We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Macau, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

A excellent hotel, great location and right down town.....breakfast excellent and service friendly from check in to check out. Try to get a front facing room for the great views in the morning.concierge were very efficient in arranging cars and tours...

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSeasonedTravelBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    809
    213
    71
    30
See reviews for
383
747
113
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights on 31 Mar and 1 Apr in a double bed room with a baby of 18m old. Overall, the hotel provide very good service in a nice environment at the heart of the city and with an excellent value for money.
The room is spacious, clean but may need some renovation.
The breakfast is of quality with a lot of choices. The service is good but just standard. We once left a baby spoon on the table, we managed to get it back after two reminders.
Most of the staff at check in are nice except for the one who served us (with a chewing gum in his mouth and no smile).
Taking into account the price vs. value, this hotel can be a good choice anyway.

Room Tip: high floor street view is good enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed 6 nights in March 2013 as part of a fly/stay package purchased thru an agent in Perth, Australia.
The hotel is in a great location - right on the waterfront with fabulous views overlooking the ocean and offshore islands.
The hotel is perhaps showing its age a bit - but apart from the somewhat dated decor in the rooms and some minor repairs and maintenance matters this was not a problem. In our room the shower did not turn off properly when we first used it, the light in the wardrobe did not work and there was no clock in the room. We reported all these things to reception and they were all fixed very promptly.
The rooms are large - so there is a feeling of spaciousness rather than being cramped in.
As part of the package we were on, we were initially booked into a city view room but upon arrival we asked if we could upgrade to a sea view room. This was done with no hassle and we didnt think the extra cost (RM58 per night) was at all unreasonable and were happy with it. In truth, the views from the room , especially the sunsets , were well worth the cost. We would recommend that anyone staying for more than a night or 2 seriously consider upgrading to a sea view room.
The staff at the hotel are fabulous - its one of the real plus features of this hotel. We have stayed at the Le Meridien in Kuala Lumpur on two previous occasions and whilst that is also a really good hotel, the difference in staff attitude is quite noticeable. In KL everything runs smoothly but you are treated as a "customer". In Kota Kinabalu, the most noticeable difference is the warmth of the interactions with the staff - you really do feel like a "guest". If that makes sense!
All in all we have nothing bad to say about this hotel. It added greatly to the enjoyment of our little holiday and was a great and convenient base for getting around and seeing the sights of the town and the countryside. We will definitely go back to Kota Kinabalu again - its a lovely town. And we will definitely stay at Le Meridien again. The only reason we haven't given a 5-star rating is because of the minor room maintenance issues.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room - the views are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brucebirding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Well this was my first trip overseas for a long time.
And was a little worried.
But that soon went when we arrived at the Le Meridien in Kota Kinabalu.
The staff for check in were helpful and pleasant.
Our room was on the 8th floor ocean side and we had a bay window the view was breath taking.
We could not have been any happier. the room was clean and large we had connecting room with our friends so we could mingle with them and have drinks and nibbles in our room watching the sunset.

We ate in the Circle restaurant and Rodney and all his staff where just terrific. They would do anything they could to make your meal the best. Breakfast in the mornings was great.
We also ate at the Flames Restaurant fantastic meal and service.
Overall the who experience at this hotel and location opposite the markets and right in the middle of the city for shopping and restaurants, markets day and night. Also the Booking of trips at the tourist desk was so easy and the girls help in anyway they could.
We enjoyed they pool area and was invited to a cocktail party to meet the the staff and management this was great.
I would recommend the Le Meridien to anyone but have a ocean view room they are the best.
Thanks to all For making our stay fantastic. We will be back.

Room Tip: Any thing from the 8th floor and ocean view room. be a where they do have smoking floors so make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARGARET H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Margaret,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!
Firstly, that’s great news that you have enjoyed your holiday in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah overall. Thank you and great review! We’re glad that you have enjoyed the ocean view as you should and sunsets especially.
We hope to see you and your loved ones soon enough, and maybe you can try more of our facilities and outlets next time.
Thank you and have a lovely week ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Only spent 2 nights here to have some relaxation after 3 weeks of travelling. Definitely chose the right hotel. Large bedrooms, even though only had a standard double. On check in we paid extra to use the Club Lounge on 12th floor that gave you complimentary drinks and snacks from 5pm-7pm. Fantastic views of the harbour, all drinks of choice were possible and canape style food was very filling. One of the staff in the Lounge, Asmah, was so helpful you couldn't have asked for better service.
There was an unbelievable choice for breakfast that no-one could go away still hungry.
All staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra to use the Club Lounge on 12th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyWiltshire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Rebecca,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!
Thank you for the lovely review, and we’re so glad that you tried our Le Meridien Club Lounge and have indulged in the panoramic harbour views. I’ll send your compliments to Asmah and we’re glad that we have taken care well of you.
We look forward to welcoming you and your loved ones again.
Thank you and have a beautiful week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

The rooms is large, bathroom is very large too with shower and a separate tub. The view is fantastic and so is the location. Across the street is a small market that sells all sorts of fruits, vegetables and things. A place where many locals grab something cheap to eat. Nearby is a shopping center with small vendors selling cheap clothing and goods. Would definitely stay again, staff is great and friendly. Traffic in and out can get a bit hectic during rush hour

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NivekKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Nivek,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!
We hope you’ve had enjoyed your places of interest nearby, especially on the food and shopping! Thank you for your recommendation on staying here again, we look forward to welcome you and your loved ones in the future. Maybe next time you get to utilize our club lounge and indulge in the panoramic view of the South China Sea. That is truly something for you and the kids.
Thank you and have a beautiful week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The Meridien looks grander and more impressive than it really is. My room was huge and comfy with a great sea view. However, there was no soundproofing and it was quite noisy so I had to sleep with earplugs. Something as simple as an extra internal door might help block out noise from the corridor. The checkout service was also quite slow. Staff stood by watching a large queue but didn't think to assist or open one of the extra desks available. Breakfast was also a bit of a letdown. As a woman traveling alone, I was asked to wait instead of being shown to one of the available tables. This hotel looks plush but could do with sharpening up in a few areas.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Ann,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!
Firstly, I would like to apologize on the seating arrangement when you were going for breakfast. Secondly, thank you for your feedback on some of the areas that we need to improve for example the breakfast and check out also the blocking out of the noise door. Maybe in the future, you could reach out to us directly so that we may be able to assist you then there, for example moving you into a new room or a new area.
Thank you and have a beautiful week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
13.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu embraces the aesthetic and eclectic beauty of Sabah while showcasing superb views of the city, Mount Kinabalu, and the South China Sea. Located in downtown Kota Kinabalu, and within easy walking distance of local attractions, the commercial district, and retail and entertainment facilities, the hotel provides easy access to some of Malaysia’s finest beaches and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Priceline, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing