We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

When you read Le Meridien you expect something extraordinary. Well, in Kota Kinabalu it is avarage. Good service, good location (not the best) in front of the night market, terrible pool.
Rooms and food are good but again nothing you would think to get at such a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bealom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Bealom,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!
Thank you for sharing with us on the items that we can improve on. We strive to be better and hopefully your next visits with us will be of an improved version of ourselves then. We will convey your comments to the respective department accordingly
Happy Lunar Chinese New Year and have a beautiful week ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    810
    213
    71
    30
See reviews for
383
750
114
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Really a good value hotel for the price. It's truly 5 star and the staff are amazingly helpful. The rooms are really nice and the twin rooms come with a double super single. As it was my first time in KK, chose to take a better hotel to scope out the place. Definitely a good place for a few days. Plenty of amenities and perfect location. Unfortunately, WIFI is really expensive. You're better off getting a local SIM card and using the hotspot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simbajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Simbajaj,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu simbajaj!
Sounds like you had a really good stay and first experience with us. Glad to hear that you had a lovely stay, and that all of our staff have made you feel much welcomed and were really helpful to you. Feel free to utilize our complimentary wifi at the hotel lobby as well.
Happy Lunar Chinese New Year and have a beautiful week ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Dissapointments were few; tip, sea view does NOT necessarily imply a full sea view, only that the water is visible (partially) from your window - shame since we would have paid more for a true Sea View room. Also, stains on the bedding - a significant downer - but immediately corrected by the front desk. Should not have been an issue at this level. Finally, service for breakfast was significantly wanting - but to be expected in a tourist destination ramping up to international client service standards. That said, food was amazing - recommend booking tour trips through on site tour group. Facilities above average, location is ideal - within walking distance to the port, shopping and dining choices. Will consider returning.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UmairR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!
Thank you for sharing with us your experience with us and sharing with us the areas that we need to improve on. We apologize for any discomfort that occurred during your stay for example on the bedding issue. Will convey the issues regarding the bedding to the respective department. As for the rooms arrangement, feel free to consult us should you need to know on all the rooms arrangement and configuration, we will be more than happy to assist you. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our food, and the places of interests nearby.
Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcome you and your loved ones soon.
Happy Lunar Chinese New Year and have a beautiful week ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This seemed like a good value-for-money stay in KK. The room size was definitely ample (and we had one of their cheaper ones) - clean and with a great view of the ocean.

The buffet, while on the expensive side, was definitely worth it. You can eat all you like and the selection was enough to put anyone on diet for a month afterwards!

Staff were wonderful - all of them cheerful and ready to help. This aspect really stood out.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean-facing room. Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inDuna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!
Thank you for the lovely review and we’re glad that you loved the breakfast. Good to hear that you had a generally good stay.
We hope to welcome you and your loved ones again in other rooms, much grander rooms maybe, and we hope to be of even better version of ourselves then.
Thank you and have an excellent week ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at Le Meridien for a weekend of climbing Mt. Kinabalu. Overall, we would go back and stay there again. The central location was perfect for pick-ups and allowed us to get great eats in the city. The rooms are non-descript and a tad run down and housekeeping messed up with us, but our experience was still overwhelmingly positive.

The food in Kota Kinabalu must be good wherever you go. In house we recommend the Hainanese Chicken in-house for a post-mountain feast. Outside, the seafood market right next door by the sea beckons for fresh tuna, snapper, crabs and anything else. Although one may eat on picnic tables, you are eating fresh-caught fish and not paying for ambience.

The tea and in-house coffee deserve good rankings. We stuck to the standard gin-and-tonics, which seemed more fragrant than most.

Cocktail hour offers two for the price of one drinks in the lobby. We also recommend the pool for great views and an opportunity to cool off.
Ceilings on the 10th floor seemed low and the carpet worn. Elevators are extremely slow.
The internet is fast but I believe we needed to pay for it.
The housekeeping forgot a top sheet for our bed on our 3rd night. There was also a hole in the comforter cover.
The bathroom reminds me of an upper-class Middle Eastern apartment with marble everywhere. The bathroom sink had enough room for my husband and I to put our toiletries. I took a nice bath after climbing the mountain.

The location cannot be beat. Really, cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diplogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!
First and foremost, we hope you had an excellent climb of Mt. Kinabalu. I believe the views have been amazing. Secondly, glad to hear that you loved Kota Kinabalu’s food in general.
Thank you for the distinctive mention on our location and for the overall positive review and we’re glad that you loved the location and the places of interests nearby.
We hope to welcome you and your loved ones again and hopefully all the issues that you will have the best of stays here in the hotel.
Thank you and have a beautiful week ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The location is excellent, the staff are enthusiastic and do their absolute best to compensate for the condition of the rooms. Food in the club lounge is interesting and inovative and as far as I could see it is well presented throughout the rest of the hotel eateries. Club suites are huge but due to the decor and furnishings they feel empty with a lot of wasted space. I'm advised that a refurbishment program has been approved and the work will commence in 2014. I look forward to returning - sometime.

Room Tip: 11th and 12th floors with views toward the sea are best. If you intend to use the Club lounge then t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryH488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!

Thank you for the lovely review and we’re glad that you loved the breakfast and yes we constantly find ways to be innovative, as we hope it has shown in our breakfast variety. We’re glad you loved the location and the places of interests nearby too.
Glad to hear that our team has made you feel much welcomed throughout your stay. I will convey these kind compliments to the team. We hope to see you, your family and loved ones in the future with a much better experience.
Thank you and have a beautiful week ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

My friends and I stayed at Le Meridien for 4 days when we first arrived in KK and then again later whilst in transit to other parts of Sabah. It certainly ticked most of the boxes for us: great location, service, food, facilities and helpful staff. There was just one thing I had a problem with - the pillows. I am allergic to feathers and could not use the feather pillows, which my friends assured me were fabulous. The only other pillows they had were enormous foam/rubber slabs, with very little give to them at all (believe me, they were quite solid), and so high they would guarantee neck pain had I used them to sleep on. All I really wanted was your average every day pillow (microfibre or foam), something a bit soft, not too big, like an inexpensive Tontine. I found it amazing that a hotel of this quality didn't have such a thing. Every other place we stayed in Sabah and Sarawak did. And so I had no pillow and used some folded clothes, and didn't get a good night's sleep any time we stayed there. Otherwise, loved the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnInquiringMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Good to hear that you had a generally good stay. Thank you for sharing with us your predicament on the pillows; we appreciate the recommendation on the pillows too, and will convey this to the relevant departments accordingly this might help us to find better ways to improve our guests’ experience.
We look forward to welcoming you and your loved ones again and hopefully your sleep will turn out much better in the future.
Thank you and have a beautiful week ahead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#8 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu embraces the aesthetic and eclectic beauty of Sabah while showcasing superb views of the city, Mount Kinabalu, and the South China Sea. Located in downtown Kota Kinabalu, and within easy walking distance of local attractions, the commercial district, and retail and entertainment facilities, the hotel provides easy access to some of Malaysia’s finest beaches and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing