We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A centrally located downtown KK chain hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Fairly priced- for the large sized rooms. Not particularly notable in room decor. A clean, spacious lobby. Comfort depends on luck with neighbors; there's minimal sound- proofing. A full-service hotel.
Should be renamed a Sheraton; since it's owned by Starwood.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xerophytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,254 - 1,260 of 2,183 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel was such a delight to discover after having spent time in a far inferior place (against my wishes and better judgment) for four days, in another part of Borneo, like walking into paradise! The lobby was beautiful and beckoning, the staff courteous and professional, the water views calming, and then there was the room- what a pretty room, luxurious, practical and comfortable, and a gorgeous, well-appointed bathroom, too. The location cannot be beat either- right across the street from the impressive night market- where the array of fresh fish was sizzling and looked mouth watering, and the tastes far surpassed the expectations, Delicious! Wow! And so ridiculously easy on the pocketbook. The other food was excellent, too- the fresh and fragrant fried rice, the tasty, nourishing noodles with vegetables, and the dessert / drink to beat all others- Cendol...Yum... And all of this on the waterfront directly in front of the hotel. And just across the street from the side of the hotel, was another night market- where costume jewelry and othe sundry items were sold. I did all my gift shopping for the girls back home while here (yes, I am mean ladies). Bracelets and rings and earrings- fun and fabulous looking... I wear a diamond ring and other precious stones now, nobody says anything, I wear my shell/bead ring (for which I paid about $1.60= 5 MYR) and everyone stops me to comment on how pretty it is and where did I get it....Something else Ioved about the hotel? The pool that you can do laps in, and the fitness center with a good sauna. And must not forget the very helpful tour desk. Found someone for me to do a tour with twice (I was travelling alone, and they have a minimum of two people), and the tours were good, and they managed to book the days and times I wanted. Kudos all around.... Terima kasih Le Meridien, Kota Kinabalu!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravelCutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

My wife & I stayed from 24-Sept 2012 to 28-Sept-2012 at room 909 (still staying there while writing this comment)

1.Room 909
-Both power socket outlet at the desk was not working.
-Bathroom is filled with huge water spots on the floor due to poor bathroom floor construction & it's very uncomfortable to be in the bathroom.

2-Staff
We complained to the staff & ask for different room but instead of offering to solve the problem she ask us to pay more to upgrade to another room. We understand that maybe there is a problem with room availability but the least she could do to is ask the technician to fix the power socket outlet.

Other than that, the hotel is ok. Great location and quite clean.

Will post some picture later.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Filipino market (cheap souvenir hunting ground) wet market (fresh from the catch) dry food market (biscuits, crackers) , modern malls - all are within walking distance. Room and bath are spacious. Staffs are friendly and obliging.

Room Tip: seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shahida s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We visited Kota Kinabalu over the busy Hari Raya period. The room that we stayed in had partial sea view. Windows were large and offered great view. Unfortunately not much to be seen. The room itself was comfortable and large.

The breakfast spread was commendable with wide varity of International, Asian and Malay offering.

The concierge service was good. They found us a SUV to rent at night on a peak season.

Location wise it isn't too far from anything in this relatively small town. The seafood market across the hotel is a great place to eat. Both in terms of quantity and price.

Room Tip: Get rooms with seaview. Otherwise the cityscape isn't remarkable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NazimFarhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

reception staff on check asked us if we would like to up grade she said we wouldn't be disappointed and i'm so glad we did. we got 2 beautiful rooms two toilets two tv's a lounge bigger than the gym (i was able to do my work out tapes on the dvd with minimal fuss) the upgrade entitled us to - tea, coffee, caps - and cold drinks, high tea from 3.00 pm to 5.00 pm then cocktail hour from 5.00 pm to 7.00 pm breakfast could either be taken on the 12 th floor slightly limited compared to the lobby. i found most of the staff to be extremly helpful, we even got an air purifier as we where on the smoking floor. breakfast was varied and of a high standard, the fresh juice station is always a hit with me the gym and pool area are quite compact. carpet in lift area looking a bit dull. they have a tour desk and are in walking distance from jetty/port, post office and countless plaza/mall. and the fresh fish market/fruit/poultry market opposite was interesting to say the least. and the views (front of hotel) absolutely beautiful and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: spoil yourself take the upgrade, enjoy waking up to a fabulous view. just make sure your on either t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer1962_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

The room is very spacious and the staff very courteous. The receptionist even recommended a great spa for our Mt. Kinabalu-beaten bodies. 
The buffet breakfast was good as well.
I requested that a spaghetti and a small cake be delivered to our room upon check in and they did even if I wasn't able to alert the kitchen staff as I told them I would :) They even gave us the small cake for free! 
On our second day, I forgot to have our sheets changed but with just one call they were already in our room to change it. 
 
Pros: Situated in a busy area - market, malls, restaurants. 
Spacious room.
Very polite and courteous staff. 
Very nice view. 
Great buffet. 
Very nice pool. 

Cons: The building was a little bit old but no biggie. 

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetripsdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,503 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $106 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing