We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (665)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveler rating
272
290
62
26
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
272
290
62
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar jesselton point shopping mall blu bar sea view suria sabah direct access jesselton jetty family room deluxe seaview room first floor walking distance gaya street swimming pool big mall breakfast buffet convenient hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 665 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2019

Stayed 2 nights. The room was clean, comfortable and staff were friendly. The only downside was the mall rubbish collection area behind the hotel. This was filthy and was in plain sight for everyone walking along the waterfront.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ibnibatutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ibnibatutta,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review.

We are as sorry to see the rubbish and had reported to the authority. In fact we are working with a local NGO now to find a way to prevent and clean up the rubbish from reaching our shore. Hopefully we can have a solution and action soon.


Thanks & regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019 via mobile

Cleanliness, great
Room service, ok. They kept forgetting to replace our tea bags and tea cups
Staff, very nice, approachable and friendly
Tour desk, poor. Told us they cater for the Chinese speakers only
Location. Good, not far from Jesselton Jetty and right on top of shopping mall. Philipino markets also close by.
Food. Good variety for breakfast. Nice cocktails at the Sky Bar, but staff in Sky bar too young to know what they're doing.
Pool was closed for maintenance, so, off to Hyatt Regency for a swim....wish we stayed there instead..everything was much nicer and better there. Even the food!!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank fayanwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear fayanwar,

Thank you for sharing your review.

I am sorry that our tour desk was not helpful. Thank you for the valuable feedbacks and we can certainly learn and improve.

Wishing you all the best.

Thanks & regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

Worth the price.. Room are very clean and spacious.. Staff are friendly and polite.. Easy access to mall and eatery.. My room were upgraded to studio type with refrigerator and microwave inside the room.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Umi0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2019

Dear Umi0502,

Thank you for sharing your review.

Your vote of confidence and recommend us is a big encouragement to us. We are so proud to be able to serve and will continue to maintain our standard of facilities and service. Thank you so much.


Wishing you all the best.

Thanks & regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

Excellent stay in a family room which sleeps 4 with plenty of space to spread out. Check in and out was much quicker than other local hotels, left luggage was easy and nothing too much trouble.

Rooftop pool is being refurbished until the end of April 2019 which is a shame as I had specifically booked the hotel for the pool (anticipating tired legs and a couple of lazy days after tackling Mount K). The hotel receptionist said that Agoda had been informed of the pool reno but I had not been aware - will take that up with Agoda. In the interim guests can use the Hyatt pool nearby which is nice but shuttle buses run every 2 hours or you can walk in 5 mins but it's not quite the same as nipping to the pool in your own hotel.

Apart from the pool over the next couple of weeks, would definitely recommemd this hotel for a comfortable, family friendly stay in KK

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 33Travellers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2019

Dear 33Travellers16,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review.

I am pleased that you had enjoyed our room and sorry about the pool renovation. We had informed all our business partners and also published in our web and social media about the pool closure as far back as in February. We are very happy that our guests can still enjoyed the facilities at the near by Hyatt Regency. I am happy to say that we will be opening the pool by the end of the week.

Thank you for the recommendation and we are so honor to be able to serve you.

Wishing you all the best.

Thanks & regards,
Michael



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

We arrived in the evening after 33 hours flying on 3 flights, so it was wonderful to see how fabulous our twin room was, so very spacious and impeccably clean. It was such a joy to have a very comfortable room and to relax with a cup of tea and a bit of TV I asked for extra pillows as I always have 4 and an extra bed sheet, as a quilt is too hot for me and they came within minutes from such a lovely, friendly young man. The bathroom was the biggest one I have ever had and the shower was brilliant, so revitalising, we had absolutely everything we needed. The Grandis and our room more than surpassed our expectations, we walked in and I said "wow how good is this". We had 5 nights in Borneo and then 2 nights in Singapore, followed by a 7 night cruise and my sister and I would of loved to have stayed the extra 2 days in the Grandis. We took advantage of the low cost Laundry service and got all our clothes cleaned and pressed, they were perfect! The breakfasts were lovely with a great choice and very tasty too. The Grandis really is very grand indeed and it's an absolute bonus that it's next door to the Suria Sabah shopping centre, with some great shops and many places to eat, which can be accessed by the 1st floor of the hotel. On the way back we did get lost as I forgot which shop we came through into the centre, but we easily found our way back via the main entrance only a short walk away. The area felt very safe and was surrounded by friendly helpful people. The rooftop pool is an absolute delight and is so very relaxing and really beautiful at night, we never got to use it during the day due to our busy itinerary. I had a Club sandwich with fries, which was nice. It really is in the heart of Kota Kinabalu and very close to the Airport indeed. It was about 2 hours by coach to Mount Kinabalu via the Nabalu Village, where we paid 90p for a great waterproof poncho for the botanical garden in the mountain. Then onto the Poring Hot Springs and the overhead Canopy 100 feet in the air. The hotel staff safely stored our suitcases when we went on a 2 day tour and flew to/from Sandankan which took 40 minutes. As our flight was very early they made us all a lovely packed breakfast for our trip We did a boat cruise up the lower Kinabatangan River, then lunch at the Abai Jungle Restaurant, a boat to Sukau, a cruise up the Kinabatangan River to Mennanggul and finally to our overnight stay at the Riverside Lodge in Kinabatangan. We saw wild and free Pigmy Elephants and lots of Macaque's, plus a big swimming lizard. The next day we went by coach to the Orangutan Sanctuary in Sepilok and the Borneo Sun Bear Conservation Centre (Amazing!) We got back to the Grandis to receive a very warm welcome back, our suitcases and our same room There is a lovely harbour within 10 minutes walk of the Grandis and we had a brilliant day trip to Manukan Island and the Tunku Abdul Rahman National park 15 minutes from the Marina Jetty, only 20 minutes away by coach, which is like paradise and now my favourite beach in the world! Our group of 30 had a freshly cooked BBQ on the Beach Last but not least the Grandis staff were so lovely, extremely helpful, friendly and made us feel so much at home! Myself and my sister miss them and one day we hope we can return. Never ever have I felt so good about a place, hotel and the amazing people ♥️♥️
Thank you very much, it was a marvellous pleasure to stay in your wonderful hotel and to create our priceless memories with you

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank fi_123_2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Grandis, Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2019

Dear fi_123_2019,

Thank you for staying with us.

Thank you for sharing this comprehensive review that is going to benefit so many who are coming to visit Borneo. I am so pleased that you had not only enjoyed staying with us and also got to visit so many wonderful places in Borneo. We are just glad that we were able to play a role and made your visit so memorable. You were so lucky to witness some of the wildlife. I have been to these places a few times and yet to see the Pigmy elephants in the wild.

Hope to welcome you back in the future and wishing you all the best.

Thanks & regards,
Michael


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews