We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed for two nights in KK at Le Meridien on the club floor.

The room was designated as non smoking but as we entered there was a distinct cigarette smell and cigarette ash on the basin in the bathroom. The smell eventually disappeared but then they had to deliver a fan and battery lamp to every room as the power was going to be off from 1am until 9 am the next morning. The room was hot and stuffy for the night.

The hotel staff were very pleasant with the exception of the receptionist at checkout whom I found to be a little rude when I queried a charge.

The wifi had to be purchased for use in the room and it would only connect with a signal if you stood in the bathroom.

The location of the hotel was however a bonus. Right on the waterfront and very close to the markets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldCoastFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    821
    217
    71
    30
See reviews for
392
763
116
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Le Meridien KK. It is one of the bigger hotels in KK. The service was great, and the staff were friendly and helpful (except for one waitress whom was very rude and not pleasant to guests - we didn't like her one bit!). Anyways, overall, a great stay and it's only about 20-30 minutes walk to Jesselton Point (where you set off to the nearby islands). The night market and the Fillipino Market is just across from the hotel (but beware of bugs and rats at night at these markets - we witnessed a few unwanted bodies. Eekk!).

Recommended hotel! :)

P.S. if budget is not a concern, then we'd suggest getting a room with the sea view rather than the cityview.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boulden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and we enjoyed our stay. Check in was a little slow because there were quite a number of people checking in at the same time as us (the US Navy were in town and the hotel was quite full). Rooms were clean - although we specfically requested non-smoking but were placed on a smoking floor. (We booked four months in advance). On equiry we couldnt be moved and were told that this floor had been a smoking floor over a year ago but was not now? it still smelt badly of cigarette smoke - the room attendants came and sprayed deoderiser / neutraliser through the room which alleviated the problem for about a day. The lady at the tour desk was quite good and we went on the Mari Mari Cultural Village Tour which was great and the City Tour - which was not so good. Service in the downstairs lounge was particularly slow - they seemed to have plenty of staff but the staff seemed a bit disorganised. We still enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was fine, beds were comfortable and showers were good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KampervanKapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

With a 5 star property it is rare for a review to go wrong on the service and experience. It is a standard disclaimer that I need to put with every 5 star property that I review.

Having said that, there were only 2 points on which I found the service shortcoming. I am a vegetarian and I like to have my tea in a particular way. Having passed the written instructions well to the staff, I always got the tea:
a.) Either 1 hour or more late
b.) Not done to instructions
c.) Both!

The restaurant I felt was understaffed and that showed with water not being served properly. or the glass not being filled up.

But those were the only few minor things.

Besides this, the property is fabulous and the staff does try to help you out. My request to be put up on the 10th Floor from my allocated 4th floor was attended to in a very prompt manner. The view of the sea is beautiful. I wish they had some facility for some sports like Tennis etc though.

I can not fail to mention Mr. Kenneth, the manager at the Restaurant, who went out of his way to help me out with vegetarian food.

I spent 7 days in the hotel and loved the experience. SPG rooms, since I am a SPG member, were considerably bigger than normal ones and I loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnoopSaxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent 4 days at the Medidien Kota Kinabalu. The hotel is situated on the waterfront near the night market. There is a great view over the sea and sunset from the pool.
The rooms were comfortable, clear and spacious.
All the staff was very friendly. The pool - even not so big - was very pleasant.
The breakfast was very generous and tasty.
The only negative point is the expensive price of the wifi access in the rooms. For an hotel of this class, the wifi access should be free in the rooms. Nevertheless, there was a free internet access in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yokozuna_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busselton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel last week and were quite impressed by the friendliness of the staff and the management's endeavour to create such a caring environment for their guests.
It was a pleasure to stay there for six days and enjoy what the hotel and Kota Kinabulu have to offer.
I will definately be returning to this hotel and Four Points its sister hotel in Sandakan as they both place their customers needs in the forefront of their mission statement.

Room Tip: Always choose a Sea View Room and go to Hight Tea on the Weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Having stayed at other Le Meridien properties, my daughter was disappointed in this one. I thought it like other older chain hotels...Hyatt, etc. The staff could have been more helpful, although no one was rude. The charges for phone calls were outrageous! international call $10 US for first minute and climbing every minute so find another option. Did not eat in the restaurant as we really like the Thai restaurant on the waterfront across the way. Close to shopping.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing