We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No hot water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“No hot water”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is a main feature of the seafront, opposite the Phillipino market and the hawker stalls, neither of which is that great a draw. The lobby to the hotel gives the game a way at once, yet another hotel in Malaysia in need of refurbishment. Staff are helpful but the corridors smell dank and the smell of stale smoke on the non-smoking floors did not help the air of dank neglect. Room was nice and spacious but again the chips out of the fixtures gave a shabby feel to the place. Limited TV channels, chipped bathtub and ants trailing in from around the window frame.
Eating in for three nights presented a challenge, first time round opted for the steak restaurant, fancy prices for two very small pieces of snapper, not very wonderful either. Service was excellent though, the waitress? Arabic? was clearly very well trained and pleasant with it.
Next night a mutton curry that was nothing like any curry I had ever had before, most odd . Altogether not a place to eat in.

Will not go back if at all possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurryPuff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for the challenge with Hot Water and Food which I will address with our technical and Food & Beverage Teams so we could have the opportunity to make it right. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

Sincerely,
Suresh Ramasamy
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    821
    217
    71
    30
See reviews for
392
763
116
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
321 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

the room is huge, 3 times standard hotel rooms. Clean, great service n at ideal location in the city fscing the sea. Seafood n waterfront pubs n night markets within walking distance.
Get a sea facing view room to experince the kk feeling, ie islands, boats, sunrise n sunset.
Beautiful place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merc8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Merc,

Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Kota Kinabalu.

Sincerely,
Suresh Ramasamy
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

In fairness to the hotel staff and managers after not very favorable 1st review.
Three weeks later after my 1st stay, I did come back to Le Meridien KK on the business trip again. Surprisingly, I did receive a very good upgraded room with a very comfy bed, large facilities and good amenities. I may add my specially remarks on hotel staff and manager great hospitality and helpful assistance. The included buffet breakfast was of a very good quality with very wide options, from Mediterranean to Malaysian, from English to healthy…almost everything available. Just a little bit downside on the room service food quality and availability of listed items. Definitely I will return, this time with the family too.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are recommendable. If optional, take the great breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GIL28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Gil,

Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!

Great to hear that our associates and manager look after your stay at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu.
I will be happy to have a cup of Illy Coffee with you on your next visit and please drop me a mail and I will be happy to meet up on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Suresh Ramasamy
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for just one night. My wife enjoyed the great spa while our son and I enjoyed a good view from the pool.
The selection of food for breakfast was fantastic, but there was an error for the charge, which made us worried. Everything was cleared at end, but letting us know that it had been the hotel's error could have made us feel better. As lack of this kind of hospitality, my rating in service went down 1 point, but overall experience in staying here was great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tets_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Tets,

We have reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu.
We are glad you enjoyed your time here at the hotel and your exploration of places of interests nearby. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay.
As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.
Thank you and have a discovery week.

Suresh Ramasamy
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our third time staying at Le Meridien KK. Great spot to be at. Very central (KK is a small city) and walking distance to shoppings. Our first time was not a good experience. Eventhough we had a 1-bedroom suite (very spacious and great decor), we had a sleepless night because of the nightclub downstairs. We were at the 4th floor (or maybe it was the 5th) with the cityview rooms above the hotel lounge/club area, we could still hear the loud music from the lounge which lasted up to 2-3 AM. So, anyway, we learnt from that. On our second and third stays, we chose the ocean-view rooms. They cost extra but it was worth it (able to have a good night sleep). We also had great views. Again, rooms were spacious and clean. Great staff. The buffett was quite a feast. Lots of food choices. All in all, it was a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Get sea-view rooms if possible, and make sure it's on higher levels if you have city-views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DayungBidayuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Dayung Bidayuh,

Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Kota Kinabalu.

Sincerely,
Suresh Ramasamy
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a good hotel in KK and located in the middle of the city of KK, i would recommend this hotel to you. It is very convenient because the famous Filipino market where sells fresh vegetables and fish in the morning just opposite to this hotel. In the afternoon till evening you can shop for sea pearl at this market and for dinner, you can find good choice of seafood as well as other local foods, all of these are just at opposite of this hotel. KK Waterfront where placed restaurants, pubs and shops are just 5 minutes walking distance from this hotel. There are also another shopping mall located at junction near to this hotel. In terms of location, i would say it is perfectly located. The front desk officer are friendly and helpful, the room is clean and spacious. Nothing to complaint about this hotel. I highly recommended this hotel for those who want to visit KK. Hope this info will help you for your visit.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Kfk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear KFK,

Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Kota Kinabalu.

Sincerely,
Suresh Ramasamy
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Me, my boyfriend and his family spent 4 nights in this Hotel, booking in total 3 room. We all agree that the Hotel is not really welcoming: humid smell, a bit noisy and the staff was not so excellent.
In the specific of the room I rented we got many problems:
- at the arrival was not available the room we booked (standard sea view) and they moved us in another kind of room telling us itwas an upgrading, but it was smelling bad, not perfectly clean and with a problem in the bathroom because the basin was leaking the whole night.
- Second day they moved us not in a sea view room, but as it was a cleaner room we didn't ask to move.
- My boyfriend realized he left a swather in the first room and it never was back, they gave him back 200 MR as refund, but it was not certainly enough.
- We got problems with the payment with the union pay, and visa electron.. they didn't advise us on time.
Finally, in Kota Kinabalu for a top stars hotels there are not so many choices, but definitely I wouldn't come back neither suggesting it. The location is great, but the service is bad and it's not really deserving the money it costs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eugeniamShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Eugeniam,

Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for the overall experience which fell far below your expectations. Please give us another opportunity on your next visit and we will do our best to deliver our promises.As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

Sincerely,
Suresh Ramasamy
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing