We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel right in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel right in town”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hotel is at one end of the town and very close to centerpoint shopping mall, short cut to the mall and shops is via the back of the hotel from the LG floor. The mall also has quite a number of stores, food court, various cafes, restaurants all offer reasonable prices, food court food being the cheapest. There are also a number of local cafes nearby which we also tried which aren't too bad either. Breakfast at the hotel is very good, and we found the service from everyone at the hotel to be excellent. Pool is of a good size and never crowded, the seafood/market smell across the road can some time be a bit overpowering. Room is quite big in size, a twin bedded room can easily accommodate a family of 2 adults + 2 kids. One tip is to have a seaview room, we were lucky enough to be upgraded from city view to sea view. The sunset view is quite spectacular. Another tip is to request a room that does not have an interconnecting door to another room, sound proofing is quite poor. We did find a bit annoying hearing noisy kids and TV from the room next door in one of the night ( we stayed for 5 nights). Laundry can be done at a store at a lane way/mall right opposite the back of the hotel. It is roughly 15 or so shops down the lane/mall where the gold shop is. Costs is roughly 4-5 RM per KG, wash and folded and free delivery back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Seaview, non-interconnecting
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadCowAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    838
    218
    71
    30
See reviews for
407
779
118
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
alberta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

When booking this hotel we highly recommend that you upgrade to a club room. This provides you with and Ocean and market view as well as access to club room which provides breakfast, drinks and light meals. If pedicures are you thing indulge in one at the spa across the street from the hotel to the left. This experience was wonderful. I'm sure my feet were at least a 1/2 a size smaller after the treatment ... and only $12. We hired a guide with a car and saw and did some amazing things.

Room Tip: Upgrade to club room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbums00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I upgraded to a club seaview room on arrival for RM80 extra, which included an excellent breakfast, and free internet in the room.

The rooms are quite dated, and really need a thorough clean and refresh, if not an overhaul. The bathtaps were so badly designed that they didn't reach all the way over the bath, and poured water onto my feet the first time I ran a bath. The enamel is chipping off the bath. The shower was a bit mouldy, and didn't have very high pressure. The toiletries were a bit patchy - no shampoo, and two shower gels on the first day.

The internet is extremely slow when compared to similar hotels in KK.

The location is a bit of a walk from Gaya Street, although very good for the Waterfront.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyenyedzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear nyenyedzi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel from your recent stay. Whilst we are not able to currently change the rooms, we do have a high standard of cleanliness and consistency that we practice within our Housekeeping department which was clearly not met on this occassion. I have shared your feedback with our team and we will ensure we take action on this.

Mnay thnaks,

Fiona Hagan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

A excellent hotel, great location and right down town.....breakfast excellent and service friendly from check in to check out. Try to get a front facing room for the great views in the morning.concierge were very efficient in arranging cars and tours...

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSeasonedTravelBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights on 31 Mar and 1 Apr in a double bed room with a baby of 18m old. Overall, the hotel provide very good service in a nice environment at the heart of the city and with an excellent value for money.
The room is spacious, clean but may need some renovation.
The breakfast is of quality with a lot of choices. The service is good but just standard. We once left a baby spoon on the table, we managed to get it back after two reminders.
Most of the staff at check in are nice except for the one who served us (with a chewing gum in his mouth and no smile).
Taking into account the price vs. value, this hotel can be a good choice anyway.

Room Tip: high floor street view is good enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed 6 nights in March 2013 as part of a fly/stay package purchased thru an agent in Perth, Australia.
The hotel is in a great location - right on the waterfront with fabulous views overlooking the ocean and offshore islands.
The hotel is perhaps showing its age a bit - but apart from the somewhat dated decor in the rooms and some minor repairs and maintenance matters this was not a problem. In our room the shower did not turn off properly when we first used it, the light in the wardrobe did not work and there was no clock in the room. We reported all these things to reception and they were all fixed very promptly.
The rooms are large - so there is a feeling of spaciousness rather than being cramped in.
As part of the package we were on, we were initially booked into a city view room but upon arrival we asked if we could upgrade to a sea view room. This was done with no hassle and we didnt think the extra cost (RM58 per night) was at all unreasonable and were happy with it. In truth, the views from the room , especially the sunsets , were well worth the cost. We would recommend that anyone staying for more than a night or 2 seriously consider upgrading to a sea view room.
The staff at the hotel are fabulous - its one of the real plus features of this hotel. We have stayed at the Le Meridien in Kuala Lumpur on two previous occasions and whilst that is also a really good hotel, the difference in staff attitude is quite noticeable. In KL everything runs smoothly but you are treated as a "customer". In Kota Kinabalu, the most noticeable difference is the warmth of the interactions with the staff - you really do feel like a "guest". If that makes sense!
All in all we have nothing bad to say about this hotel. It added greatly to the enjoyment of our little holiday and was a great and convenient base for getting around and seeing the sights of the town and the countryside. We will definitely go back to Kota Kinabalu again - its a lovely town. And we will definitely stay at Le Meridien again. The only reason we haven't given a 5-star rating is because of the minor room maintenance issues.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room - the views are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucebirding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Well this was my first trip overseas for a long time.
And was a little worried.
But that soon went when we arrived at the Le Meridien in Kota Kinabalu.
The staff for check in were helpful and pleasant.
Our room was on the 8th floor ocean side and we had a bay window the view was breath taking.
We could not have been any happier. the room was clean and large we had connecting room with our friends so we could mingle with them and have drinks and nibbles in our room watching the sunset.

We ate in the Circle restaurant and Rodney and all his staff where just terrific. They would do anything they could to make your meal the best. Breakfast in the mornings was great.
We also ate at the Flames Restaurant fantastic meal and service.
Overall the who experience at this hotel and location opposite the markets and right in the middle of the city for shopping and restaurants, markets day and night. Also the Booking of trips at the tourist desk was so easy and the girls help in anyway they could.
We enjoyed they pool area and was invited to a cocktail party to meet the the staff and management this was great.
I would recommend the Le Meridien to anyone but have a ocean view room they are the best.
Thanks to all For making our stay fantastic. We will be back.

Room Tip: Any thing from the 8th floor and ocean view room. be a where they do have smoking floors so make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARGARET H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Margaret,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!
Firstly, that’s great news that you have enjoyed your holiday in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah overall. Thank you and great review! We’re glad that you have enjoyed the ocean view as you should and sunsets especially.
We hope to see you and your loved ones soon enough, and maybe you can try more of our facilities and outlets next time.
Thank you and have a lovely week ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,417 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing