We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traffic Noise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Ranked #47 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The noise from the road is so loud and goes on all night - boy racers and loud motorbikes, even big trucks.
The internet is maddeningly slow with it taking up to fifteen minutes to load a page.
The food is less than average.
It is about a twenty minute walk to town if you want to brave crossing the extremely busy main road, otherwise the hotel shuttle goes three times a day. A cab costs 15MYR to town.
The swimming pool was too green to swim in, as other reviewers have also said, so this is not a one off.
Views blocked by tall buildings.
We will pay a bit extra next time and stay somewhere close to the waterfront where there is less traffic and no need to spend money getting to town and/or back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 309 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Good service, I think the staff are helpful and friendly there, this made me think good for the hotel,

Plentiful amenities, you can find everything inevitable inside the room but somethings look old, complimentary water is also available.

Limited wifi access, you can only use wifi onto one device at one time, so please get ready that you will need to get quicker to log on wifi/internet than your amigos whenever you stay in the room...

Poor location, when we took taxi to the hotel, the local cabbie said, WOW, YOU LIVE IN A REMOTE HOTEL IN KK...this sentence beated me and we found it a problem in the later days...

Room Tip: Inconvinient location may become its main disadvantage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankCommeDesGarcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here for three nights after climbing Mt Kinabaloo ! The staff were fantastic , very helpful very friendly and eager to please , its at the far end of the city but still walking distance to everywhere and the hotel provides a free shuttlebus to anywhere in thd city and back if you want ! I lnly used it to get to the jetty to get out to the island and walked slowly back ! Its about a 40 min walk and loads to see on the wsy back ! They have a small swimming pool which i recuperated at after my stroll up the mountain and back !!! And the icing on the cake is the absolutely fantastic breakfast ! The rooms ard slightly showing there age but i liked stsying here very much ,

Room Tip: Only climb mount kinabaloo if u are daft !!! It was worth it but very tough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boeing737man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here the night before we climbed Mt Kinabalu and the night after. The hotel minded our luggage while we went on the 2 day hike. The first day we were leaving the hotel at 6 am so the hotel provided a packed breakfast as the restaurant was closed. The room was lovely and clean too. There is a small gym in the hotel, which we used the night before the hike (a bit late to try and get fit). There was also a swimming pool which was outdoor and nice. The breakfast that we had after our second nights stay was gorgeous, a great selection, even waffles and pancakes. The staff were ok, not extremely friendly but not rude I suppose.Would stay again, if i ever had the chance to go again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is situated just outside the central part of the city but restaurants and shops are still accessible by walking (alternatively taxis are relatively inexpensive). The rooms were well-appointed and clean (we stayed in several over this period as we went out on overnight excursions through Sabah). The breakfast buffet was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All room seem to have good outlooks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_MtEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We reached the hotel at around 11.30am - 12nn. However, we were not allowed to get to room as the check-in time is 2pm and also due to late check-out by the previous patron. Our luggages were then kept at their "Luggage Room".
We stayed in this hotel about 1.5 years ago with its previous name - Beverly Hotel. There seems no/not much refurbishment done on this hotel.
The buffet breakfast has quite a variety of choices..... bread & buns with variety of jam & butter, yogurt, cereals, muesli, salad, porridge, scramble/hard boiled/omelette eggs, few dishes of asian food.
The thing we like most of this hotel is it has a safe parking area - either right in front of the hotel entrance or at the basement.
The location of this hotel is just few minutes drive to a few great shopping malls - CentrePoint Sabah, Suria Mall, Karamunsing, (just to name a few).
They also have free wi-fi with password which to be obtained from the reception. The password is only allowed for 1 gadget to login.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaWong-SDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

It must have been quite a nice hotel about 10 years ago but the time took its tool. The hotel is dark and grim. The quality of air inside the hotel is horrible, a mixture of cigarette smoke and must, even in non smoking rooms.The rooms are generally OK, rather clean and old fashioned. Don't get too excited about rooms with sea view. Our sea view room turned out to overlook a dirty river. We tried to open the windows to air the room but the smell from the river was unbearable. Hotel is alright for few days in between trips but not a destination itself.
It is located quite a walk from the KK centre and quite a walk from convenience shops.Unfortunately, it is not a pleasant walk as you have to follow the main road, with some parts lacking a pavement. But pavements are a general problem in Malaysia so I wasn't particularly surprised.
Breakfast offers a variety of local delicacies mainly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HumphreyKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#36 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
249 reviews
6 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#64 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
370 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#22 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabah Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabah Oriental Hotel

Address: Lorong Kemajuan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Beverly Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $43 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sabah Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are designed with your comfort in mind. At Sabah Oriental Hotel you’ll discover that attention to details is our hallmark to ensure your stay in Sabah Oriental Hotel is a perfect one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sabah Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabah Oriental Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing