We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #10 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great value ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Staff are super excellent esp Yuslin at the reception also the doorman. Staff in the restaurant are also super and kind! Room is tiny yet it is super enough for 2 persons if you are out during the day. Breakfast is more than enough. Location is perfect and easy to be located yet you may have to get a hotel card before you go out as some taxi driver may not be familar with this new hotel. 3 mins walk to gaya street. I love the room that I stayed very much.

One drawback is the wall is really thin.

I would definitely come back to stay in this hotel again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank locsyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamtelKotaKinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Kopivosian from Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu!

We were glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you and were very much encouraged by your positive comments. We hope you will come back and visit us again hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kotohuadan.

Warm regards.
EVON FOO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    222
    83
    15
    8
See reviews for
57
170
54
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

How to get there..

From the arrivals at terminal 1 or 2, locate the stall for the shuttle bus.

The last stop is Dreamtel. Trip takes 15 - 30 minuts.

One way ticket was 5 MYR.

Use the drop off location also for getting back to the airport, departure times are displayed at the booth.

The hotel location is good, everything close within walking distance.

Check in goes smoothly.

All personal encountered were friendly and helpful.

The room was clean and well maintained, no broken furniture etc. everything in good working condition.

I didn't experience any noice disturbing my sleep. I had the 9th floor.

Complimentary breakfast, plenty to eat and drink as far as I could see.

The usual breakfast type food and some local dishes. Pretty generous for a free breakfast.

The only drawback I could find was the complementary wifi connectivity.

Different access points for the floors and reception area. Tried both but was barely able to establish a connection.

Maybe to many people connected but bandwidth was insufficient resulting in time outs during browsing.

If Internet connectivity is important to you, you might want to skip this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SmooveG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamtelKotaKinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Kopivosian!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. We are glad that overall it had been a pleasant stay for you at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu.

We are looking into the issue highlighted as we would like to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Kotohuadan.

Warm regards,
EVON FOO, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I booked Dreamtel for 2 nights (March 27th - 29th), and highly recommend it to travellers who are on a budget. From the hotel, it's about a 10 minute walk to the night markets, food stalls and restaurants. For Suria Sabah; one of Kota Kinabalu's biggest shopping malls, and Jesselton Point, it's about a 15 minute walk. Overall, the hotel is decent, for the price you pay for. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean, and the location is great (if you don't mind walking).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamtelKotaKinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Kopivosian!

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to know that the location of our hotel had made a difference to your overall staying experience with us in Kota Kinabalu.

Thank you for choosing Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu and we hope you will come back to visit KK and us again.

Warm regards,
EVON FOO, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

If you plan on staying in Kota Kinabalu for just a few nights and taking onward travel to Mt. Kinabalu, then Hotel Dreamtel is a sensible choice. The hotel is located along Jalan Padang and is literally facing the long distance bus terminal going to Ranau (like only 20 steps away!). Adding to the convenience, this terminal is the last stop of the minivans picking up passengers from the airport.

Check in doesn’t begin until 2 pm but you can leave your bags at the luggage area. My only minor issue with my stay was that when we returned at a little past 3 pm, we still had to wait at the lobby and were told that our room was still being “prepared”. The staff though were very amiable and accommodating, which is true with any decent hotel in Sabah. Our superior twin room looked really adequate. We had our own fridge with complimentary water and a view of the city streets on our window. There was also efficient wifi in our room. Our breakfast buffet the following day was quite okay and had a wide selection compared to the other hotels in Sabah where we stayed at. They had curried chicken, rice, some pan-fried vegetables, pancakes, cereals and sliced fruits for dessert. I suspected though that the both the orange and apple juice were not fresh already and tasted a bit funky. For US55.70 a night, Dreamtel is a decent deal and I will not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadofthecentury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamtelKotaKinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Kopivosian!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us and we appreciate it very much of your comments and will certainly look into the matters raised and improve on them accordingly.

We hope you had enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kotohuadan.

Warm regards,
EVON FOO, General Managaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

A recently opened hotel. Great layout of rooms - contemporary decor. Very clean. All the amenities. Staff very helpful. A short walk to downtown and Jesselton Pier. Breakfast is typical southeast Asian. Can eat in the restaurant, few patrons. The soup was excellent, other dishes more plain. In KK be sure to visit Chilli Vanilla Restaurant.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamtelKotaKinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Kopivosian!

We were glad to know that you liked our hotel and overall had enjoyed your stay with us. We valued your feedback and will certainly look into our menu at our restaurant Raja Kuring.

Thank you for choosing Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu. Kotohuadan.

Warm regards,
EVON FOO, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3
Nights, nothing special, breakfast was pretty average and bed was very hard but starting to think all beds in Borneo are. For the price its a good choice, easy walking distance to most attractions around town. Friendly staff.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamtelKotaKinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Kopivosian!

Thank you for your review and we were sorry to hear that our bed did not meet with your expectation. We will take note of this as our guests' comfort is our utmost priority.

We hope you will come back to visit us and stay with us again.

Kotohuadan.

Warm regards,
EVON FOO, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

A new hotel with clean rooms and very comfy beds.Front desk staff very helpful.Breakfast was included and very good variety of foods.
This hotel is right near the local markets and 15 min walk to the major shopping malls.Lots of Resturants around as well.
Only thing missing was a swimming pool.
I would definitely return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: A basic room was small but fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamtelKotaKinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Kopivosian!

We thank you for your feedback and were glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. It certainly was our pleasure to have served you.

We would love to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kotohuadan.

Warm regards,
EVON FOO, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu

Property: Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Address: 5 Jalan Padang, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into Dreamtel and be captivated by the friendly charm of our service associates. Situated in the historical part of Kota Kinabalu, the hotel is just within walking distance to Padang Merdeka, the Atkinson Clock Tower and the Malaysia Monument. The hotel is also minutes away from the central district of food, shopping, nightlife, business and everything downtown Kota Kinabalu has to offer. With 160 guestrooms, we have a wide selection of room types in our hotel to suit varying guest requirements including Twin, Double and Triple. Whether you are travelling for business or on holidays with friends and family, we have just the room for you. Dreamtel Cafe is a 120-seat restaurant that combines international flavours as well as local cuisine. From formal board meetings to casual corporate affairs and special events, Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu has the appropriate venue for all your event needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing