We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just fine”
Review of Ang's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ang's Hotel
Ranked #80 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Baarn, Utrecht
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just fine”
Reviewed October 14, 2009

The hotel was in the centre of Kota Kinabalu and was good for what you are where paying. Aircon avalible.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank timnijhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
6
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malmo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We had booked and payed for two nights in advance via website. The first evening we found an ant nest in the bathroom and a cockroach in the bedroom. The carpet was smelly and dirty. We stayed the night and changed to a room without a carpet the next day. The second evening, when opening the door, there were at least five cockroaches in the room, the biggest 6 cm long. We decided to leave the hotel and tried to get our money back for the second night. The staff was very unfriendly, said no and just turned away. We took a taxi to King Park Hotel, wich was really nice and clean and with friendly staff! More expensive (118 RM) but well worth it. Ang's hotel is way too expensive for what you get (64 RM).

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Titti-Sassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kellyC108, Owner at Ang's Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2008
We are not very happy with what's stated on this review, and have taken strong action to deal with the problem immediately. Ang's Hotel has been part of KK City since 1962, and it is one of the best local budget hotel in the City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2007

We stayed in this hotel for a few hours! We flew into the city and went straight to the hotel. Gentleman at reception during the day was very friendly and showed us to our room. They have a very old lift. Corridor and rooms are very dark but seemed clean. After we got back after dinner we found a huge cockroach in our room. Someone from the hotel got rid of it for us but when i asked where it came from he said that they come up through the hotel from the restaurant below! So the hotel was full of them! There was a very rude man at reception at this point who said that we can take another room and literally told us that we were being stupid about the cockroach, he was unnecessarily rude and arrogant when we were very polite considering the circumstances. We asked for our money back as we had only checked in a few hours earlier. He refused to give our money back. Basically they didn't care because they had our money. We checked into Imperial International Hotel at midnight - much better - cleaner, better location!

  • Liked — Some of the reception staff
  • Disliked — Cockroaches! Greedy-money making hotel.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank LondonTravel_bug7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

I stayed in Angs hotel for a night i just wanted a single nice room for one night and got it cheaply by simply walking through the door and it cost on 60 rm i had double bed ,TV, No ASTRO and a toilet and shower. It was a little small but at that price a bargain with clean sheets No problems found and hotels has a good location in city centre

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — room size
  • Tips/Secrets — dont book ahead
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Mrincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2006

the price is cheap and the location is good. need to improve on the bed. I like most is the location.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Koolguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
255 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

Stayed at Ang's Hotel for just one night. The price was pretty good, but there is better hotels for the same price. Our room had a tv and aircon, and also a small bathroom. It was barely ok, and the sheets had a lot of holes in them. The hotel is ok for one night, but if you are staying longer I would look at another hotel. The location is great.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank suntrip62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Wah May Hotel
Wah May Hotel
#72 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kinabalu Daya Hotel
Kinabalu Daya Hotel
#68 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lucky 11 Hotel
Lucky 11 Hotel
#52 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
High Street Inn
High Street Inn
#60 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaya Centre Hotel
Gaya Centre Hotel
#20 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ang's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ang's Hotel

Property: Ang's Hotel
Address: 28 Lorong Bakau, Jalan, Kota Kinabalu 88809, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Angs Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ang's Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing