservation voucher includes a confusing template image and words that indicate that the hotel's "Signature Breakfast" is included in the room rate. The non-supply of breakfast is not clearly spelled out, and is apparently a standard format for the whole chain. It needs re-design and re-writing.
3. An extra charge in a 5-star hotel for in-room internet service is a common rip-off (USD12 here per night) that should be campaigned against in TripAdvisor.
4. Forcing guests to receive wifi email in the hotel lobby is also not acceptable any more in a top-rated hotel. The world is switching to mobile phones and international hotel chains should be ready to service the world.
5. Forced implementation of chain HQ vanity trip concepts is a frequent chain problem: here, the unintentionally comic self-advertisement for the elevator music, supposedly curated by an unknown trendy person in the USA, is worth reading on the elevator doorway if one wants to wake up and laugh out loud on the way to breakfast.

The hotel's housekeeping, pool/gym and F&B standards - and the front-of-house personnel - are very good, above average, and make the hotel highly recommendable. Starwood could make it

Room Tip: Do not waste extra money on the so-called "Classical Seaview" rooms. They are on the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear barry f,
We have heard what you have said and other guests in the past and wil be renaming our rooms to better reflect the actual view from the room. We are in the stages of renaming the "Classic Seaview" to Deluxe room, and will change the marketing text to reflect a partial sea/city view only. For those wanting a sea view room, the best room is a Deluxe Sea View room looking staight out to the horizon!. I take note on your points related to the costs of the wifi and in house music, this is something that we will contiune to evaluate as we receive customer feedback.

I am pleased you found the staff and front of house services above average, your feedback will continue to encourage them. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back to KK soon!

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    831
    217
    71
    30
See reviews for
397
770
117
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Our room was perfect, relaxing, and we had a great view. The restaurant has great food, and a place to get drinks at night. The hotel is near many markets and places to shop. Also, we booked using the hotel's website and saved about $30.

Also, if you want to travel around Sabah, use the tour guide service in the lobby! We had a small van and private tour guide for each trip. The first day it was only the two of us, we hiked Mt. Kinabalu (wonderful tour). The second day we went on the Klias River Cruise and saw 3 species of monkey, well worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with a sea view - worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here before going to the Gayana Eco Resort (see my other review) and found this hotel to be excellent value and very comfortable.
It's in a good location, just across from the night market and with a great view across the bay, especially when lounging in the Executive bar at sunset enjoying the free drinks and canapes (upgrade to Club - you won't regret it).
Yes it is a little old and the decoration shows it but that really doesn't impinge on the comfort and warmth that you'll have when staying here. The staff are helpful, the breakfast choice is amazing, the beds and rooms very comfortable and the outdoor swimming pool (in the summer) is deliciously refreshing.
In the evenings the smell from the night market does drift around the lobby but the best thing to do it visit the market itself and eat dinner at the open-air, bench style restaurants to have spicy, Thai style fresh fish - mouth wateringly good!

Room Tip: Choose the Club rooms - the free drinks and canapes at sunset in the Executive lounge bar is an expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenglander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed four nights at Le Meridien. First impression of that hotel is that it is old and feel old (can smell the old moisture everywhere in the hotel). But before dismissing this hotel as being old and looking for other options, it is important to put that in the perspective of Kota Kinabalu: every hotel there is old, so it does not really matter. On the positive side, rooms are clean, service is excellent, location is great, and they have sufficient F&B options. In summary, what you get there is what you would expect from Le Meridien brand (except the old age of the hotel!). With the good room deals you get there, putting everything in perspective, I believe that this is good value for money. P.S: there is a Starbucks just next door, for those you need their Starbucks fix!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Patrick0629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is very well located across the street from the bay and overlooking the night market. Our room was very spacious with an excellent bed (most important). The breakfasts were excellent and other bars and restaurants very good. Thew view of sunset from the pool floor is fantastic. We found staff here incredibly helpful and the example was set by very senior management who were very hands on. Our only negative would be that our room (the only one we can comment on) was in need of some work. Overall we would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Pay for and/or ask for a water view room - they are really worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoroniaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The location is very strategic as it is situated in the middle of all the best attractions in town.
However, the lobby can become very smelly as the wind is blowing all the smell from the market opposite of the hotel into the air conditioning system of this hotel.

The room is a bit old and housekeeping can be better.
The food at the restaurant is nice.
The internet connection is terrible. It is very slow and unreliable.

You will still need to stay here because you will find it hard to get a better hotel than this in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammad_Mustapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed here on a girls holiday to Kota Kinabalu. We were not disappointed by this hotel. The rooms were excellent with huge, comfortable beds and big bathrooms. There is an excellent bar that does wonderful cocktails and has great staff. The hotel helped us to book excursions around the area and the staff were very helpful. There is a good gym and quite a nice pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AT144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,395 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
654 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing