We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable place ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable place ”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a big room on the 11th floor. The room was clean and comfortable. Good beds!
We ordered food with roomservice, it was very tasty and not expensive at all.
Bathroom was clean and had everything you need.
Breakfast was good as well, freh food and many choices.
Good place for a stopover!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lyntje89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    244
    90
    16
    8
See reviews for
64
189
60
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

This is a newish property by the looks of it with neat and clean rooms. While there appear to be cheaper options, the friendly service staff and the overall cleanliness (especially the bathrooms) provided good value.
There are several malls and F&B outlets in the vicinity as well as a ubiquitous 7-11 1 minute away. The airport is a 15 minute cab ride away.
The front desk graciously gave us a late check out at no extra charge. If there is a downside its with the design of a block of rooms which attract the early morning sun. Despite ones best efforts, the design of the room is such that the curtain cannot be fully drawn shut. A strategically placed dressing table mirror reflects the bright morning sunlight directly on to the bed so its best not to plan on a late sleep in.
This hotel is definitely well recommendable.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms which don't attract the morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandalf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Very nice and clean hotel. Good location (we went each day to the jetty 15 min on foot, the night market is around 5 min from the hotel). There is the Airport shuttle just in front of the Hotel. Breakfast was fair.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I stay at the Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu every month for business and have never thought of changing hotels. Rooms are clean and well equipped. You'll find a hair dryer and tea & coffee making facilities in every room. I have stayed in rooms on the 8, 9, 10 and 11 floors and all are clean and well maintained. They even provide bedroom slippers as their rooms are partially carpeted.

Everyroom here comes with free breakfast and there's always a good spread. The breakfast is always a good mix of western and eastern fair. There's also a coffee machine and an egg station outside the restaurant. Staff are very attentive and even on peak times clear the tables extremely fast and seat you immediately.

Location wise this place is not too far from they city but far enough to get a good night's sleep. Once you cross the street you'll be in the old KK town where there's loads of restaurants, bars and old-school shops to explore. If you continue walking you can reach the esplanade, Filipino market and the seafood area.

Taxi are always available outside the hotel as there's the local bus station nearby. There's a 7-11 store a few blocks away but I'd advice you not to walk alone at night to the store. Next to the hotel there's a small field and next to it there's stairs leading up to Signal Hill. Don't forget to try the burgers over here while enjoying the view high up. Grab a taxi and head to Suria Sabah mall if you're looking for some urban entertainment or take the taxi to Tanjung Lipat for some awesome chicken wings known as the TLC Wings.

With all the above said, the main reason I return to Dreamtel KK everytime is the staff. They are helpful and courteous. Never have any of the staff been rude to me and they always greet you with a smile. I have checked in at 10am and also 11pm and have always been greeted well. So if you're looking for a place to stay in KK the Dreamtel should do the job just fine :)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with window if you are claustrophobic other than that all rooms are same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelandkhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed on Level 9 in a Superior Twin Room and as such it was quite peaceful. Having arrived at 1am in the morning, the staff was very courteous and helpful which helped. Stayed for 4 nights and was quite happy with breakfast which was included. Heaps of variety for both Western and Eastern taste. Freshly made scrambled eggs by the staff located just outside (station pod) was a nice surprise. Pleasant walk across to KK city centre and we were able to explore the full length of the city. Sunday market on Gaya Street which is just across the hotel is a definite must to visit. Other places to see is the look out from the hill top, Filipino Market (bargaining is required) and sea food restaurants for which KK is famous for. Gather it's a fairly new hotel being 8-9 months old. The place is well maintained and clean. The front desk could have been more helpful with city maps/brochures and suggestions of tour/day trips. Otherwise no regrets and would recommend.

Room Tip: Being located not far from the city centre and main roads, chose floors higher up. Superior Twin Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar_oz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent , walking distance to markets and restaurants, we were here for two nights to do mount kinablu and the marine park , the breakfast wasn't out of this world but it wasn't rubbish either , all in all if your looking for luxury don't stay here m if you are here for a couple of days and want convenience and a decent hotel on a budget look no further

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azmat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed one night, had no breakfast but sleeping was ok. It is basic and there is everything you need for one night. Wifi was not working in the room but in the lobby. We could hear the noise from outside because the hotel is at a main road. Staff was very friendly and it was clean everywhere. I can not complain about anything. We appreciated the close distance to the city and shopping malls.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zumsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu

Property: Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Address: 5 Jalan Padang, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into Dreamtel and be captivated by the friendly charm of our service associates. Situated in the historical part of Kota Kinabalu, the hotel is just within walking distance to Padang Merdeka, the Atkinson Clock Tower and the Malaysia Monument. The hotel is also minutes away from the central district of food, shopping, nightlife, business and everything downtown Kota Kinabalu has to offer. With 160 guestrooms, we have a wide selection of room types in our hotel to suit varying guest requirements including Twin, Double and Triple. Whether you are travelling for business or on holidays with friends and family, we have just the room for you. Dreamtel Cafe is a 120-seat restaurant that combines international flavours as well as local cuisine. From formal board meetings to casual corporate affairs and special events, Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu has the appropriate venue for all your event needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing