We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service in an "old" Package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have booked this hotel at the end of our trip through Sabah so we can relax and restore our energy. Like we do in all our vacation. The location of the Hotel is right across the Philippins market and in the city centre of KK. An excellent choose to buy the final necessarities before departure or to dine out. Le Meridien has all the facilities for a 5-star rating but you can perceive that this is not the youngest one anymore. For a place with so much sun the swimming pool is small and located at a place where external visitors can have access. This might feel unpleasant for the ladies. The changing room is a little smelly, but equipt with sauna and whirlpool. The rooms are large and has a stunning view over the south Chinese Sea. In our room on the 12th floor some mirrors and lamps should have been replaced.

On the other hand the service is superior. From the entrance you can perceive the atmosphere of being "important". Friendly and smiling people serving you. They have a very good eye for details. For example: when we lie at the swimming pool and saw we are heating up by the sun, they brought us some fruit and water for cooling free of charge. So maybe the facilities are not up to date what current five stars hotels can offer, but the service is on par with the best ones. Price/Quality is excellent!

Pro:
-Price
-Location
-Excellent Service

Con:
-Outdated facilities




Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you Jason for your overall good feedback. We do have a contained number of external members who are paying to use the facilities otherwise I can reassure you our swimming pool is private primarily for the use of our in house guests. I am happy to know our team spotted you sweating and came to the rescue with ice water, refreshing towels and cucumber slices for your eyes...
Till next visit.
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,347 - 1,353 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here last year as a family of four to celebrate end of high school and HSC. We had travelled to Sandakan, Turtle Island,up Kinabatangan River, and were ready for a little luxury. Posts here suggested the club rooms which we had never experienced before. It was great. The service was efficient. Everyone was very helpful. Loved the cocktails in the afternoon and night markets across the road. Having internet access as well was great for banking etc. The club lounge is a nice place to relax. hubby likes his espresso coffee so downstairs coffee area made it just to his and our liking. Breakfast in the main area or the club lounge (smaller selection but great omelettes etc)was all very good. My hubbie met the GM (Alex Riva) who was very keen to provide a high level of service. Anyway, we have decided that the 2 of us will go back to KK for a week in July for a relaxing break. Cant wait!

Room Tip: get a seaview (club lounge if budget permits) watch the sunset and dine out at the markets across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chooklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

I can't wait to have an Illy espresso with your husband ask him to give me a call when you are here this month. Thank you so much for your encouraging feed-back, the team and I look forward to make you feel at home once again.
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

As our flight was delayed 2 days we had to find somewhere to stay and fast!

The staff here responded quickly and efficiently. The service that we experienced was great. Didn't eat at this hotel at all. Ate at the night markets right on the waterfront instead, some of the best meals we ate in KK and so cheap for fresh seafood, cooked just the way we asked.

Great pool area and happy hour and snacks while you kick back and relax after a hard day of shopping or doing absolutely nothing.

Would recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed water front on the 8th floor overlooking the pool and further onto the street and market a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJfromOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you AJ happy to know our team was efficient in reacting to your need of accommodation and made it easy for you. The seafood across the road is indeed a great experience we can't deny that.
Regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Lonely Planet describes this hotel as "If you can't undercut 'em, outclass 'em" and that sums it up perfectly. Fabulous location in the middle of town, with the great night markets right alongside. Beautiful rooms overlooking the harbour with everything you require. Best coffee in Malaysia. Staff great and fabulous breakfast. Arrived 9.30am and was given a great room within 15 minutes. Across the road, go to the eating area, select the fresh seafood, lobster, calamari, giant prawns and many fish varieties and they barbeque it while you wait. Sit at the communal tables and eat with your fingers like the locals. Would not stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Pay extra and ask for a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woolly-Bully63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you I am learning something did not know about the Lonely Planet and we love that description ! It feels good in knowing we delivered above your expectations.
Call me next time you visit and we will have an Illy cappuccino together.
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Le merdien is in an excellent location,close to major shopping centres and the fillipino markets. The hotel rooms are very large and the staff are always courteous and friendly.
Pool area overlooks the water and was very clean.We also booked our tours at the hotel,staff member on the tour desk was very helpful, and was always willing to give us directions if we wanted to do things on our own.
We enjoyed our stay immensley and would not hesitate to reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_Gray_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Can't disagree with you our location is fantastic and I am delighted you made the most of it. Thank you for acknowledging the efforts of our team members, that is the most rewarding feed-back to reassure us we continue to be a leading hotel in Kota Kinabalu.
Thank you and happy travels
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I've put we were a couple, but we were also in KK researching the area for some writing I aim to do on the area. We chose this Starwood hotel, as we are members.

Walking in, it reminded me of the Langham in Melbourne, same decor. We opted for a Club room, so checked in up there. Vivien greeted us and continued to get to know our needs and anticipate them for the entire stay.

The Club is lovely, with afternoon tea and then drinks and canapes from 5-7 each evening. Breakfast was also included. I would love to see bacon on the menu, not the dry beef bacon, but understand...

The lobby bar is fun with a lively band 6 nights a week. Drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel.

The pool overlooks the water from the second level. It's basic, needs some greenery, but was nice. But not resort style, if that is what you are looking for.

Housekeeping needs a little training. I've passed on my comments to management, and am confident they will be addressed. It won't stop us staying there, and will not stop us recommending to stay there, but if you have any issues, let them know as we have. It would be the one weakness I would say they have.

All in all, I do recommend here. We popped into a couple of resorts to have a look, very very nice too, but much more expensive. We just used it as a base. Close to shopping and restaurants. Everyone we spoke to there, were positive about it. So I can conclude is probably the best hotel style that KK has to offer.

Thanks to all the team for a most memorable stay.

Room Tip: The Club room is recommended if your budget allows. You will save on breakfast, evening drinks and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creatavision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Hello Angus thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope the hotel and overall environment provided you with the inspiration for your writing work which I trust will bring you back soon. It is good to know you also had a look at some of the resort alternatives and concluded that we are a great place to stay.
Do let me know if on your next visit I can be of any assistance and also I would like to ensure we are on top of all housekeeping arrangements.
Thank you and regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had a lovely stay at this hotel, and fantastic service from many of the staff that we had the pleasure of meeting during our stay. Lovely room , we booked a club room facing the south china sea and watched the coming and going down in the car park of the markets, we booked 4 tours all with the help of Patrica ( MANY THANKS ) and really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would really recommed to family and friends

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you Lindsay for such a detailed review. I am delighted with the numerous plus points you have indicated and it is great to know you will return and recommend.
Indeed there are areas for improvements with towels, bath mats and club lounge and I have already adressed some of the shortfalls with the relevant section leaders. Your comments are most helpful thank you.
Regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,513 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $118 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing