We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I always stay here when visiting KK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabah Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Ranked #35 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
106 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“I always stay here when visiting KK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is a bit out of the centre but it is still only 15 minutes walk to the nightmarket and some of the shopping malls etc. rooms are clean and good although some are a little run down. The hotel is of a good standard and has a small outdoor swimming pool aswell. rates often include buffet breakfast and is still quite good- although breakfast has gone downhill in recent years. The hotel is still very good for the price charged.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelreview123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    138
    93
    23
    18
See reviews for
53
81
30
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel rate is cheap, clean and comfortable room. The breakfast is ok. However, a bit far from eating and shopping places. Have to take expensive taxi to go to KK downtown. Small outdoor pool. Many government people stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaklie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is a bit far for the centre of KK, but we got a very good rate and stayed there for one night before we caught a flight. It was perfect for that. Everything about the hotel was fine. It seemed to be mainly used by business people. We had all we needed for a overnight on route to the airport, but to explore KK itself, there are better options.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twotravellingseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,472 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 859 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed as part of a Kinabalu climb tour package so don't know exactly what it cost, but it was fine - nice big rooms.

Perhaps a bit charachterless but it does the job and makes for a comfortable stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stay 1 night at this hotel.i ask for queen room but the guy at reception say queen room not available.only twin sharing available..but when i check online the Queen room still available..weird..so i just take the twin sharing..but when they check me in..they give me a Queen room..again..weird staff.. -_-'' the room was clean and big..the pool closed for temporarily..the buffet breakfast good..many selection..asian,western.but the waiter clear my table even i'm not finish my breakfast yet...Fast check in & check out..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0veMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We spent our first night in Borneo at this hotel. Upon arrival there were 2 ladies and a guy singing songs in a very nice but very loud way. The staff at the reception was a bit slow, although when we asked him to change one of the rooms which turned out to be smoking eventhough at the booking I emphasized that we would prefer non-smoking ones, they changed it without any problems.The rooms were clean and spacious enough for 2 people. When we went for a walk we realised that it is a bit further from the city centre and seems to be in the middle of constructions. The breakfast was ok,serving both Asian and European types of dishes . Overall it is good value for little money..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bendor119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I chose Sabah Oriental as my first hotel on my trip around Sabah. I was disappointed first because I expected a real 4 star hotel. Well, it turn out it wasn't. However after my four weeks of travelling I returned gladly back to this hotel. Compared to the Sabah-standard of hotels it wasn't a bad choice after all. The staff was friendly, the room spacious (but dated) and the breakfast above the average. If you need a room for three nights or so and get a good deal, pick Sabah Oriental. Just don't expect a 4star extravaganza and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 61hitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
#18 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#36 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sky Hotel
Sky Hotel
#24 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#19 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.4 mi away
TH Hotel Kota Kinabalu
TH Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#30 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabah Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabah Oriental Hotel

Property: Sabah Oriental Hotel
Address: Lorong Kemajuan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Beverly Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sabah Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are designed with your comfort in mind. At Sabah Oriental Hotel you’ll discover that attention to details is our hallmark to ensure your stay in Sabah Oriental Hotel is a perfect one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Sabah Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabah Oriental Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing